We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, just not our thing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maritimo Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Maritimo Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Maritimo Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Sissi
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, just not our thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is lovely for those who like hotels. It was out first time not in smaller family run apartments and we found it to be too big and less personal than what we were used to. Didn't really get to know any of the staff (other than Athena and Costas on the restaurant staff who were extremely helpful)... the food was good but after 8 ir 9 days we did tire a little of the "sameness" and the queueing for food...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    95
    37
    12
    2
See reviews for
50
172
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

just back from another 2 week stay here, and booked for September............. was not disappointed at all it is still as friendly as our previous stays and Athena is still great with the morning coffee

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just returned from another two weeks at the Maritimo and we were not disappointed. Our eighth visit in four years with a ninth already booked in September. This Hotel seems to get better, friendly staff, very helpful and spotlessly clean. Anelika, George, Katerina and breakfast staff made us feel very welcome and they work non stop to make your stay enjoyable.
Can't wait to return. Well done guys.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic holiday in sissi staying at this gorgeous hotel. We arrived in the evening and were taken back by how gorgeous the hotel really was! i would have been happy sleeping on the couches in the entrance! The hotel itself was immaculate the room was perfect and the staff are a whole lot more than your jobs worth especially Katerina! The beach itself at the maritimo is not ideal. We rented a quad bike for 50 euros for 2 days and went to other beaches (20 minute walk) no problems with the quads or the staff. The pool was lovely and always clean! Im going to go again without a doubt!!

Room Tip: Rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I have just returned from 10 days in Sissi, staying at the Maritimo.

The hotel is fantastic - very clean, great pool, perfect location by the sea, with extremely helpful staff.

The resort as a whole is perfect for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here for 1 week and was very pleased with everything. The staff were very helpful and friendly - going above and beyond to help when the village cash machine swallowed my debit card. The houskeeping was excellent - clean and tidy! Great pools. The food wasn't bad either - it was hit and miss but for a buffet I was expecting much worse. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The village itself is a nice small place but has plenty of bars, shops and resturants.

A HUGE "Thank you" to everyone at the Hotel Maritimo :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks at the beginning of June - yes the staff are all very pleasant, the standard of cleanliness is second to none and the views if you're at the front of the hotel (which we were) provide ideal sunset watching with the sea only 30 metres away.
Ok here 'come the buts'
This hotel has over 200 rooms and is not family run! Unless you have a family the size of the Osmonds.
The hotel has expanded but the facilities haven't - we didn't get a sunbed by the main pool for the entire fortnight and some days struggled to get one at the kids pool - no more than 70 beds for 200 rooms - joke!
Our room although next to the sea was infested (if that's the word) with mosquitos - we were bitten at least 20 times each and then invested in every device, cream, pill and potion which all did little or no good. It was so bad that the room's terrace was out of bounds after dark - and yes they were there in daytime too - beware!
The food was varied but the breakfast selection was identical every day which did wear a little thin. The dinner was ok, edible but obviously made with cheap ingredients.
Wifi in the room would be good and a kettle even better
So all in all pretty average!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritimo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritimo Beach Hotel

Address: Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Sissi
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sissi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritimo Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Maritimo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritimo Beach Hotel Crete/Sissi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritimo Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.