We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The holographic videos with additional sensory features were incredible.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum

Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum
212 North 6th Street, Springfield, IL 62701
800-610-2094
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 30 Attractions in Springfield
Type: Libraries, History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In a stunning combination of scholarship and showmanship, the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum immerses you in Lincoln's world and time. Journey from a rustic Indiana cabin to the Executive Mansion in the nation's capitol; follow the fate of America's 16th president and share the joys and sorrows of a family - and a nation.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The holographic videos with additional sensory features were incredible.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Overall a very impressive and well done museum. The exhibits were informative and entertaining. Every museum staff member was friendly and helpful. I had such a good experience I added $10 to the donation bin on the way out. The pricing for parking and museum entry was very reasonable and the coat check was free.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,522
    153
    39
    8
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Great visuals and presentations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

You can't help but learn so much more about this beloved President when you visit the museum. Terrific displays and interesting holographic presentation in the "Ghosts of the Library."

There's really nothing on display in the "Library" building - it's reserved for scholarly research, but go across the street to the Museum and you'll find plenty to keep you busy for hours.

Great choice of souvenirs available in the gift shop as well.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Simply Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Every American must go here once in their life. This is probably my favorite museum I have ever been to. Abraham Lincoln's life is a fascinating tale of great achievements and great sorrow. The team that put this together must be commended because they have done such a wonderful job of breathing new energy into A. Lincoln's life and times. The museum goes the extra mile into getting to know how our 16th president was in real life. Getting past the cliche and over used images of him and showing him with warts and all. This was a young and exciting time in our nation's history and the museum goes to great lengths paint a clear picture of them. I originally thought that they were charging a very high entrance fee, but after reflecting on the depth and scope of work that was done to produce it, I'd pay almost any price to see it. Toward the end of the museum I couldn't really look at any more pieces or read anymore about him because the civil war is something that has fascinated me since I was in grammar school. These many years later to see so many things I only dreamed about up close was too much for me and I had to fight back tears for the last bit of it. I was so touched by the great effort placed to honor A Lincoln's life and times properly that it simply overwhelmed me. The only complaint I had was that it was all so very sad. I don't think he would've wanted it so. Too many of us do not appreciate the great sacrifice that was made by those who walked this land before us. taking time to learn a little about them that we never knew seems like a small token of thanks. Thank you A Lincoln. We are forever in your debt.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“"This is number one for a reason"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Some might have forgotten, or never learned, how under siege Abraham Lincoln was from the moment he took office. The museum does an excellent job of providing valuable insight into the man and myth that is Lincoln in sobering historical context. Whether you agree or disagree with Lincoln politics you will come away with a deeper understanding as to why he did what did and the ramifications of those choices.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nicely done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This museum does an excellent job humanizing Lincoln. The displays programs are informative and entertaining. The staff are knowledgeable and helpful. Well worth the admission.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.