We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa to your Saves list
SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lasithiou, Sissi, Crete 72400, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Sissi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Mids, England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

A little perturbed after reading some reviews but pleasantly surprised on arrival. Not a typical 5* but this is Greece. The hotel was of a good standard although the bar area was a bit small to accomodate all the guests. Our room1705 was lovely with a really well equipt bathroom. It was cleaned daily and with fresh towels. The food was good but not as varied as other A.I holidays we have had. As others have stated the alcohol was very weak and this along with having to pay to extend the A.I on the last day was the only downside. The safe in the room at 30€ for a week was a bit steep. The staff were all really friendly and went out of their way to help. All in all a smashing holiday. Don't be put off my negative comments.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    356
    151
    58
    40
See reviews for
387
433
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Having just stayed at top 5 star hotels in dubai, the maldives, Majorca, Tenerife, Gran canaria and more, nothing was expected from this hotel, however the staff from this hotel where matching the staff from all hotels I have had the pleasure of staying at.

Andy Diamond from reception was a welcome friendly voice as he comes from manchester.

Now the holiday
Arrived approx 2.30am after landing at 11pm

Apparently the airport is only half an hour away but the transfer by htc or holiday taxis is a nightmare take a cab if you can as vasia beach is the last stop on the route.

A packed dinner had thoughtfully been put together for us touches like this are appreciated.

Woke up to breakfast and thought it ok for a breakfast the one thing they done was english sausages, christina who you first met on entering the dining area was always polite and welcoming.

Lunch and snacks ok seen you through the day however only went to dinner once even though we where all inclusive, we had come to greece to experience greek culture including greek food not international cusine.

Sissi itself is a gem of a place and the people are lovely the greek people are so welcoming and are really genuine in meeting them for the first time, there are so many excursions to do on the island it really calls for a return holiday.

Of a night we only went to the entertainment once not really our scene but we are all not big drinkers, we used to go to the fishing village of sissi and sit in one of the restaurants watching the sunset and life pass by while trying nice greek food with nice service.

Finding this sort of holiday was a dream come true.

The excursion organisers mervis just opposite from the hotel were fantastic infact we overpaid them 120 euros and never even realised, the next day they where chasing ourselves down the road offering a cash refund even though we had paid by card that is the sort of honesty you can expect from crete.

Excursions we went on -

Santorini a must do all though we only done the one day trip we have since been told to do the two day trip as you will get to see the sunset, santorini is one of the best sunsets in the world if you check on google

This is one of the most romantic places in the world.

Cretan night this was a good laugh even the dancers do not take themselves seriously if you want plate smahing and a good hearty night try this

water village keeps the kids entertained for the day however you will sleep for a week afterwards

Getting back to the hotel we spent most of our time in the volleyball pool which had nice people around it allot of english which was nice and real down to earth people, you also get to try vasia village which is just down the road and has some water slides which was nice and quieter than the vasia beach.

If your expecting 5 star glamour of dubai then go to dubai , vasia beach is a very good hotel with exceptional staff and a host of local characters of sissi which will make a fantastic holiday for anyone that would like a relaxing holiday, if you want a wild holiday malia is only a 14 euro taxi ride away.

This year on one holiday we have spent ten times the amount of what we spent on the holiday in crete sissi this holiday matched that , its the people around you that can make or break your holiday and we feel lucky to of encountered such nice people.

Hats off to you vasia sissi if your economy improves I would live there in a heartbeat

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

we stayed here for 10 days from the 4th June to the 14th June 2013, We checked in at 11.45pm and there was a hot meal waiting for us nothing too exciting just rice and chicken and a white or red wine.We were given a free upgrade as there were no rooms next to each other (party of 5, including a 1yr old) Which meant our own villa and private pool. We were in Room 1602. There spacious with a LCD tv,hairdryer,mini fridge,a cot for the baby 2 single beds in our room and a double bed in the other room. The worst part of the hotel rooms were the shower if you wanted to have a quick shower it would take you at least 30 mins to get the temp spot on. The food is average at best and you have to tell the girl in the restaraunt your room number before every meal there is not much choice at breakfast,lunch or dinner, Try Ormos bar 10 min walk from the hotel not expensive and the staff are really friendly + the view of the harbour at night is worth it.

The trips DO NOT BOOK THEM WITH THOMAS COOK REP they overcharge, we used the travel agent across from the supermarket, and you'll save between 20-30 euros we went to Knossis which was just a lot of rubble and a greek lady repeating for 2 hrs in 90 degree heat how SIr Arthur Evans had ruined it by using cement on top of limestone and the wall paintings were his imagination so they can't be taken for fact. On Sunday we went to Chrissy island which we booked with a local excursion company only 26 euros as Thomas Cook was charging 57 euros not including the 17 euro fee per person for the boat fee and then its an extra 5 euros for the barbecue and by that its a tough lamb kebab or it could've been a cat on a skewer with a greek salad.

Entertainment

Basically if you don't know your german pop songs your screwed, in the cotton club its just the singer speaking in german, singing in german and ignoring the other non german guests at the hotel. Animation only perform when they want to in the outside theatre.

Internet

There is free wifi at the hotel and free use of the computers in the lobby.

ATM

Do not use the ATM in the lobby it's rate when we were there was 1.108 and the rate with the hotel was 1.113. Better off going into Malia which is 15 euros by taxi

Beach

The beach is 10 min walk and you will be charged 3 euros for a bed.

A La carte

Only chance of good food is by booking the french,Greek,or italian, we went to the italian and the pizza you get would of been enough for the 5 of us there massive.

It's not a 5* hotel 3 at best,the cleaners are lazy and if you don't put your dirty towels in the bath they won't leave fresh ones for you and you have to go to the reception and ask for them. manager is a miserable git and needs to work on his people skills, Would i recommend this hotel to family & friends, yes if they were german or dutch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Having stayed here 3 x the first stay in 2007, the last very recently it has changed a great deal, there used to be on tap drinks now its table service and they are reluctant to re visit your table. I am not a booze hound but if you would like a drink alcoholic or otherwise they do make it rather frustrating to get one - an attempt to limit people I suspect. The hotel rooms and areas are lovely, very clean and well looked after. The spa can be expensive so consider checking out theie "menu" before booked a spa break here. I hope to go back and I do so hope it's back to 2007 standards of food, drink and service. Good for families, be cautious if you plan to go in Oct half term make sure all the kids activities and clubs have not closed as this was the case in Oct 2012.

Room Tip: The Vasia Palace rooms and self contained with own pools are far nicer, but pricier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Literally just returned from a week all inclusive holiday with a friend. We were wanting a relaxing, chill out holiday which is exactly what we got.

The hotel and location is beautiful, we were situated in the apartments right by the ocean, we had a small pool by the apartments, like having our own pool!! Good facilities.
Rooms spacious and cleaned daily with new towels each day. You can also have hotel towels for pool use.

Good food-choice and quality. Choice of drink's (as part of the all inclusive) I would say is poor (i.e. no milkshakes, cappuccino.) The alcohol was weak and the cola, sprite etc watered down. You don't wear a wristband, instead you show your room card when ordering a drink etc.

The harbour, which is only a short walk away has stunning views with plenty of lovely traditional greek shops, cafe/bars, taverna's which are very reasonably priced!

There is a little secluded beach (had to walk 20 minutes then climb rocks to get to) was lovely (although mainly pebbly not sand).

Staff, apart from the manager all very polite and friendly.

The little complaints my friend and I had were:

1) The All inclusive package ends 12 midday on departure day, so you have to pay 20 euros per person to extend it to midnight. My friend and I however did not do this out of principle, (paying for a 7 night all inclusive holiday and only getting 6!)

2) The Entertainment embarrassingly poor. NOTHING for english people. All aimed at Deutsch nationality. The entertainment looked very cheap! and very much down graded the hotel- 'Butlins' comes to mind!!

My friend and I did our own thing at night. I would highly recommend the 'Stefanos bar' adjacent to the hotel, as it is very good!! Excellent drinks, reasonably priced, great atmosphere. Friendly family run business. Very hospitable, friendly people!!
Malia is next village along, only 14 euros in a taxi, so you can party all night if wanted.

All in all, we had a lovely holiday and I would return again. I would say it is more suitable for couples.

Room Tip: ask for the apartments by the ocean. 'quiet, sea view'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Went here with my girlfriend as a budget get away. Cost about 440 each including flights and transfers. On the shuttle bus to the hotel we were terrified watching other people get off at grimy hotels but then we got to the vasia and we amazed. Beautiful hotel and room with sea view balcony. Beautiful sites to see near by helpful staff all inclusive resturant and bar were great. Great get away for us but I can't imagin it would be great for people my age (20) wanting to go clubbing as u would need a car to get to Malia

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just returned from the Vasia Beach & Spa and were extremely surprised at the quality of all aspects of our holiday, particularly considering the more than reasonable price paid. Sissi itself is very pretty, and an evenings meander through the restaurants, few bars and shops is very pleasant. The Hotel .. What can I say ? EXCELLENT !! Food, staff, cleanliness, entertainment.. Everything was superb.There are plenty of pools, so you can enjoy a lively day, or a very quiet and peacefully relaxing day. The restaurant is spacious and there was no waiting for a table. Food .. Fantastic !! The staff cannot do enough for you and the rooms are spacious and very clean. We met some friends there, and we all enjoyed our holiday immensely. There are buses (from directly outside the hotel) to Heraklion and Agious Nicholaus - and all points in between- that leave once a day, with a return trip later in the day. The only point I would make is that the word 'Beach' in the hotel title is a little misleading. There is no beach, you will have to take a taxi or hire a car or scooter to go to the nearest beach. The hotel's Clubs have entertainment every night and were very popular. All in all, a lovely place . The service and staff were perfect. Many thanks to the owners and staff at the Vasia Beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa

Address: Lasithiou, Sissi, Crete 72400, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Sissi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sissi
#2 Spa Hotel in Sissi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sissi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sissi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Vasia Beach Sissi
Vasia Beach Hotel Crete
Vasia Beach Spa
Vasia Hotel
Vasia Beach Crete
Hotel Aquis Vasia Beach
SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa Crete/Sissi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.