We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum

Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum
212 North 6th Street, Springfield, IL 62701
800-610-2094
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 66 things to do in Springfield
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In a stunning combination of scholarship and showmanship, the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum immerses you in Lincoln's world and time. Journey from a rustic Indiana cabin to the Executive Mansion in the nation's capitol; follow the fate of America's 16th president and share the joys and sorrows of a family - and a nation.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Hartwell, Georgia, United States
1 review
“Wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We took our seven year old granddaughter and she loved it too. All the docents were helpful, informative and friendly. The exhibits were well designed with lots of signage and information. We only wish we had more time to spend and we will plan another trip on our next trip to Illinois.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,672
    172
    41
    8
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I really liked Springfield, Illinois. We visited during St. Patrick's Day and it was pretty lively all throughout downtown. I would go back again. The Lincoln Library is truly a great place to visit. You will learn of the tribulations that occurred during that horrible time of the civil war. It is worth the destination and I certainly admire the tasteful way this was put together. Just imagine for a moment that you are in the White House and a war is at your doorstep. Just imagine the Washington Monument is only half built. This is a great tribute to one of our greatest presidents ever.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godfrey, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The museum was very user friendly and informative. The movies and displays were very interesting and kept your attention.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Horeb, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We've never been to a more thought-provoking museum of history -- so realistic and so wonderful. Brought tears in some areas.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“SPECTACULAR!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Some museums are neat, but slowwww. This was simply amazing! COMPLETELY family friendly with a section for children to create and dress up too. =) I did some serious damage in the gift shop. Face it, Lincoln items are cool

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.