We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“;loved our stay here, tremendous value, needs some sprucing up” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Papatheodorou Str. | 2 km from the main highway, Sissi, Crete 72400, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Sissi
Livingston, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“;loved our stay here, tremendous value, needs some sprucing up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Lots to praise, few gripes but a week for two all inclusive for under 800 pounds was pretty good; the coach journey is murder it takes more than two hours to do a 40 min trip with all the drop offs and after a long day and in middle of night its pretty awful: we were given a coldplate on arrival but initially were disappointed in room as it looked tatty and gloomy; however in morning, its basically just needing a paint and new bedspeads and shower curtain; it was actually spotless and had a fab hot shower and was cleaned with new towels every day except sunday; the food was perfectly adequate varied and hot and i dont know what more i can say except i would have liked scrambled egg more than twice in week: the waitresses are mainly young and really friendly and bar staff great esp nicos who had me in kinks with his scottish accents; as everyone else says air con should not be an extra as this adds 56 euros to a weeks stay; sissi is lovely, a beautiful harbour and we liked hemingways bar which has gt music friendly british hosts and a huge selection of paperbacks for a charity donation;there are plenty of pools and sunbeds but we were right beside the brolleys out back, couldnt be handier but mucky after sprinklers and has to dry out; definitely going back to sissi and very likely this hotel but not on coach!

Room Tip: One facing onto brolleys at back, very handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    192
    98
    58
    36
See reviews for
118
256
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We ve visited crete for our honeymoon and were a bit wary
However, we were pleasantly.surprised. The rooms can vary, we rejected the first room we were offered.because it had no balcony that wr had requested specifically. The hotel staff.had no problem giving us a different room.
We did.half board, and found that we.didn't need any more.than that. Breakfast is a buffet, as is.dinner. Menu is varied with good selection for all tastes.
Staff are friendly, rooms.are clean, lovely pools, three in all
No complaint, we may be back.here in future

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife, me and our son we have just spent a marvelles holidays in Sissi Bay Hotel since 8th uptill 22nd of July. It was possible because of your nicest treatment we could ever expect. Thank you so much indeed. All the staff was sympathetic, smailing and helpful. Marvelles meal was served. That's why we felt like a king, queen and prince of life.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Although with no beach this hotel has a lot to offer both families and couples. All the staff we came into contact with were friendly, fun and professional. The rooms are basic but very clean and modern and we had a great view of the sea. There is a choice of 3 pools, so you can relax at the adults only pool or brave the livelier pool on the other side of the road. The hotel has an interesting layout with clusters of rooms interspersed with flowers and greenery. The Cretan evening is an additional 10 Euros per person but well worth the extra cost. The food was very good with great choice. However, the food on the other nights was not what you would expect from a 4* hotel.
Sissi is a small but lovely village with plenty of bars and restaurants and a delightful harbour. There are a couple of beaches within walking distance but I would recommend water shoes as otherwise your entry into the water is not very dignified! Hiring a car is probably also a good idea as there is a bus stop about 40 minutes walk on the main road. We were told you don't how where the bus is going until you arrive, so could be an adventure!
All in all a good holiday with much laughter and good company.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel was really convenient for access to the centre of Sissi, which is picturesque with a lovely harbour for swimming in.
There was always plenty of variety of food available at the self service buffet, and was well cooked. There was always a barbecue option. If the choice was not to our taste, there were numerous good value restaurants within a short walk.
The staff were always very friendly, although they may have seemed a bit standoffish at first. They all worked hard to keep the entertainment, such as it was, flowing. There was always the option of a stroll to Sissi for other forms of entertainment. There was a premium for the cretan night but the food provided made it well worth while.
Our room was cleaned daily and fresh towels provided regularly by very friendly cleaning staff.
Overall we had a really lovely holiday, and it was good value for money.

Room Tip: It would be well worth having a sea view. We didn't use the spa, so can only mark it as average...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here first week in September in a Junior Suite. The staff are very friendly and make you feel as if you are their friend. The hotel is very clean. The Cretan evening on a Thursday is not to be missed. If you do not want to attend there is a Tropical Bar the other side of the road. The drinks are very good on the all inclusive. Towels are changed every day and the room is cleaned every day. The rooms across the road from the hotel can be a bit of walk if you are elderly or infirm. Otherwise they are not a problem. Upon arrival booking in was quick and and the Reception Staff were very efficient. Air Conditioning was an extra. The food was average for the all inclusive guests.
All in all a very good hotel for the price.

Room Tip: For the elderly or infirm choose a room near the Reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkintilloch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

A great hotel right at sea front. Entertainment for both children and adults.Very friendly staff who make you feel part of a family, especially bar staff. Meals average for A/I guests in a small relaxed atmosphere dining room.The Cretin night is not to be missed. If you do not want to attend you can use the other part of the hotel across the road. One thing I would mention is that air conditioning is not free. Sissi is a small village with many nice eating places. Ideal for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa

Address: Papatheodorou Str. | 2 km from the main highway, Sissi, Crete 72400, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Sissi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sissi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sissi Bay Hotel And Spa
Sissi Bay Hotel Sissi
Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.