We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were robbed!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Brio

Cafe Brio
524 E Monroe St, Springfield, IL 62701-1505
217-544-0574
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #136 of 410 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: American, Bar, Coffee Shop, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
“We were robbed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I am so very disappointed. A group of friends and I stopped in yesterday, for lunch. What a horrible experience. We all left frustrated. I had the Angus Burger. I ordered it medium, it came rare. My friend ordered the same except she ordered hers well done, it was served rare. We waited ten minutes for the waitress, she never returned with other requests. Finally, my friend had to walk her meal back to the kitchen in order to get service. After 25 minutes, her second burger was served, this time the burger was burnt. When we asked for the manager, the manager seem uncaring and unwilling to rectify the situation. Further, the rest of us made requests for other items, like refills, utensils and extra condiments, which we never received. The kicker to this is that two of us paid with a credit card each and we were both over charged. My friend's meal was $11+. She left a cash tip. She checked her statement last night and was charged an additional 2.50 on her credit card. My bill was $12.41. I did not leave a tip because of the poor service. I just checked my credit card statement, I too was overcharged by 2.50. What kind of establishment is this? Not only bad service, but unauthorized charges, too!?! Unbelievable! If you choose to go to Cafe Brio after this and other reviews, PAY CASH and expect poor service and poorly prepared meals.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    32
    27
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sherman
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Food is consistently excellent. They have the BEST wings on earth - not buffalo wing though. Service is friendly, but if you go for lunch, make sure you have more than an hour.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Don't waste your money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The food was dry and terrible. I used to love the food here, but not anymore. Plus the jacked up the prices. There are only 7 entees and somehow they screw them up and the waitress(the blonde) forgot we were there. Just go eat elsewhere. Btw this was dinner, lunch may be better.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Tasty Treats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Came in for a quick lunch with the family and got a very good meal. Everything; menu, seating, service, and food, had a bit of originality that made a very good lunch experience. Very short kids menu, but the Jerky Chicken Wrap and the Orange Chicken were both excellent. I would have like the Orange Chicken separate from the fried rice which was just as great.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
“awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

a friend and i went to lunch at brio the other day and it was awesome! The food was excellent, such a change from a lot of other restaurants. waitress was friendly and atmosphere warm and cozy. will definately go back soon!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Brio also viewed

Springfield, IL
Springfield, IL
 
Springfield, IL
Springfield, IL
 

Been to Cafe Brio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Brio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.