We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss while touring the other Lincoln sites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old State Capitol State Historic Site

Old State Capitol State Historic Site
5th & Adams Streets, Springfield, IL 62701
217-785-7960
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 30 Attractions in Springfield
Type: Government Buildings, Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Painstakingly rebuilt after being disassembled in the 1960s, this Greek Revival masterpiece saw Lincoln serve as a lawyer and legislator. In 1858, Lincoln delivered his landmark "House Divided" speech in the Capitol's Representatives Hall.
Great Plains
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Don't miss while touring the other Lincoln sites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This building is architecturally and historically interesting. The guides were very knowledgable, and you shouldn't miss this building while seeing the other Lincoln sites. Nicely maintained and significiant.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    107
    25
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“History Comes Alive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Very interesting tour. You can just imagine Lincoln and Douglas butting heads in this building. We were fortunate enough to visit during performance by "Lincoln Troubadours", a group of very talented young kids who sang the songs of the 19th century and the Civil War in particular. This was part of Springfield's annual summer "History Comes Alive" program that really makes history fun. Old State Capitol place should definitely be high on your list of places to visit when in Springfield.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We really enjoyed this tour and found the tour guide to be very interesting. They've done a great job restoring the building to replicate the old capitol. It's unfortunate the county didn't have the foresight to preserve it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of our visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Much to our surprise, the Old State Capitol was one of the highlights of our visit because of the excellent schedule of historic interpretative performances. We thoroughly enjoyed a wonderful group of high school acapella singers who performed some of the tunes from Lincoln's day. Ditto for the performance of a fine actor who characterized General Grant and told us about his experiences in the latter part of the war and its aftermath. The performances are all free. The State Capitol building is well preserved and architecturally impressive. It is also a delightful short walk down to the Old Capitol from the Lincoln Museum. The interpretative performances came right after each other, then we easily found some nice lunch places and shops right outside, along with some other attractions, such as Lincoln's old law office. We strongly recommend that you add this attraction on to your visit to the Lincoln Museum.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Step Back in History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited Springfield this weekend and were on a budget. We parked downtown and decided to walk around and see what the city had to offer. We loved this building when we spotted it first while driving into the downtown area. We were really excited when we found they don't charge $13 a head for entry and it's donation only :) We paid $7 for donations and loved that we were free to roam around the building. Great history and BEAUTIFUL place!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old State Capitol State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Old State Capitol State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old State Capitol State Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.