We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Maritimo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maritimo Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Maritimo Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Maritimo Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Sissi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tranent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hotel Maritimo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had 7 days in this hotel in June. I would not hesitate to recommend hotel. We had a great time and hope to return some day. Nice and clean, food was great and my husband is a very fuzzy eater but did not complain once which is saying something.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    95
    37
    13
    2
See reviews for
50
173
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We went to Maritimo Hotel last summer and it was great. The surroundings were great and the staff were AMAZING! However I went with my family and other than the pool, there wasnt really anything to do for my 14 year old son. At least a pool table or something would have been ideal. The location is amazing, right on the sea front.
Beware of the pool though, it's very deep, the deepest is 10 ft!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherland scotland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent 11 nights in this wonderful hotel. Our arriving flight was late evening and the hotel offered us a cold meal on arrival which was quite unexpected but much appreciated. All staff are really helpful. We looked forward to our regular "kalamera" from our cleaning lady who was lovely. She was always so cheery despite having to work in such heat. Our daughter celebrated her 8th birthday here and was presented with a cake and candle while 2 of the waitressing staff sang happy birthday! It was a really lovely gesture and it made our holiday. Katarina at the pool cafe is an absolute gem and is so motherly and great with kids. On one very hot day all the children were given a free ice cream courtesy of the hotel owners! Our room was in the middle of the complex which was fine as we had a roomy terrace area and it wasn't too far from the main hotel. Everything was very clean. Great breakfasts and evening meals. The only thing I would say is that it would have been nice to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room but there was a fridge. There's a well stocked supermarket very close at the top of the road so you can buy plenty bottled water. Also the air conditioning was a real winner. You have to vacate your room by 12 noon. Our flight didn't leave until 1pm so we got to enjoy the pool but opted to pay another 40 euros to keep our room (also included dinner) until our departure for the airport at 10pm. This is a really friendly hotel and we would definitely recommend this hotel. Hopefully we'll be back one day.

Room Tip: If you're after a good view ask for the sea views with balcony although they're probably mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed for a week from the 2nd of July and honestly do not have a bad word to say about this hotel. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The room was spotless clean and the bed was changed every day and clean towels were provided. We got a sunbed at the pool every day and we never got up extremely early to get them. There is a pool bar serving basic but nice food and at a reasonable price. We also paid for a safe for the week which only cost 24 euros and the air conditioning was free. Would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a peaceful relaxing holiday and will hopefully be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Two weeks now since our return from a wonderful week at the Maritmo. I've told everyone who'll listen what a good hotel this is and what a lovely place Sissi is. It was all myself and my friend had hoped for for our week on Crete.
We had a very comfortable and clean room with veranda overlooking the sea and the smaller pool (good for a quick dip to cool off), beautiful gardens with scented flowers to walk through on our way to the terraced restaurant, good food with lots of choice for breakfast and the buffet evening meals, the large pool to the front of the hotel was big enough for a proper swim and had lots of sunbeds surrounding it. The hotel is so close to the sea and the lovely harbour lagoon of Sissi with it's sandy beach and calm waters to swim in (and the best fresh orange juice in Sissi from the little bar run by the hardworking sunbed men). All the staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful.
We paid for late check out which was great as we didn't have to leave our room until 8.30pm for our 10pm transfer so were able to really enjoy a very relaxing last day . Also it is possible to hire beach/pool towels from the hotel, 4euros for the week and they can be changed if needed so no need to pack your own! We'll be back to stay again!

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for a sea view from your balcony or terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a fantastic time in Sissi made all the better by this beautiful hotel. The food was amazing and most of it was Greek which is exactly as it should be! My only critisism is that in the two weeks we were there we didnt have Moussaka - my favourite! The staff were very obliging, helpful and always smiling! My husband lost his phone at the start of the holiday and Artemis behind reception was amazing. She phoned the Police Station for us when we were struggling to be understood. Nothing was too much trouble for her. Our towels were changed every day and bed linen regularly. The fridge in the room was really quiet and tucked away behind a door in the dressing table. Air conditioning was in with the price of the holiday and we really needed it - especially at night. The harbour in Sissi was lovely with quite a few tavernas and bars along the waters edge - perfect! Worth hiring a car for a few days as Crete is a beautiful Island. We will definitely be visiting Sissi in the future and staying at this gorgeous hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is lovely for those who like hotels. It was out first time not in smaller family run apartments and we found it to be too big and less personal than what we were used to. Didn't really get to know any of the staff (other than Athena and Costas on the restaurant staff who were extremely helpful)... the food was good but after 8 ir 9 days we did tire a little of the "sameness" and the queueing for food...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritimo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritimo Beach Hotel

Address: Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Sissi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sissi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritimo Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Maritimo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritimo Beach Hotel Crete/Sissi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritimo Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.