We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owners make this place special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hraunsnef Country Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hraunsnef Country Hotel to your Saves list
Hraunsnef Country Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nordurardal 311, Bifrost, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bifrost
Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The owners make this place special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We've spent one night at the small cabin at Hraunsnef on our way north, and another night a few days later on our way back. Despite being close to the main road, the area is nice and it's the owners and staff who run the hotel who make this place special. They will do everything to make you feel at home.

The small cabins are indeed small - but well equipped and offer everything you really need. They also enable you stay close to the farm life, with the sheep and chickens running around, and the friendly dogs begging for food all the time. At the reception floor of the hotel, you can also buy many local products, such as the lovely wool clothes or small decoration items. During our second stay, we were lucky to meet the local women working at the sewing machines in a nearby hall, and apparently having a lot of fun.

Definitely a place worth trying if you happen to travel this way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    30
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpen
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

this is one of the best places we know in iceland. johan and brynja, the owners do an excellentjob. they are very friendly and helpful - and the kitchen is excellent, specially the breakfast. we stayed in one of the nice cottages- and got a fair rate, cause we were travelling alittle bit of season!
stronglyrecommended

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Had dinner. Nice small and cozy restaurant. Lamb was most excellent. The gravy was divine. Steak was tender and flavorful. Most of the food is locally sourced. Good bar. Owner onsite and proud. Seems like a decent spot to spend the night when traveling up the west coast of Iceland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

This is truly a hidden gem in the country flora of Iceland. The friendly homely feeling is superb. All vegetables home grown, local sourcing, organic foods. The restaurant is a real surprise, more like the quality of upscale down town city hotspots. Taste the lamb or fish dishes, I tried the chicken mango chili salad, it was unbelievable, tasty and fresh. Go there!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hraunsnef, Owner at Hraunsnef Country Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much your great review it means a lot to us to hear that you were happy with your stay here.

Best regards,

Brynja and Jóhann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at Hraunsnef on the first night of our trip around Iceland.

We were given a cabin for the whole family and it was really good and comfortable. We had the highest one up the slope and so had great views back across the valley. There are two hot tubs with a similar view!

Dinner was good and the breakfast was the best we had in Iceland.

The boys loved climbing the volcano just back down the road in the Reykjavik direction.

Would recommend and hope to be able to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hraunsnef, Owner at Hraunsnef Country Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your review,

We hope you will come again. We are always changing and adding new things i.e. we are from now on adding to the farm animals here so perhaps your boys could help feed the animals next time.

Best regards,

Brynja and Jóhann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

It was a nice experience living in the farm and even some of the vegetables we ate were grown by the farm. The surroundings were nice with a towering cliff at the back. The hot tub was outdoors next to a small stream. The staff were friendly. The 2 dogs we saw were incredibly cute!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

My husband and I went there for a short weekend break, just the two of us. We had a very relaxing time. The service was exellent, the staff so friendly and the food was great, we particularly liked the eggs they served for breakfast which come from their own hens. We loved the beautiful scenery which we enjoyed from the hot tubs under a starlit sky. We will definetly be going there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hraunsnef Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hraunsnef Country Hotel

Address: Nordurardal 311, Bifrost, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Bifrost
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bifrost
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hraunsnef Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hraunsnef Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hraunsnef Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.