We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Springfield, this place really stands out!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Obed and Isaacs Microbrewery and Eatery

Obed and Isaacs Microbrewery and Eatery
500 South Sixth Street, Springfield, IL
2176700627
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 432 Restaurants in Springfield
Price range: $0 - $17
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“For Springfield, this place really stands out!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Springfield really isn't a place for good food. But this place really stands out because it did have good food and fantastic beer. I suppose from reading the previous reviews that taste is pretty relative to individual taste buds. I found the food to be good but not really exceptional. Just good tasty food but I totally love their wheat beer. The taste was flavorable, full bodied and brewed just right. They mixed it according to their menu with lemonade and Sprite. It is one of the best tasting hefewiezen I ever had. So good that I ordered a second glass when I usually stop after one. The service was good and price reasonable. Good food, great beer make this brewpub, a place to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    102
    25
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great stop for a beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

After touring Lincoln sites, we were ready for a break and stopped for a beer. Perfect fall day to sit on the patio and enjoy the microbrews. We decided to stay for dinner and try the 'Horseshoe'. The lamb version was recommended by the server and it was delicious. We returned the next night with family and again enjoyed the patio and beer. Service was attentive. Food acceptable for a microbrewery.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, IL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great atmosphere, great food, and great beer! I had a blonde beer, and it had a very nice, light taste. The parmesian and artichoke dip, served with baked pita chips is "to die for"!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Did not try the brew, buts the eats were delicious. Great location near all the Lincoln sites. The fries were the best ever!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and Beer Only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We travel a lot for work and are always looking for something different in a small town like Springfield.

Everything about this place is great except the food. The atmosphere is terrific as it is located in a period home and the patio was great. Our server was really great - super friendly, honest about food choices, speedy and efficient.

The beer was really good and there were a number of good selections.

Unfortunately the food was not great. Perhaps if we had chosen plain pub selections it might have been better. Both of us chose a lamb dish. Mine was the sliced sandwich which tasted reheated but was cold. The lamb burger according to my husband was just okay.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Obed and Isaacs Microbrewery and Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Obed and Isaacs Microbrewery and Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Obed and Isaacs Microbrewery and Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.