We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hraunsnef Country Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hraunsnef Country Hotel to your Saves list
Hraunsnef Country Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nordurardal 311, Bifrost, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bifrost
Fairfield, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Place to Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

After our trip to Isafjordeur was cancelled due to impassable roads, we decided to trek up to Hraunsnef anyway because of the outstanding reviews. It turned out really well, and we are very glad that we traveled there. The farm was great, and from the moment we arrived, everything was so relaxing. The husband and wife duo who ran the place were spectacular, and we had some time to check out the hiking trails near the waterfall Glanni, which is very close, and very peaceful. Unfortunately, my girlfirend and I found the hot tub too hot, but maybe we are just a little soft :)We also ate dinner and breakfast there, which was great, The locally sourced lamb was phenomenal, and they have raised the bar on my expectations of what great lamb should taste like, The breakfast spread was great, and we would recommend this hotel/restaurant to anyone willing to listen. Even if you don't stay there, at least have dinner there, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    30
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from a night at Hraunsnef with some family members. It was a getaway from the kids for the six of us. Hraunsnef was easy to find from the highwayand it was nice to be greeted by 3 labrador dogs in the -4ºcold. We checked in in the main building and got an escort to our room and an offer to help with our luggage. It's a damily farm/business. It was nice to see the kids return from school in Reykjavik to help on the weekends.

The room was more modern than expected with a black and white colour style. We had room 1 which was named after Odinn, the norse god. The room didn't have a lot of connection to the farm or norse mythology but it was very comfortable with a kettle, coffee and tea facilities, small flat screen tv, ample bathroom with plenty of towels and soap. The bed was comfy and the view and sound of sheep and horses outside made it a nice getaway from the city.

We ate at the restaurant and enjoyed some delicious local lamb from the next farm. Highly recommended. Jóhann, the owner, was our waiter and we enjoyed some banter with him during the meal. Everyone enjoyed it. Its a small place so you have to accept that your pint of beer is from a can and tiny things like that but generally, the service and attitude of the family was outstanding and we will definitely be returning.

Thanks Hraunsnef!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent a night at the Hraunsnef Country hotel during our round Iceland trip in March 2013. It is just North of Bifrost and quite close to the famous village of Reykholt, home of Snorri Sturluson, the famous medieval Icelandic poet and politician, who is often credited for writing down many of the Icelandic sagas.

The hotel is really comfortable with spacious well equipped rooms, and the staff are so welcoming.... and the restaurant serves locally sourced products beautifully cooked (for example, the lamb comes from the farm next door and they grow their own salads etc). We had an hour in the outdoor hot tub after dinner watching the stars (even though it was freezing outside) - what an experience. breakfast was also a joy, with home made lamb pate, a gorgeous scrambled egg with bits of bacon, fresh herbs and salad etc, home made jam etc etc.

The lady who looked after reception and served us breakfast looked after us really well. We were on the way to Isafjordur in winter and she looked up the road conditions and advised us on the best route to take.

Oh, and the farm has tame animals - sheep, horses, which is a bonus!

If we pass this way agin we shall definitely go back. And we recommend it to any travellers passing this way.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front look right across the valley!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Situated in an atmospheric lava-strewn landscape, the Hraunsnef is an excellent stop on the the way to Snaefellsness Peninsula (apologies if spelt wrong). There's a lovely waterfall to see in the area and a couple of little craters to walk up to to get a good look at the surrounding area. If no food's available at the hotel during the day (we were there in winter and the restaurant didn't open till 5pm) decent food is available at a cafe Bifrost University just down the road. The food in the hotel's restaurant is very excellent - the lamb and beef from nearby farms is quality stuff and brilliantly cooked. Smallish but cosy room and the excellent staff woke us to let us know that the Northern Lights were out during the night. Fantastic shower and they have a hair dryer (not sure if it's mentioned on their website).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had 3 nights of much needed relaxation here - a very warm welcome, helpful information on the local area (lovely scenery, walks, and a good variety of places to visit), and a steaming hot tub to unwind in at the end of the day and watch the Northern Lights. Our room was warm and comfortable with a spacious bathroom and all the facilities we needed. We could not have asked for more - but if we had, we feel sure the owners would have obliged, they are lovely people and ensured everything was to our satisfaction throughout. The restaurant served a variety of tasty food at reasonable prices and was also used by the locals. We will definitely stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to other guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I went on a romantic getaway to Iceland and happened upon this place by accident. What an amazing find! We were traveling to Isafjordur and had to turn around due to road closures and poor weather, due to this we were without a hotel for the night. We saw this place and asked if they have availability for the night. Not only did they have a wonderful room for us, but they also had a restaurant with fantastic food. The innkeepers were so friendly and gave us some ideas of other attractions to see in the area. The rooms are very comfortable and the bed was fantastic. We were so happy to have found this place and will return for another stay when we travel to Iceland again. Wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adams, Tennessee
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We accidentally found this place after being unable to reach out destination due to road closure and it was the best place we stayed during our week. In addition to being a working farm, this quaint location offered the best dining experience and best night sleep we had during the trip.Johann and his wife Brynja were very accomodating and we great conversation as we tried our best not to butcher the language when we ordered. The breakfast was phenomenal, the price of the rooms and dinner were extremely reasonable and we had a great time walking around the farm and seeing how it operated. We will certainly stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: There did not seem to be a bad room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hraunsnef Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hraunsnef Country Hotel

Address: Nordurardal 311, Bifrost, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Bifrost
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bifrost
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hraunsnef Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hraunsnef Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hraunsnef Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.