We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale but not pretentious, well-priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Chuckwagon Drive, Springfield, IL 62707   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 40 hotels in Springfield
Southeast Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Upscale but not pretentious, well-priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

After staying at another Hampton Inn & Suites location last year, this chain was on our short list when it came time to find lodging in Springfield while seeing the Lincoln sites in town. We also needed two beds and a sleeper sofa, and this location fit our needs perfectly.

Serving a hot breakfast was also a nice plus, which kept us from having to hunt down a restaurant every morning. There was a wide selection of items, which was nicer than some hotels that put out a few scary danishes and call it a breakfast.

Most of all, the best feature was the comfort factor of the bed, covers, and pillows. Most hotel pillows are substandard at best and these were very nice! I'm used to a feather pillow, so spongy foam pillows are usually quite annoying to me. We all had a very good night of sleep, save for the sofa sleeper being right next to the air conditioner causing the kids to be cold. A lightweight foam blanket was all they had for warmth, and in retrospect, we should have asked for an additional blanket for them.

The staff was very friendly, and when we checked out, they helped us find a Hampton location with the same sleeping configuration at our next stop in St. Louis. Before we left, we had our reservations for the rest of our trip!

It was good to see that our first experience with Hampton Inn & Suites was not a fluke. Our experience here and at the St. Louis location will keep us looking for this chain the next time we need a place to stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    44
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
83
29
5
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ladd, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is excellent! The service by the staff is top notch. This is by far the best hotel we've stayed at in quite awhile. The rooms and hallways were very clean and the staff pays attention to the little details that matter. We got great service from everyone we came in contact with durinig our stay.

Hotel has games and books available to borrow during your stay which is great for families.

The pool and hot tub were both in excellent condition.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My family and I stayed here this past weekend while visiting relatives in Springfield. The hotel was very clean! My husband brought along his laptop and was having problems with the Wi-Fi, he called downstairs to the front desk, and within minutes, Rich came up to our room and helped my husband with his issue. The breakfast buffet was well maintained and had enough options to please everyone. There were also fresh baked cookies at the front desk were a nice touch. I went to grab one for my 5yr old, but there were only cookies with nuts in them, to which my son is allergic. In a few minutes, a nice lady came out with a tray of fresh baked chocolate chip cookies for him. I really appreciated that!! All in all it was a wonderful stay, and we plan on returning in October. Highly recommend this Hotel to anyone who plans on visiting the Springfield area!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Chose this based on other Tripadvisor reviews. Was not disappointed.

Clean room. Very spacious room! We had a two queen bed room on the main floor that also had a desk, TV, microwave and mini fridge and small table next to that. It didn't feel cramped at all.

AC in room was efficient and not loud and full of rattles like you get in some places. It was triple digits while we were there so it was on most of the time but it did the job and wasn't annoyingly loud.

Ample and free parking.

Bathroom was clean and roomy, towels and linens clean (white sheets and comforters!).

Breakfast buffet was satisfying and bountiful. Had hot foods such as hash browns and eggs and bacon and oatmeal, they had juices and coffee and tea and milk. There were muffins and pastries and cereals and bagels and breads and waffles...there was something for everyone.
The girl helping out there was adorable! Cheerful and attentive.

Check in/out was quick, friendly and efficient. Our boys loved the pool. Didn't use the exercise room but it looked clean and inviting!

Location is just off freeway, but it's nestled back far enough to be peaceful. It's right next to a Staybridge Suites and some shops and restaurants, but not on a main thoroughfare. Takes about 10 minutes to get to downtown where all the museums are. Is just an exit away from the awesome new Scheels there! Is close to a water park and the drive in movie theater.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCentral Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Hampton Inn & Suites on Chuckwagon Drive in Springfield IL is an excellent choice for any type travelling. Recent trip with grand children to visit various Lincoln sites proved the flexiblity of this hotel and the staff. They went way out of their way to help our grand children (and other kids) have a pleasant experience. The hotel is very clean and first class. Certainly well managed! There were also business travelers their and they were also well cared for. The breakfasts were delicious. The hotel went above and beyond as there were 6 of us in our party and they can accomodate that many in their large suites which are a very reasonable cost.

Room Tip: If more than 4 request the large suites - they are very ample for 6 (4 children, 2 adults)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, NM
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

I can't say enough about this hotel. From the moment you walk in, the staff is all smiles. The lobby and rooms smell fabulous, no mustiness at all. The pool and fitness room were both very clean.

Only comPlaint was they didn't have eggs for breakfast, mostly sweet stuff and biscuits with gravy. They had sausage but it was maple flavored (more sugar).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, IL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Since Hampton's have been redone, they are one of my favorite Hilton chains. This was no exception! From the extra friendly front desk staff (Darrin was great!) to the great breakfast staff (Morgan and Sally!), everyone was wonderful! I watched Sally take little stickers off the fresh fruit for about 10 minutes...details that many places would overlook! Rooms were very clean...breakfast, including to-go bags, was above my standards. Nothing bad to say. Oh, and free beer and wine and snacks on Tu-Th nights from 5:30-7p!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest

Address: 2300 Chuckwagon Drive, Springfield, IL 62707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Springfield
#1 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#2 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our promise to you includes a clean, comfortable hotel room. In fact, we have 83 of them! If you're traveling with your family, you may opt for a room with two beds. Or, if you're here by yourself on business, why not book a room with a plush, king-sized bed so you can stretch out and relax? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest Hotel Springfield
Hampton Inn And Suites Springfield - Southwest
Hampton Inn Springfield
Springfield Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Hotel Springfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.