We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully Restored” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old State Capitol State Historic Site

Old State Capitol State Historic Site
5th & Adams Streets, Springfield, IL 62701
217-785-7960
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 30 Attractions in Springfield
Type: Government Buildings, Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Painstakingly rebuilt after being disassembled in the 1960s, this Greek Revival masterpiece saw Lincoln serve as a lawyer and legislator. In 1858, Lincoln delivered his landmark "House Divided" speech in the Capitol's Representatives Hall.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautifully Restored”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was so much better than I thought it would be. They show you how the different rooms were and the building is so beautiful inside. I did not think there was much to see but there way.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    107
    25
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice for a Sunday morning visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you want to see this restored shrine to state government in the 1830s, 40s & 50s where Lincoln spoke and practiced law and served in the legislature come as we did on a Sunday morning. Admission is free, the whole place is open and staff have lots of time to explain things when it's very uncrowded. They open at 9 and we were almost the old folks in there about 9.30!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful inside and out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a rather small building so it can be toured rather quickly, and it's definitely worth a peak inside for the history alone! In addition to the many years Lincon spent a great deal of time here, it is also the final place his body was on display prior to being layed to rest. The design of the staircase is fantastic! The volunteers were very knowledgable also.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
109 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“A Step Back In Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We visited on a weekend while an art fair was underway on the grounds which made our visit doubly enjoyable.
As we entered the building, a young man asked if this was our first visit and proceeded to give us a brief history of the Old Capitol. After his description, we wandered about, following an organized tour into the house chamber, and getting our photograph taken in the senate chamber. The building was extensively remodeled about 35 years ago and hence is in remarkable condition. All offices and chambers are set just as they were when this was the capitol building. As a consequence, each room was akin to gazing into the past!
Well worth the visit! No admission is charged but a donation is accepted.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We loved the Old State Capitol. We joined a guided tour. It was interesting to say the least. It was eery to imagine Lincoln giving his "House Divided" speech in the very room in which we were standing. Much history here!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old State Capitol State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Old State Capitol State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old State Capitol State Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.