We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chesapeake Seafood House

Chesapeake Seafood House
3045 Clear Lake, Springfield, IL 62702
217-522-5220
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 432 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Since 1983 Chesapeake Seafood House has been serving Springfield IL with fresh seafood and hand cut steaks. We take pride in the community and in our dishes. Not much has changed over the years. Serving winning recipes that people have counted on being the same year after year. We don't want to take away anyone's favorites. Consistent quality has been the key to our success. Choosing only the freshest and finest seafood, steaks and vegetables makes us everyone's favorite restaurant in Central Illinois. We serve both locals and large tour buses who are visiting Springfield or just passing through. Once you visit Chesapeake Seafood House, you will be back!
Athens, Alabama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We ate during the early bird special time and the food was very good. I had the fried shrimp and my sister-in-law had the fettuccine and we both enjoyed our meals. A was a great value!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    60
    34
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gleeson. AZ
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“OK, Maybe An Off Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

After reading the reviews I was very anxious to have dinner at this restaurant while traveling on business. The staff was very attentive but the food quality was not that great. There were a number of large parties the evening I was there, that may have had something to do with it. I will give it another try when in town, but this visit was less than good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

A beautifully styled restaurant in an olde fashioned savanna style, we arrived on a Thursday evening and was seated straightaway. Our waitress was quick, efficient and friendly. I had the scampi surf and turf and it was succulent and tasty. Others had stuffed cod and seafood ravioli and they too were completely satisfied with their choices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Monday-Friday Lunch Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

When ever we are in Springfield we always try to go to the lunch buffet during the week. As usual very good. Today they had crab legs and catfish on the line with meatloaf, ham, spaghetti, fake crab meat dish. The buffet was larger than the last time we were there. We think it is good value ($9.03) per person. We had water to drink. Certainly no room for dinner after their filling meal. We think you will enjoy the building, the service and the meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odell, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Absolutely wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I were in Springfield for two days and on the first night we went looking for a good steak. We passed by the Chesapeake while we were driving around and decided when we got back to the hotel that night we would ask they folks at the front desk if they would recommend eating there. They said they would and added that the prices were very reasonable. We arrived at about 5:45pm (without a reservation) and we were promptly seated. The waitress came over took our drink orders and returned with the drinks to take our order. My husband had the Surf and Turf and I had the bacon wrapped Filet with Au Gratin Potatoes. Both came with a salad which was good, nothing out of the ordinary here, just a lettuce mix and we ordered Blue Cheese dressing. The meal arrived and from the first bite of the steak I was in heaven. It was cooked exactly as I wanted and it was melt in your mouth tender. The Au Gratin potatoes were very good and the steak also came with a hush puppy and onion ring, both very good also. My husband also enjoyed the steak and he loved the lobster with the drawn butter.
The waitress was very friendly and the entire experience was perfect! For the meal plus two drinks apiece the bill was $83..very reasonable and steaks to rival the best steakhouses in Chicago.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chesapeake Seafood House also viewed

 

Been to Chesapeake Seafood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chesapeake Seafood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.