We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“next time I will just stick to sushi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Osaka

Osaka
1665 Wabash Avenue, Springfield, IL 62704-5310
(217) 726-8037
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 433 restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“next time I will just stick to sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

last night was the first night I've been disappointed in this place. although the sushi was still and always has been the best, the food, normally great, we ended up just tolerating. the waitress was in such a hurry, that she would speak to us in passing, but would be gone before we could tell her we were ready to order, or that we needed anything at all.
next time, I will only stick to the sushi menu, or order from the hibachi grill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    21
    15
    9
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Service was a little slow and I was upset that I couldn't get hibachi while on just the dining side, but the food I had was great! And the drinks were amazing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Lunch experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had lunch here while visiting Springfield for a getaway weekend. We had the lunch Hibachi and the food was very good, the chef did a great job entertaining us and my kids thought it was awesome. My wife ordered sushi and didn't think it was great, she said it was just average. The prices were pretty high for lunch but we went in knowing that. Overall a great experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was my first visit to Osaka, and I will definitely be going back. I sat at the hibachi grill with friends and ordered the New York strip steak for dinner. The chef was fun and interactive, and the food was incredible. My steak was cooked perfectly, and my drink was really good. While a bit pricey, especially for dinner, you get a lot of food for your money. I actually had a full dinner from my leftovers the next night. I would recommend this place to anyone who was looking for this type of food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“great birthday dinner with a friend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

this is just another hibachi grill that has popped up, but this time was really enjoyable! great food and service! the waiter and cook both interacted with the party. there were two b-days at our table so they really had fun with it! great night! thankyou!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka also viewed

Springfield, IL
Springfield, IL
 

Been to Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.