We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay at.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
Skulagata 21, Borgarnes 310 , Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Borgarnes B&B and Inns
1 review
“Very nice place to stay at.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Was at the graceful and wonderful house,early in november. Very clean room, lovely garden and easy internet access in the house. The great view from the living room to the sea was unbelivable.
This house had every thing I needed. I was there over night with my family. My 6 year old also loved this wonderful house. We spent a good weekend in Borgarnes.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was the third time I stayed at the Borgarnes B&B. Inger Helgadottir, the hostess, is a retired farmer and just a wonderful person. She makes a breakfast (included) fit for kings and queens. Her B&B is absolutely spotlessly clean and very inviting. The view from the dining room is breathtaking. Inger's daughter, who sometimes works at the inn, is also a delight. Since Borgarnes is so centrally located, we like to use this as a convenient location to get to the Snaefellsnes Peninsula and nearby waterfalls. There is also a great bakery in town and a terrific restaurant at the Settlement House, within walking distance of the B&B.

Room Tip: Book early as word has spread and the B&B is often fully booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

What a place! Wonderful rooms, very comfortable beds, very clean bathroom with the use of dressing-gowns. We felt like in a 5star hotel. Fantastic outside space with a views to die for. The owner was extremely nice. The Lady made us breakfast a lot earlier than normal as we we had to leave very early. The food was fantastic, real taste of Icelnad - our favorite were home made, fresh pancakes.. We would definitely recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our Google Maps took us straight to a cafe / antique shop, in which the lovely lady sighed and said, yes, LOTS of people are brought here by Google Maps, the place you want is just up the hill, on the left.

However, once we found the Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast, we felt as if we'd arrived at home. The owner, Inger, is kind and welcoming and made us feel thoroughly at home. Our room was comfortable, with a good bathroom (there are also shared facilities for the other rooms) but it is the public areas which are really worth writing about - a most lovely sitting / eating area (with free, fast Wifi) looking onto a wonderful view, and a large kitchen which we were free to use for incidental coffee/tea or cooking a meal. We made friends quickly amongst the convivial guests.

From the door, you can get onto a lovely short walk around the headland, or you could just sit and watch the sea.

Definitely would come again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The charming hostess of this fabulous find of a B and B welcomed us with true Iclandic hospitality. The room was spotless and bright. The shared bathroom clean and had piles of clean towels. All amenities were available. Free Wi-Fi available thoughtout the house. Children's play area outside was fully equipped. A bench to contemplate and enjoy the ocean view. The breakfast was the highlight of the stay. Fresh breads straight out of the oven, home made jams and jellies, real coffee, cold cuts, cheeses, enough food to last for a full day of touring Iceland. We returned for a second time on our circle tour of the peninsula. I recommend reserving as the place fills up fast.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Standard good hotel.Nothing special but in nice location.We had view to a parking place.Nothing to write home about. Room is clean but did not have hair dryer wich must be standart.Dinning room is old fashion but food eas good. Matress were convienient and room was clean.No free wi-fi-the only place that charged money for this service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in November 2011 and enjoyed it very much.
In winter times it is a very tranquil place. The owner and people working in the B&B are very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast served is wonderful and very delicious.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast

Address: Skulagata 21, Borgarnes 310 , Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Borgarnes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Borgarnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in February 2008, famous for the hostess's breakfast buffet, Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast is a favorite spot for people from all over the world who want to relax for shorter or longer periods in a quiet and relaxing ambiance and at the same time have the opportunity to enjoy a big part of Iceland. We are located in the heart of Borgarnes, in Englendingavik creek, the protected historical center of town, with an outstanding view over the mysterious Borgarfjordur fjord. Only a walking distance from the sea, the Icelandic Settlement Center, restaurants and the playground Bjossarolo this Borgarnes's renowned Guesthouse is in a house that was built for the rich people of Borgarnes approximately 70 years ago. Even though it is popular as an accommodation for families, couples and individuals, with its 8 bedrooms, big kitchen and dining rooms it is a good idea for little groups to rent the whole house for one or more nights to enjoy a time of their own. As such the house has accommodated recreation week-ends, birthday parties, confirmation celebrations, just to give some examples. From Borgarnes you have a variety of shorter and longer hikings and you can do day tours on Borgarfjordur region, Dalir region, Snaefellsnes peninsula, Vatnsnes peninsula in the north, the Golden circle of the South coast and even go for the highland where you can have a taste of Iceland's second largest glacier. The staff is more than willing to help you organize your own ideas of a relaxing or an adventurous day before you head off in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.