We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, VERY clean, close to I 55” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Springfield South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Springfield South to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Springfield South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2915 Stanford Ave, Springfield, IL 62703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“New, VERY clean, close to I 55”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This was an overnight stay on our way to another destination. It opened in 2012. Nice decor, extremely clean. Great location. Red Lobster, Cheddars, Panera Bread, etc. all very close by. We were so pleased with this hotel that we made reservations on our way back home.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin D, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Springfield South, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Your taking time to express your experience while staying at Residence in is greatly appreciated. We are happy to know that the location was convenient for you and that your found our hotel meeting your standards. We continually strive to make our hotel a safe and clean environment and a place people can call, "Home away from home". It makes us happy to receive remarks such as yours as it makes us recognize that we are living up to our word for our guests. We are pleased to know that you have chosen to once again to stay with us. We hope that your return visit will continue to have the same "Home away from home" feeling. All of us join in wishing you a safe and fun-filled summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    23
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
67
32
4
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My family of four stayed at the Residence Inn for three nights and each day was enjoyable. Everyone from the front desk staff to the housekeeping was friendly, accessible and so accomodating. The breakfast was wonderful-potato pancakes, eggs, turkey Canadian bacon, yogurt parfaits-everything was great. The dinner given at 6 on weekday nights was filling too. One night, mini quiches, creme puffs, salad and soup and another fish or chicken sandwiches made to your liking with cheese, pickles and tomatoes. My kids enjoyed the food immensely.
Have to mention Ken at the front desk. Never has anyone been so nice and willing to help as him. He is a great asset to the hotel.
The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and of course, the kids loved having their own TV and space.
The pool was decent size, clean and a nice indoor area and the exercise room had the required ellipticals, treadmills and free weights.
There are restaurants you can see from the hotel, ranging from an IHOP to a Hooters and a Smokey Bones Grill which are all within walkable distance.
All in all, a GREAT stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin D, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Springfield South, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to visit trip advisor on line and to share with us, your feelings about Residence Inn. We appreciate your kind words and even more appreciate the fact that you enjoyed your visit and found everything to your satisfaction. We value our guests and strive to maintain our goal of giving good customer service. We appreciate you letting us know that we are doing our job. It is our hope that in your next future travel plans, and if in the area, you choose to once again stay here at Residence Inn. I will pass your kind remarks on to Ken. He will be happy to hear your comments. Have a delightful and safe remaining summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Came to Springfield to see all things Lincoln. As a Mariott rewards club member I always stay at Marriotts and this time got to use points for a free night. So got our free night and the three of us got a free great breakfast buffet each morning too. It was our first time as a Residence Inn but won't be our last. The little kitchen was so nice. Our son loved camping out over on the sofa/bed and we loved our king bed which was slightly separated. Staff was friendly and attentative. Location was great. Just a few minutes to town for all the Lincoln attractions and several restaurants just across the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin D, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Springfield South, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to go on line to Trip Adviser to share your experience while staying at Residence Inn by Marriott in Springfield, IL. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It pleases us more to know that you received good customer service. We constantly strive to help our guests experience the feeling of "Home away from home." Your comments allows us to realize that we are on the right pathway, and we thank you for your kind words and remarks. We hope that you will select to stay with us again should you be traveling through our area. All of us here at Residence Inn stand ready to make your return stay just as comfortable and memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I would sum up one word for this hotel. WOW. I called before I arrived and was assured that the roll-away bed I requested would be in the room. It was. The room was spotless and spacious (king studio) and quiet. The front desk sent someone to our room 10 minutes after checkin to make sure there was nothing that we needed. The breakfast was very good and again the dining area was spotless. The breakfast staff came around to the tables and asked if there was anything they could get for us. Outstanding service. I noticed that everyone who came through the lobby was greeted with a smile and "is there anything we can do for you?" attitude. I have stayed in countless Marriott's over the years and this one is "top shelf"!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin D, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Springfield South, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
On behalf of the staff and me, we would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere thanks for you taking time to go on line and share with us your experience while staying here at Residence Inn. We appreciate comments such as yours and appreciate knowing that you had a wonderful time. We don’t stop after hearing such pleasing remarks, but rather still continue to strive for greater customer service. Your statements help us to realize that we are on the right track. We hope that you will once again choose to stay with us during your next journey and allow us to once again give you that “wow” feeling. Have a wonderful and safe remaining summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I'm sorry to read other unhappy guests or dissatisfied reviews. Maybe they address those issues or concerns poor to our arrival. We had an amazing stay. Rooms are comfortable, clean, in order. So is the lobby and all the amenities (pool clean! salt water!) front desk ALL employees were friendly, courteous and helpful. We arrived after driving 15 hrs, we forgot the name of the gentlemen who checked us in, due to lack of sleep!!! He was most quick and informative and made our check in easy. We are avid travelers and tend to stay in finer five stars hotels. This was a five star experience, just without a bellhop. Lol fabulous, amazing...mahalo nui loa to the staff. A hui hou we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin D, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Springfield South, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to visit trip adviser and share with us, your comments about your stay here at Residence Inn. Our key goal is to always achieve good customer service to our guests, and its comments, such as yours, that helps us realize that we are on the right road in achieving this goal. We want all our guests to feel welcomed and have the feeling of being "Home away from home". We are pleased to know that you were treated well and greeted with a warm welcome and that you enjoyed your room and the amenities that came along with your stay. We hope that in your next travel plans, you will once again choose to stay with us here at Residence Inn and once again experience the same wonderful greeting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The first flaw - I had to plead to get the room I booked (standard king suite). I did NOT book a mobility room but they stuck me there with the lame excuse of "sorry, we're full up tonight". Nights 2-5 were better once in a standard room. Hotel is obviously quite new and the rooms are spotless.

The second flaw - horrible light pollution in the rooms. There is absolutely no way to block out the sun (or the parking lot lights at night) so bring a sleep mask. I was popping awake every day by 5.30am because of their lame curtains.

Third flaw - large hotel, small workout room. Just two treadmills, two crosstrainers and some weights. It was busy daily during my visit. However...the basketball court is very nice and not jammed with people.

Three nights of reception - two that you could make a meal of and the third was just cheese/crackers. They DO have free draft beer and wine.

Overall I would probably stay here again while it's still got the "new" factor.

Room Tip: West facing room if you want to sleep past 5.30am
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin D, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Springfield South, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I apologize that we did not get you into the proper room. I will share that experience with our front office staff. We are a new hotel and with a new design from Marriott. I will make sure and pass along your comments to the Marriott corporation for future use. We do appreciate you staying with us and we do hope you keep staying with us in the Springfield area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The first thing that you notice when driving up to this hotel, or more accurately, don't notice, is a sign indicating where the office is where you can go in and register. You are not assisted by a few parking spaces which say: "10 minute parking for registration only". Eventually my wife and I found the entrance. When we checked in we reminded the man behind the desk that I had requested a bed board because my wife has a bad back and needs a hard bed. The request had been acknowledged online. The hotel not only didn't have a board (and I acknowledge that many hotels don't have them), but the desk clerk was very unsympathetic to our situation. Accordingly, we had to drive to Lowe's and buy a piece of plywood for $13, which we placed under the bed and took with us to our next stop. The room itself, a studio suite with a king bed, was more than adequate and well-maintained, although in the three days of our stay the earliest that the maid cleaned our room was 4:20 PM. She was, however, a very nice person. The pillows were too large, which hampered our sleep. Their internet connection was extremely fast, the best we encountered on our trip. Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. The scrambled eggs were overdone, and the waffle iron didn't work properly, failing to let the user know that cooking was complete. The potential is there for this to be an excellent hotel, but they don't seem to be living up to that potential.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin D, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Springfield South, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with us about your recent stay. Thank you for the nice comments and for the areas that we need to improve. I will be discussing with our front office staff the concerns that you brought to my attention and make sure we find a way to handle that much better next time. I have also shared your concerns with our breakfast staff. It was nice to hear from you that you enjoyed the rooms and the internet service. We hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in the Springfield area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Springfield South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Springfield South

Address: 2915 Stanford Ave, Springfield, IL 62703
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Springfield South 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Springfield South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Springfield South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.