We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fljotstunga Cave Tours

Fljotstunga Cave Tours
Fljotstunga Travel Farm, Borgarnes 320, Iceland
+(354)4351198
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 Attractions in Borgarnes
Type: Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Víogelmir lava cave is the largest of all caves in Iceland and a very special structure. The family in Fljotstunga has protected and taken care of it for 5 generations. Today we offer short and long tours every day during the summer months. With these tours we try to inform guests about the preservation of the cave, its archeological spaces and the Ice Elves that inhabit it during winter.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We decided to book a cave tour as we were staying in the area, and the owners couldn't have been more accommodating, even staying at the farm a bit longer in order to fit in with our plans.

The cave is fascinating, and despite only being able to take the short one due the time of year we were well rewarded with time spent at the ice elves. Our guide, Haldor, was very informative and obviously loves showing people this amazing place. He is also a true gentlemen, coming to our rescue when our car got stuck in the snow a couple of miles down the road. Luckily, i think everyone in Iceland carries a tow rope at this time of year!

We would highly recommend the tour - and Iceland in general - you won't be diappointed.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    1
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aachen, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Fantastic Cave Tour, this lava cave is astonishing! My little daughter and me loved it so much! We stayed at Fljotstunga Travelers Farm for 4 nights and were able to collect some of the most impressive memories on a holiday ever!
If you plan to visit Reykholt/Hussafell area, don`t miss to check if a cottage at Fljotstunga Travelers Farm is available and make sure to book it for a night or two or more incl. a tour to Vidgelmir lava cave!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were staying at the Travelers Farm at Fljotstunga and, on a whim, decided to join one of the daily tours (4/day, at 10, 12, 3 and 5). We didn't really know what to expect, but as the rate seemed reasonable, we thought we'd give it a shot--and are we ever glad we did!

Incredible tour from an expert guide (we had Rob), who really made the history of the cave and the science behind these lava flows come to life. If you're in the area, it's definitely worth making a trip out for--even if you don't consider yourself a geology enthusiast. Because it's a lava cave, there are no smells, no bats, no minerals, etc., if that generally turns you off caving. It's just an unbelievably cool (and huge) cave located in Iceland's largest lava field, definitely a unique experience. And depending on when you come, you just might get a look at the Ice Elf City... (and if you don't see it, make sure you ask about it.)

Think about staying a night at the Fljotstunga Travelers Farm while you're here too--great people, great (rustic) lodging, and a great dog wandering around the property.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“W-o-n-d-e-r-f-u-l!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

If you visit Reykholt area, don't miss a visit to Víðgelmir lava cave with Fljotstunga Farm tours. The cave is amazing, the lava walls and the ice formations are breathtaking. They give you a lantern-helmet and you "dive" into the complete darkness of the cave. We took a 1-hr tour, we had a wonderful guide who knows every corner of the cave, and it was a great experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fljotstunga Cave Tours also viewed

 
Akureyri, Northeast Region
Borgarnes, West Region
 

Been to Fljotstunga Cave Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fljotstunga Cave Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.