We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, pleasant and accessible to the sites.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Springfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Springfield to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Springfield
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 J. David Jones Parkway, Springfield, IL 62702   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Springfield
Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quiet, pleasant and accessible to the sites.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

This property is very quiet. I presume it gets busier in warmer months, as it has an outdoor pool. Yes, it's near Oak Ridge (Lincoln's Tomb and the Veteran's Memorial). It's also very near the airport. If you're looking for nightlife and restaurant, look to one of the downtown or I-55 properties. This place is reasonably priced, the breakfast was adequate, the room was clean and the heater worked, as did the wi-fi. I don't travel to a city like Springfield to sit in my hotel--I go to see what and who's there, so for me, it works out beautifully.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    44
    61
    53
    43
See reviews for
90
28
11
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

This a nice place to stay - however many days you're planning to stay, quiet property close to all Lincoln Sites and the Air Port. Nice clean rooms, maintained very well under new managment. I read few bad reviews here, but I saw a good review and decided to try, found out that the place is nicely maintained under new management, friendly staff. I rate this motel A+, effordable and nice place! We stayed there five days covering many agenda, the whole family loved it!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

Very good Pieceful location, Very friendly and co-operative staff.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2007

This hotel is old and has not been maintained. The room we stayed in was dirty smelled stale and old, the paint was worn and peeling, the carpet was stained and way beyond useful life, the beds had dips in the mattresses as if they were very old and used. The outside had rotting wood, peeling paint, and poorly maintained grounds. The place looks good from the front and the lobby is in decent shape but when you drive around to the parking area it is as if you have arrived at a completely different place, it is dark and does not give a feeling of security or comfort. The breakfast area was fairly clean and did provide a pretty good variety. We arrived very late and tired otherwise we would have found another place to stay regardless of being charged for the room, it is really that bad. On this trip, we stayed at 7 different hotels from 1 star to 4 star and this was by far the worst.

  • Liked — The breakfast area
  • Disliked — cleanliness and condition
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

What a dump! I had booked this hotel through my RCI points partners. I went to the internet to look this hotel up before booking and boy, was I deceived! The pictures and the hotel description must have been when the hotel had seen better days...20-30 years ago? It was isolated (only a cemetary nearby and a few scattered houses); No windows to welcome you..just a massive structure of stone; the parking lot had lots of cracks with weeds growing in between..no beautiful landscape..cheap plastic flowers in hanging pots. We drove around to our room and it was even more shocking!!!! It was like a 2 story cell block that you would see in a movie; crumbling or close to it. The room smelled like smoke and urine; the phone wasn't working; the bed was thin; the bathroom was grosse with lots of cracks and dry-wall peeling....Continental breakfast was included (cereal all over the floor and counters, spilled juices, just very dirty and nobody was manning this; we only saw one worker the whole time. We did talk to a manager (?) about our room and he could not do anything for us...DON'T BE DECEIVED BY THE PICTURES ON THE INTERNET!!!!

  • Liked — NOTHING!!!!
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING!!!!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, IL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2007

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. There was no toilet paper in the room. It was clear that it was not cleaned prior to our stay. It is run down and unkept. The sign has duct tape over the directions to the restaurant.

Beware!

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WISCONSIN
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2006

I know, I should have really listened to the other reviews, BUT it was across the street from Oak Ridge Cemetery which we wanted to go to that afternoon and evening AND the picture on the Internet looked nice. Let me tell you, pictures can be deceiving. The rugged driveway and potholes in the driveway are still there, there was mold in the bathroom and when my husband accidentally turned on the heat instead of the air-conditioner, it stunk the whole room up so bad that we had to open the door to get the smell out. Our sheet on the bed had a black circle the size of a quarter drawn from a permanent marker in the middle of the sheet which couldn't have been missed when the bed was made. The window in the room should have been replaced as it was cloudy and dirty in between the double window panes. After reading the previous review of bugs, upon entering the room, we did pull the covers back on the beds and checked in between the mattresses for any bed bugs and luckily did not find any. There is also a back building to the hotel and there would have been no way we would have stayed in the back building as the parking lot seem isolated and scarey. On the plus side, we did have a very friendly and helpful person who checked us in, and the continential breakfast was your typical ceral, toast, muffins, etc.

  • Liked — Friendly staff at check in
  • Disliked — Room
  • Tips/Secrets — Unless hotel is rennovated, stay elsewhere
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Springfield

Address: 1701 J. David Jones Parkway, Springfield, IL 62702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Springfield 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Springfield
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Springfield Hotel Springfield
Howard Johnson Springfield
Springfield Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Springfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.