We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off-peak friendliness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maritimo Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Maritimo Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Maritimo Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Sissi
Somerset, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Off-peak friendliness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here off-peak [May] and found it friendly, comfortable and convenient - not that Sissi is big enough to make anywhere very inconvenient. The only drawback might be that the pool area is on the small side and in high season could feel a bit tight. The pool itself, and indeed much of the hotel, sits close to the sea, though on a rocky coast. The town beach is close by and though there are sunbeds there, it's not what many would describe as a beach, though it does give access to safe sea as its within the harbour walls.
All the hotel staff were lovely, helpful, smiling - it makes a big difference. It certainly stopped us being grumpy when we found the 'sea-view' we'd paid extra for was only technically a view of the sea. Most of the view was the back of buildings. If you do pay for a sea view, a good tip is to check it out with the hotel by email first. If you want a view and sun as well, then be specific as some balconies on the lower floors were clearly in shade all day.
Sissi itself is a pleasant, small Greek town with quite a pretty harbour and some very good fish restaurants. There are a few music bars but mostly low-key - ideal for a chill-out holiday.
If you want to venture out your choices are limited if you choose not to drive because the bus service isn't great. Plenty of taxis, mostly newish Mercs. We pushed the boat out one day and hired a car and a to take us into the mountains, and it wasn't hugely more expensive than two tickets on a coach tour that did the dame but without the freedom to choose where you go and for how long. The Happy Train does do a pleasant half-day trip to Milatos, a seaside village the other side of the mountain from SIssi. Have a look in the tiny but delightful church then choose one of the tavernas right on the sea and try the fresh sardines. We could have stayed there all day.
Hotel Maritimo was comfortable, served a decent breakfast and had reasonably good free wifi in the reception area [very spacious, clean, good sofas, bar etc]. It's slightly more geared to German visitors but there were several nationalities there, including Brits.
Overall, for the money we paid we got good value, sunshine and a genuine break.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    95
    37
    12
    2
See reviews for
50
172
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to the delightful resort of Sissi. Our hotel this time was the Maritimo which is located a 10 minute stroll from the harbour and resort centre. We were pleased with everything about our stay. Our room was a superior room and was very comfortable with a view of the gardens and a slight view of the sea. NB there are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The room was spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel. The pool and surrounding area was also very pleasant. We were half board and enjoyed the usual buffet style breakfast and evening meal you get on this basis. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely return to the Maritimo Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a superior/deluxe room. Ours was very modern, although another couple we met had a si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just returned from 11 nights in this hotel, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel is on the edge of the village of Sissi, which is small, but offers all the shops, bars and restaurants you need without being dominated by them. The hotel is quiet and relaxing but beware this is not a beach hotel - there is no beach to speak of in Sissi (just a tiny area which is more dirt than sand on the harbour). The shore here is rock strewn and you cannot easily swim from it, and if you want a hotel with or next to a beach it is not for you. There are good beaches nearby, but you will need a car, or to use the local bus to get there.

Our room was a "superior" room, and had a fantastic sea view, with the sea being no more than 20 yards from our window. The room was spotlessly clean, as was the entire hotel, and had everything you need. It wasn't plush, but was comfortable. Every room seems to have a private balcony or patio, and ours was delightful. The hotel is built in small blocks around pretty gardens, and there are two pools, the main one in the photos on this site, which is banana shaped about 25 metres end to end, and with a minimum depth of 1.5 metres, the average being well over 2 metres. Surrounded by sunbeds, and with a bar that serves snacks. Not heated, but not cold and very refreshing. The other is about 8 metres square and is a children's pool, again with sunbeds.

I have seen a number of moans about food on these pages. I cannot agree, Breakfast and evening meal are self service, and in the evening, there was usually a wide range of salads, soup, about 5 main courses per day, always including one Greek speciality and a pasta and sauce, chips, other potatoes and vegetables. There is always one, sometimes two puddings, fruit and ice cream. So yes, there was tripe in sauce one day, but there were plenty of other choices. All the meals were tasty. Breakfast include cereal, fruit, bread, usually cooked eggs as well as continental.

I must also say that the staff were universally friendly, helpful and efficient - a really big part of this hotel.

But my favorite place in the hotel was the main bar next to reception and the dining room, with a balcony looking onto the pool. It is the wifi hot spot in the hotel (not available in rooms), light and airy with comfortable sofas and a fantastic barman. It was pretty full most evenings we were there, and a very relaxing and enjoyable space it was.

We really enjoyed the Maritimo Hotel and Sissi. It was a good base for exploring the East end of Crete, and would heartily recommend the Maritimo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just returned from a 11 day holiday having stayed at this family run hotel. The room, with balcony, overlooking the sea not 50 yards away, was spacious and kept clean and tidy throughout our visit. Food was delicious and there was plenty of choice both at breakfast and dinner. All the staff were most friendly and more than helpful resulting in a happy atmosphere. Any minor issues were attended to promptly making our stay very enjoyable and relaxing.
We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. John B

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

A lovely hotel, such friendly staff, a lovely room, very clean with a good pool in a super location. Had read some reviews before we went there and OK in some instances the method for keeping food piping hot could have been improved but did not detract from the total holiday experience.
The location of this family owned hotel is very good within this quiet region, a super place to go to if you want the relaxation that we craved.
Have just returned from there and would go again.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are great, even have a fridge, but some do not have the sea views that might be needed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stocksbridge
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Maritimo Beach Hotel from 3rd May to 17th May 2013. We were given what must have been one of the best rooms in the hotel, room number 705. We could hear the waves breaking on the shore which was 25 yards from our balcony. The room was spacious and had everything that we needed. It was spotless and well maintaned as was all the rest of the hotel. The staff were delightful at all times.
Along with our tickets was a breakdown of the costs. this showed that the hotel received £56 for our 14 night stay for each of us. (less than four times the £15 that Thomas Cook charged us to sit together on the aircraft) . How can the hotelier provide three star food on such payment?
We are in our late seventies. We lived through the second world war and the difficult years after it. We are not fussy eaters. We do not expect fillet steak or lobster. However we felt depressed and let down at every dinner. On the first Tuesday the chef excelled himself by serving for the hot, well luke warm choice , fish fingers, sphagetti with sausage sauce (leftovers from breakfast ?) or fatty streaky belly pork. Another day we were offered chicken wings, octopus rings or belly pork again. Another highlight was tiny sprats in batter. Salads were always available but they mostly consisted of stalky red cabbage. Mayonaise was not provided.
One of the pleasures of a holiday should be good food. That was a pleasure we missed at Maritimo Beach Hotel.
We made a complaint to the Cooks representative and were contacted by the Hotel Receptionist. A specialy prepared meal was made for my wife but no improvement to the food generaly was noted.
My wife and I have taken many holidays in Greece and have enjoyed the food we were offered. We trusted Thomas Cook to provide us with a three star holiday for which we paid £1,240 . We feel let down and never again will we use Thomas Cook. Euan & Shirley.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just come back from Crete holiday.

This family run hotel had visually pleasant white washed apartments fronted by a swimming pool on sea -side. Its layout was interesting with well kept small gardens with palms, fruit tress and flowers interspersed between the varied blocks. The staff were always friendly, relaxed and helpful. Our room was of adequate size with good facilities was cleaned and refreshed daily. We were well supported on arrival and departure.

Having made these general points, I would add that care should be taken when upgrading to sea-view room at extra cost. In our case sea-view meant in the direction of the sea and it was only visible when standing with 10% of sea horizon showing. The remainder of the view was blocked by other apartment directly in front and to the right with a big tree centrally.

Breakfast buffet was disappointingly the same everyday with poor quality processed type continental food. Heated tinned small sausages and scrambled egg was bland and nearly cold. I suggest you stick to the cereals, bread and limited fruits.

Dinner buffet on the other hand was variable and new everyday with a great variety of traditional and other european cuisine courses of salads and mains. Typically you could choose up to 4 options of main course. Rather nice they were. Just a pity that again dishes were not kept hot. Take care though, drinks are not included and are not cheap. They can put significant cost to the bill on departure. Artur

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritimo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritimo Beach Hotel

Address: Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Sissi
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sissi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritimo Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Maritimo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritimo Beach Hotel Crete/Sissi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritimo Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.