We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Springfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Springfield to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Springfield
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 J. David Jones Parkway, Springfield, IL 62702   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Springfield
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Decent place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed here for two nights while I was in town for a friend's wedding. Close to downtown and other tourist places. Breakfast was the standard continental breakfast minus waffle maker. It seemed the place needs some updating. Overall, friendly staff and good price for a place just for sleeping.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    44
    61
    53
    43
See reviews for
90
28
11
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel was ok....just a few things to note.....first of all let it be noted that I traveled with my 70y/o mother and 2 lg dogs.......loose tiles in the bathroom, our air conditionr was broke and had to be changed out, mom got over heated, dogs got overheated while we were standing outside waiting for air to get fixed, finally about 9pm we could start feeling cooled. Lamp in corner and electrical outlet didnt work, showerhead was installed for short ppl, being 5'8" I had to kneel to wash my hair, tub was very slow to drain, at check-in I told them we were going to pay cash in morning or did they want it now? He said morning would be fine. When we went to check out the bill had been charged to the credit card already along with a charge for the SAFE that was in the room. I had to tell him to take the safe charge off the bill. Continental breakfast was ok!! or thats what mom said. Pleanty of grassy areas to walk the dogs, altho I noted ALOT of ppl dont pick up after their dogs (if you know what I mean). The one dangerous thing I noted was the second floor walkway (rear building)....when seen from beneath...was cracked and reminded me of KC yrs ago when the walkway collapsed. It needs alot more than a "little updating". ooooo the TV worked!!! that was good!! and no bedbugs found!!! and the dead wasp on the wall couldve been framed and passed off as a picture since they didnt want to clean it up!! If youre traveling with dogs, you pretty well have to take what they give you, however, some of the others at the dog show suggested the place with a red roof....we'll try that next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Well, it was cheap. I'm rather befuddled by the 4-5 star reviews that say "you get what you pay for" and "for the price, it was great!" Um, no. Even an inexpensive hotel should be clean, well cared for, and have edible food (not breakfast that is, no joke, set out the day before and then covered).

When we arrived at 5, we were sent to our room, which was on the second floor of the rear building. We walked up the stairs with our luggage, down the corridor ... only to find our room was not ready (though check-in was at 3). The housekeeping staff said we could wait 10 minutes (evidently there in the corridor, holding our heavy bags). After a few minutes, one of the cleaning staff finally called the front desk and we were moved three rooms over and left to wait for someone to bring us the key cards to our new room. And we waited ... and waited ... and finally called the front desk. They sent a child (maybe 10 years old?) up with the cards.

Fortunately, that meant we could leave the room, which was very poorly maintained (air conditioner held up by bricks, check. Holes in the comforters, check. Stained and peeling bathroom walls, check). Forgot to mention that when we arrived, garbage was literally (and I do not use the word "literally" just willy-nilly) strewn throughout the corridors, in the bushes (evidently housekeeping staff tosses bags of garbage over the railing and gathers it when they are done with the rooms), next to doors, piled in the grass ... it was appalling. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone, and next time I visit Springfield, I'm going to another hotel -- any other hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brodhead, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The HoJo Springfield is a solidly 2 star hotel. Pleasent setting away from the city (but still close enough to be convenient to attractions),the courtyard is almost park-like. The hotel is showing wear and tear, but improvements were being started when I stayed in May 2012. You get what you pay for, nothing more, nothing less. Management impressed me - besides being gracious and attentive he saved 3 baby ducklings caught in the pool!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Good location for Fairgrounds and Lincon attractions, rooms were ok , but hotel in genral could do with a little fresh up

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

My dad & I stayed overnight here due to a special price offered by the group we were travelling with & due to the proximity of Springfield Capitol Airport. Wish I'd spent a little more & stayed somewhere else. Numerous issues: Paint and wallpaper were peeling, lampshades were broken, the tub was dirty, and tile were broken & coming loose from the floor. Two thin pillows per bed. The public areas were dirty and messy, too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

very nice property very close to the Ill state fairgrounds.. They have rooms and suites, which are both reasonably priced. I had a 2 room suite that was very comfortable, w /comfy king size bed, tv and chair&ottoman-"living room" has love seat,easy chair, desk & chair,tv,fridge,micro and wi-fi. Only drawback was the bathroom was tiny compared to to roominess of the suite.(But there are BIG fluffy bath towels!) Nice continental breakfast, Everything was clean,management was friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay there when we go back next year..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Springfield

Address: 1701 J. David Jones Parkway, Springfield, IL 62702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Springfield 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites Springfield
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Springfield Hotel Springfield
Howard Johnson Springfield
Springfield Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Springfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.