We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horseshoe and Gooey Butter Cake Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Obed and Isaacs Microbrewery and Eatery

Obed and Isaacs Microbrewery and Eatery
500 South Sixth Street, Springfield, IL
2176700627
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 433 restaurants in Springfield
Price range: $0 - $17
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Chicago
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Horseshoe and Gooey Butter Cake Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The atmoshphere was comfortable and location great. I ordered a sirloin burger horseshoe. I liked it better than one I have tried before at Darcy's. They had a special dessert - Apple Carmel Gooy Butter Cake. It was so good!! The best Gooy Butter Cake I have had.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    92
    63
    21
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great local spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I've been to Obed and Isaacs for both lunch and dinner and have not been disappointed. Food is very good. I especially like their flatbread choices. Different beers all the time that are fun to try. Their pretzel and cheese sauce appetizer is GREAT!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seffner, FL
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were in Springfield for just a few days and happened upon this restaurant/micro brewery by accident and decided to stop for lunch. Very glad we did. They have a decent menu that should appeal to everyone's taste. My husband and I tried the Bleu cheese and bacon flatbread....so good. Our server, Shannon, was so pleasant and when asked if we could share a lunch was very accomodating. Most places frown on sharing but we do not have big appetites and because we were traveling could not take our leftovers with us. Obed and Isaacs were very welcoming in this regard. I am looking forward to visiting Springfield again next year and lunching there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fun location/Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not fancy at all but perfect little nook for lunch with friends or dinner with a date.
The bar was really neat and seemed like it would be good for a night out too!
Pretty standard fare. If they kick up the food to a more specialty notch with fresh and local choices it would get 5 stars from me. Definitely one to go back and visit again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A quaint place to eat with a killer appetizer.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

A great place to eat will make a memory in your mind as well a your mouth. Ones and Issacs in downtown offers the best appetizer, anywhere to be had in its warm and creamy artichoke dip with homemade pita triangles. The serving more than adequate for three offers a delicious mix of creamy goodness with O & I's famous homemade pita chips. Warm crisp and wonderfully chewy inside is reminiscent of Indian Fry bread. I had that same feeling of satisfaction. Their fish and chips and pizza all looked delicious. I had the lamb sandwich but was not impressed with it after the pleasure I got from the dip. My friend had one of their beers which looked a bit like Blue Moon. My friend who ordered one said it was quite good. I have to go back soon for a salad perhaps and my own artichoke dip of which I will share with no one. Ha!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Obed and Isaacs Microbrewery and Eatery also viewed

 
Springfield, IL
 

Been to Obed and Isaacs Microbrewery and Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Obed and Isaacs Microbrewery and Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.