We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary restoration!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lincoln Home National Historic Site

Lincoln Home National Historic Site
413 South Eighth St., Springfield, IL 62701
217-492-4241 ex.221
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 30 Attractions in Springfield
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, National Parks, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only house Abraham Lincoln ever owned is the centerpiece of this four-block historic neighborhood. Lincoln and his family lived in the two-story house from 1844 until 1861, when their address changed to the White House.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Extraordinary restoration!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

As with nearly every other U.S. Park Service restoration, this one is as good as is possible. After the Lincoln Museum, this really rounds out the picture of Lincoln.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    675
    192
    24
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
indianapolis, in
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun & educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

You are transported back in time when you step inside his home. On advice from others, we made this our 1st stop & glad we did. You need a free ticket to tour the home as they limited the number of people inside. We arrived at 11:30 on a Tuesday morning & our ticket time was at 1pm...they fill up fast. We had our kids take part in the Junior Ranger program, which kept them busy. We walked down a few blocks to the Old State Capitol. (Free inside self guided tour) by the time we were done & had lunch, we walked back & toured his home. We then did the museum & tomb the rest of the afternoon. Parking was $2 an hour...should've/could've found parking on the street for a $1 an hour.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Every American should experience this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Standing a couple feet from where Lincoln found out he was elected president is a priceless feeling! Every American should experience this.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Lincoln attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent a day in Springfield and of all the historic Abraham Lincoln attractions to see and visit, this was my favorite. The friendliness and knowledge of the guide, the restoration of the home, and all the details were perfect.

As others have said, BE SURE to get your free tickets for the home tour as early in the day as possible, then go see other things while you wait for your tour time. The tours fill up extremely fast. No ticket, no inside tour -- and we saw a lot of disappointed people.

The home is full of original and reproduction furniture and accessories, and it was great to see an actual desk that Mr. Lincoln used and the rocking chair belonging to Mrs. Lincoln. The stair rail up to the second floor is original, so what a thrill to touch something that Abraham Lincoln touched thousands of times!

Two other activities that mesh well with the home tour are the extremely well-made 25-minute film in the visitor center that covers Lincoln's life in Springfield, shot on location in his home, his law office, and other places. Also check out the dioramas in the house just south of the Lincoln home that show the various stages that the family's home went through over the years (it was remodeled several times as the family grew and their finances improved).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful trip back in time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Loved all the small detail to accuracy in the restorations. Area clean and plenty of historic sites to visit between lunch and dinner.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lincoln Home National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Lincoln Home National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lincoln Home National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.