We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Illinois State Capitol

Illinois State Capitol
301 S. Second Street, Tours and Information - Room 107, Springfield, IL 62756
217-782-2099
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 30 Attractions in Springfield
Type: Government Buildings, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic Greek Revival building that serves as Illinois' State Capitol and was the site of many cases tried by Abraham Lincoln.
Central Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

My son and I visited the Capitol on a Saturday morning. If you are interested in seeing the place without a lot of people, Saturday is a great time. On Sat they give free tours on the hour - except 12 & 1. Take the free tour! They start at the top and show you the Senate, House, Governor's office, and more.
Many say the Illinois State Capitol is more beautiful than the US Capitol in D.C. It has a beautiful dome, lots of marble, statuary and paintings.
Well worth your time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    66
    18
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Definitely take the 20 minute tour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The capital was actually a much better experience than I thought it would be. Granted, the General Assembly was not in session so that made it less exciting, but I would definitely recommend going. The free 20 minute tour is completely worth your time - you get to go into the House and Senate galleries and hear about the history and decoration of the capital.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Architectural Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Aside from the circus that happens inside, the Illinois capital is an outstanding building to witness for the architecture. Incredible marblework throughout.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Virginia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Illinois State Capitol building is located in the center of Downtown Springfield and is in easy walking distance of many of the other downtown attractions. I parked at the Lincoln Home Parking lot, and used the Kiosk to pay for parking while I walked to many of the downtown sites including the Capitol. The grounds of the capitol at dotted with statues of famous Illinois Residents including Abraham Lincoln and Stephen Douglas. The interior of the Building is beautiful and filled with art and sculptures, including statues and bust of previous Illinois Governors and other distinguished Illini. During my visit the legislature was in session and the capitol was very busy and crowded. All of the guides were busy with a large number of school groups who were touring the area so I picked up a brochure and was able to explore the building on my own. Because the legislature was in session I was not able to visit either legislative chamber. The governor’s office is located on the second floor. I ended up spending about 90-minutes touring the building and grounds and I would highly recommend taking the tour if you are in the Springfield Area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ornate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very large, ornately detailed building. Great for pictures and the plaza was very nice to walk around in and sit for a while. Didn't actually go in (it was Sunday) but nice to hang around in on a nice night.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Illinois State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Illinois State Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.