We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to get a fancy burger” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smashburger

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Smashburger
2661 Chatham Rd, Springfield, IL 62704-4185
217-787-3700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 433 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good place to get a fancy burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

If you're into the gourmet burger experience, this is a good place to go. Lots of options. Everything I've tried has been good. This is my son's favorite place to get burger from. Last time we went the staff was a little off their game, they brought the entrees a few minutes apart. They were voluntarily apologetic (we hadn't complained) and gave us extra fries to make up for it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“As Good As Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Had a chance to go back to Smashburger recently. It was the first time in a while, but as far as I'm concerned they haven't lost a step. My mushroom swiss was as good as I remembered. I get the mushroom swiss burger at a lot of places I go to, but Smashburger in my opinion has the best and those Smash fries are something else. I love them. Stop by and try it yourself.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Smashburgers are addicting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

This place introduced me to pretzel buns and I am hooked! They fix your burger to order with lots of choices of add-ons. Service is fast and everyone aims to please! Great sweet potato fries!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Get the fries!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Yes, the hamburgers are great, but I go for the smash fries. Specifically, the sweet potato smash fries and a big chocolate milkshake.

Oh! If you are a fan of pretzels, get the pretzel bun!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice, clean burger place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I like the atmosphere at Smashburger. Indoor/outdoor seating. I have never been there when they were very busy, so there has always been an ample amount of seating. They have healthy alternatives like wheat bun opposed to white bun. When I last went, the fries were wayyy to salty though.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smashburger also viewed

 

Been to Smashburger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smashburger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.