We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites South to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4231 Schooner Drive, Springfield, IL 62707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Weekend Rate!
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Springfield
Chandler, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

In my previous stay back in November 2012 I was unable to sleep on the bed - too firm. I am so pleased to report that they did update and the bed is terrific! I think it was one of the best nights sleep I've had in awhile in a hotel so I am so pleased I tried this again. It is so convenient to my work and the Meijer shopping plaza nearby makes getting groceries a breeze.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    19
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
27
9
Solo
0
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed 7/18-7/20/13 in a King one bedroom suite. Our room was very clean which is important. This hotel is only 5 min. from the waterpark so I imagine it gets a lot of action. The staff was all very friendly and accommodating, always spoke as you went in and out and asked how your stay was going. They do a really good job with the free breakfast with a good variety of both cold/hot selections, the area available for sitting to eat is limited. The young man that was keeping the breakfast dishes filled on Saturday 7/20/13 was outstanding. There was a large group of teenagers (basketball?) that were consuming the food as fast as he could put it out and never once did he lose his smile. My 4 yr. old granddaughter wanted Froot Loops and the container was empty. He happened to over hear her and said let me get her some cereal and in a flash had the cereal and filled her bowl for her. As an added surprise, they have free dinner Tues-Thurs and we enjoyed 3 different kinds of Papa Johns pizza, wine, and beer which was wonderful since we were tired from the waterpark and not really wanting to go out to eat.The bed and the pillows were comfortable, the couch a bit dated, nice small kitchen area with microwave, frige, coffeemaker, stove, and dishes and utensils. Coffee, creamer, and a pack of microwave popcorn was also provided and our granddaughter really enjoyed that for an evening snack after being at the waterpark all day. We totally enjoyed our stay and hope to go back before summer is over.

Room Tip: We had a 3rd floor king suite, quiet, air worked well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here en route to Kandas City from Detroit. It was perfect in every way...the friendly & informative welcome, our spacious & cozy room, the clean & refreshing pool (especially after hours in the car), and the kind, courteous, & professional staff. Because we were there on a week night, we did not even have to leave the property because they offer free food (& beer/wine-per regulations, of course!) Tues- Thurs eve, to our surprise. We really planned to go into town, but the BBQ, chicken Caesar salad, and everything in between was fabulous and so much fun! After a nice workout the next morning at their facilities, we enjoyed a delicious hot breakfast- compensate with fruit, cottage cheese, & other healthy choices before heading west to KC. Tracey (maybe an asst, mngr?) was there for both meals, and just the sweetest person to all the guests; she was genuinely interested in our travels and making certain that everything meant our expectations. And Bruce (the mngr, I think) bbq'd all the food himself and was very kind, too, even pausing to speak with us the next morning at breakfast. We really had so much fun, and what a memorable stay, fabulous deal, & wonderful staff! Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have been a long term resident at this Staybridge Suites (over a year) and I will not stay anywhere else. The front desk staff is extremely friendly and will do anything to make the stay better. I have gotten to know the hotel management and I talk to the sales manager every week and she always asks if I have any concerns with my stay, and if I have any she gets them corrected immediately.

This hotel offers breakfast daily, and serves dinner 3 nights a week with wine and beer.

Since I have been staying here this hotel started a remodel which has included brand new beds and flat screen tv's. The rooms I have stayed in have been supper clean and the housekeeping staff always replaces my towels and soap daily.

I highly recommend this hotel if you have to stay in Springfield long term or even just a night!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

The staff was great. Attention corporate office this place is substandard in comparison when I compare this to other Staybridge properties. I was so disappointed at this property, it is so outdated and need of a make over. I love the staff but you give them a dump to work with. A manager don't need to respond to this interview just pass it on to coporate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites South, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear 2Parentand1,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so pleased you found our staff to be great. Please allow us to apologize for the unusual condition of our property which affected your stay negatively. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our family stayed at this hotel for one night while traveling through the area. We expected something similar to the Hampton Inn next door, but were pleasantly surprised!

They had a VERY CLEAN pool, hot tub, and fitness center. Plus, the laundry facilities were FREE and they even provided laundry detgergent.

The facilities were pet friendly, but you would never know it as there were no odors or traces often found in other hotels that boast the same claims.

Additionally, they offered a FREE Cocktail and Dinner hour in the evening and a small, but tasty Breakfast buffet. The coffee was of good quality and strong with all of the fixings.

In the courtyard, there was a basketball court and tables around the outskirts. This was a pleasant surprise for our 10 year old son!

Overall, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend staying here if you are in the area!

Room Tip: Request an end unit near the courtyard or pool. The hotel is a U shape and this provides the best pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed for baseball tournament The staff was friendly and went above and beyond. We had to leave early in the morning and the kitchen hostess prepared to go breakfast bags for all the players. I stayed in the two room suite. It was very spacious and rooms nicely updated. Kids loved pool and basketball court. Free laundry was a big plus also.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites South

Address: 4231 Schooner Drive, Springfield, IL 62707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites South 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites is an all suites extended-stay hotel in Springfield, Illinois, home of Abraham Lincoln and The Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum. Each suite is designed for maximum flexibility and adaptability to meet all of your individual needs. Whether you are relocating to the area, on a project assignment, or just getting away for the weekend, Staybridge Suites has what you want! Staybridge offers 3 different suite room types; Studio, One-Bedroom, and Two-Bedroom. All suites contain a fully equipped kitchen, living room, 2-line telephone, direct in-room phone#, voice mail, and free high speed wireless Internet and wired Internet access. Hotel amenities include 24-hour service desk, complimentary breakfast bar, evening Sundowner reception(Mon-Thur), fitness center, business center, swimming pool, free guest laundry facility and complimentary shuttle service (8:00 am-6:00pm). The Staybridge Suites is located within a few miles of downtown Springfield, The Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum, White Oaks Mall, and Frank Lloyd Wright's Dana Thomas House. We are located off of I-72 and Route 4 at exit #93 in Prairie Crossing, Southwest Springfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Staybridge Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites South Hotel Springfield
Staybridge Suites Springfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.