We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Basil

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai Basil
2703 N Dirksen Pkwy, Springfield, IL 62702-1407
217-525-7777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 433 restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Thai, Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

The crab Rangoon appetizer was great. My wife had the garlic chicken, I had the spicy Thai chicken with noodles. Both were excellent.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    14
    7
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Our go-to place for Thai comfort food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a clean, bright, little place staffed by young servers that seem to be mostly family. Don't be surprised to find your table is totally tag teamed and by the end of your meal all of the three or four servers stopped by to check on you, fill your glasses, or some random thing. Ask Michelle (Tallest of the waitresses) What's good on the menu, and she will be exceptionally honest, and has never steered me wrong. Try the Pad Thai, Seafood Stir-fry, or my favorite Asparagus Dish, along with the tiny Springrolls, or the Golden Triangles. If they have the ingredients in the kitchen, and you can describe what you want, they will make it for you.

Not a place for atmosphere or a 'special date', but great for those nights when I don't want to cook. Great value, and always friendly service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Another Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

When the Tran family sold Little Saigon we noticed a change in that restaurant. When we heard that they had opened Thai Basil we were happy drive across town to their next effort and were not disappointed. The food is great the service attentive. They may have even improved with some interesting and new menu items. They always seem to use the freshest ingredients.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“WOW and WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This little place in a strip mall may be some of the best Thai /Asian style food in the U.S. And I have eaten at some very well-known established restaurants from New York to L.A.

Although the service is quirky and awkward, the quality and freshness of ingredients here is remarkable; not to mention the recipes themselves. From the pho to the basil beef, I never had a bad experience.

I ate here 5 days in a row during a recent stay and can honestly say you are remiss if you do not go and taste this for yourself.

and oh yah, the prices are almost too low.

Here's hoping they keep it up.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

They have a great lunch menu that comes with their "vegetable" soup, which I love. Service is great, prices are decent, just an overall wonderful place. They have a pretty large menu overall, we've visited many times at lunch and dinner and have always been happy. The food is always fresh tasting and spiced just right. I don't know how to judge "authentic Thai", but the food seems a slight step above the other Thai places in town.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Basil also viewed

 

Been to Thai Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Basil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.