We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved sissi” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sun Village to your Saves list
Sun Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Sissi
west midlands
1 review
“loved sissi”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

My family and i stayed at the sun village in sissi for 2 weeks in august this year, i have three children in my family ranging 16,14,11. We booked this about 1 week before we travelled all inclusive so we thought we couldnt go wrong. We arrived at the hotel at night and were shown to our rooms we had 2 next to one another and they were ok cleaned daily sheets and towels changed every 3 days, we were lucky many only had them changed twice in 2 weeks. The hotel and complex is not bad but the let down for us was the all inclusive program it was just disgusting. You had no choice for breakfast only ham cheese and salad plus grey scrambled eggs, water melon with tea and coffee, dinner was four trays of slop plus salad bread and water melon, tea was left over meals made to look difference with yes water melon, the four trays should have had covers on the hot food but no and flies were all over them. Drinks in the all inclusive program was local beer, wine, soft drinks and raki, plus tea and coffee. All icecreams and snacks from the pool bar had to be paid for, my children only eat the bread rolls they only served chips twice in the time we were there the meats were full of fat and no meat on them. So we had to eat out most of the time and crete is not always cheap. The lobby bar in reception only served us till 10.15 and you had to pay for drinks after that which i think is appauling when you have paid the price for all inclusive, the manager just didnt want to know, im not a moaner i wont usually complain in a restaurant back home if the food is not right, but this is rubbish so many complaints from other guests. The pool is a nice large pool but because if is fed by the sea if is freezing cold, we hardly went in we went to the small beach this was warmer no joke. Overall we made the best of our holiday the complex itself we thought was fine and would go back again but either self catering or at a push bed and breakfast but never all inclusive.

  • Liked — location to the sea front
  • Disliked — food for the all inclusive packages
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    4
    6
    13
See reviews for
10
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SW UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

I stayed at the Sun Village for two weeks.
The hotel is, as another post stated, basic but clean.
The rooms were a good size and the cleaners never stopped, day or night.
I stayed all inclusive. One thing I learnt is that Greece has 4 levels of All Inclusive, from AI Light to AI Premier. This hotel is AI Light which means you get three basic meals and limited free drinks. You have to pay for snacks etc. So check this when you book.
The food in my oppinion was very poor. Limited selection. Manly cucumber and melon .... I'm not saying it was bad food, I'm saying I was dissapointed with it and didn't like it.
The current owners opened for business at the beginning of July and while I was there you could see improvements being made all the time. I think the new owners will do good things with this hotel over the coming months.
The location: Situated on the outskirts of Sissi, you can walk along the main road past some shops to the harbour area or take the road along the beach. Takes about 15 minutes to walk into town.
The beach area outside the hotel is rocky and dated, you can swim from here but really only on a calm day. There is a small man made beach at the end of the road, can get crowded.
Taxi to Malia the next closest resort which is the party hub of crete is 15 euros each way. Excellent beach's and shops etc. We hired a Quad from road runners which save us a bit.
The staff at the hotel work extremely hard and I was always greeted with a smile. It's a family owned hotel. The pool is a sea water pool which is a good size. Can be very cold if they change the water.
Overall the hotel is OK for a quick cheap break. Would I stay here agin? Probably Not, but not because of anything bad.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam & Athens
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

Well what can I say! This place is fantastic and I would not hesitate to go back there!

Room was clean and big enough for the four of us that travelled and had a great view.

Hotel was being cleaned all the time (don't think the cleaners ever stop!) pool was clean and loads of sunbeds.

My little girl really enjoyed the crèche too and the crèche nannies are fantastic. My little girl who is 2 took a shine to Tara and is always talking about her even now, again they have a few sessions a day and also do a stay and play which is good for getting the little ones out of the sun for a while, also a chance to meet other people.

Food at this hotel is fantastic! Something for everyone although the kids buffet is a bit repetitive. Bars and entertainment were fab! Spent most of our time in the pool bar.
Only thing this hotel could do with is maybe a playground or something for the younger children but other than that it is a great hotel, it is very family orientated hotel and if you don't like that sort of hotel then it won’t be for you.

But from me and my family it gets the thumbs up and we would definitely go back in the future.

  • Liked — Gardens
  • Disliked — to much oil in the food
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2006

We stayed B&B at sun village as a last minute holiday. The hotel is OK, basic but very clean. Good air con, comfy beds, good shower etc. Breakfast is very basic with grey scrambled eggs, bread, cheese, ham, cereal, juice, tea and coffee. But it fills you up. Pool is salt water and fed by the sea and very very cold and pool bar is very expensive. But overall a good base for visiting Crete.

Loved Elounda, Plaka and Spinalonga (deserted leper colony on an island, read 'The Island' by Hislop to get a great picture of how the lepers lived). The lasithi plains are worth a visit, we went on a quad bike which was great fun.

Sissi itself is lovely, tavernas and bars with well priced food and comfortable chairs around the top of the pretty harbour.

We had a good relaxed week but wouldn't return as we decided we preferred Rhodes.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — Walk east from the hotel for an excellent value taverna with great home cooked food.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2006

I feel obliged to write some words because Sun Village is totally different than others are writing!
We were there with my wife and 2 friends middle October and we found a very nice, clean and with very good service hotel. The food sometimes was not as expected but that's normal, we don't go to Crete to eat english food! Before we went everyone said "don't go", we took the risk and now all 4 of us feel very happy. We have discussed all these with the management of the hotel who didn't deny that were problems few monts ago because of the construction but now the construction is finished and the hotel looks very very beautifull and very good organised.
We suggest to everybody to go there! We'll go in May 2006 again!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2005

This holiday hotel is the worst I have ever been to in my life. I have had two holidays abroad each year for years and this is the first time I have ever complained about the accommodation. The rooms are not kept clean and are not in a finished condition. The all inclusive only included Raki + Ouso in spirits. The main bar was not fully manned so we used the pool bar which again was not cleaned. Thje pool had a tide mark all around it. The dining room (for want of a better term) is a leanto extension which was again not very clean. The dining chairs are green plastic garden chairs and the glasses are plastic, when they have them. The food was average at best. The food items kept running out as did the drinks etc. Sissi itself is lovely but this 'hotel' ruined our holiday. DO NOT GO!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2005

Just got back after Two weeks of horror.The hotel is like a building site and smells like a sewer.Could not eat the food as the flies got there first and covered it all.We did complain to rep (who could not care less)saw the manager who said that we could have the money back for our food and drink. 5 euros per day per person....yes thats right 5 euros per day to let us buy breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinks!!!!!!Please do not go there. The so called restraunt is a ramshackled lean-to with plastic chairs.Everything is dirty.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Village

Address: Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Sissi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Sissi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Village 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Sun Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Village Sissi
Sun Village Hotel Sissi
Sun Village Crete/Sissi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.