We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great historic building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edwards Place Historic Home

Edwards Place Historic Home
700 N. 4th Street, Springfield, IL 62702
(217) 523-2631
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 66 things to do in Springfield
Attraction details
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A great historic building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This house has so much history within it. Luckily my dad and I were able to latch onto a larger group and formed a small tour of the house. Our tour guide was very informative and knew much about Edwards Place and Lincoln. We got to see up close actual furniture Lincoln and Mary Todd sat on during their time of courting. We had to detach from the tour early, but it was a neat experience overall. If you have the time while visiting Springfield it offers a nice touch to the "Lincoln Experience".

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place is wonderful! It's not the first place that people think of when they think of Lincoln, so I imagine that it's sometimes ignored. That is such a shame...it was just as wonderful, if not more, than some of the more common places. The staff of the arts center is highly accommodating, and the director gave us a tour basically "on the spot". We loved the house, all the explanations of the things in the house, the ongoing restoration efforts, and even discussion of the reports of paranormal activity in one of the bedrooms. The house is truly an ongoing labor of love, and it is was a treat to see the process of restoration. Although everything was free, I plan to contact the center (they're closed for the July 4th holiday) about making a donation. At the end of the tour, we took part in the "Lemonade with the Lincolns" activity on the front porch. Actors in the role of Abe Lincoln and Mrs. Edwards (Mary Todd Lincoln's sister) talked with us about events and issues of the day. There was a family already with "Mr. Lincoln", with several young children, who the actors world very hard to keep engaged and involved in the conversation. My 18 year old son was with us (under a little bit of protest), and completely enjoyed the experience. The actor that portrayed Lincoln was wonderful. He spoke authoritatively to all the questions asked, and even (after we discussed Lincoln's fondness for Shakespeare) performed a bit of Hamlet. More than anything on the trip to Springfield, this gave us a very REAL sense of the man, Lincoln, and what the world must have looked like to those who knew him. The house is wonderful, "lemonade with Lincoln" is wonderful....seriously...you should do this!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A National Treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This old mansion is laden with rich history concerning Abraham Lincoln. In this mansion, young Abe courted Mary Todd. They even have the very same furniture that Abe sat in while he did it. Mary Todd's family regarded Abe with disdain, and did not approve of Abe coming around to court Mary, figuring him for an unrefined backwoods "hick" who would never amount to anything important. Of course, he proved them all completely wrong when he became the 16th President! From the South porch, he delivered his Farewell Address to Springfield, just before he went on to Washington, D.C, and to history. The place could use some maintenance and renovation, so be sure to leave a donation; they depend on them to maintain the place. If you come to Springfield to explore Abe Lincoln's history, this home is absolutely on your MUST-SEE list! Easy, convenient parking on the west side of the mansion.off 4th Street.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem in Springfield”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Don't miss out on this hidden gem in Springfield. It doesn't get the same big press of the other houses, but it's worth the trip. Again, a recommended donation, so you can pay what you can afford, and there is free parking in the lot adjacent to the house. A nice bonus in Springfield, where you have to pay to park in most places. I recommend the house because not only do you get a wonderful tour of the Edwards House an their history, but you get to the see the actual courting couch that Abraham Lincoln and Mary Todd sat on. There is also a small Art Gallery open to the public and that's a nice added bonus too. I recommend this house on your tour of sites in Springfield.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHILLICOTHE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lemonade and cookies with Abraham Lincoln”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

As we toured the Edwards home, our guide gave us a very informational tour. The Edwards home had been owned by Mary Lincoln's sister and brother-in-law and his family. The Edwards' were very "upper-crust" compared to Abraham at the time he and Mary started courting. After our tour we enjoyed lemonade and cookies with a gentleman who portrays Abraham Lincoln. He is fantastic!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edwards Place Historic Home also viewed

 

Been to Edwards Place Historic Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edwards Place Historic Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.