We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maritimo Beach Hotel, Sissi, Crete.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maritimo Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maritimo Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Maritimo Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Sissi
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Maritimo Beach Hotel, Sissi, Crete.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have just returned from our second holiday at the Maritimo, another fantastic 14 days. Last year was brilliant and this year was unbelieveable too.
From walking into reception on our first night we felt completely relaxed and at home and this feeling continued throughout the whole 14 days of our holiday, thanks to the warm and friendly atmosphere created by all the staff.
Every staff member has a kind and caring attitude towards the guests to such a point that we felt like part of the 'Family'.... congratulations to all involved because as far as we are concerned, what ever they are doing they are doing it exceptionally well. All the staff we met last year remembered us this year, it was like a big happy reunion.
Being within a few minutes walking distance of a rocky foreshore or if preffered a small sandy beach with easy access to the sea... the choice is yours.
A few more minutes walk around the small harbour brings you to Sissi itself with shops, bars and restaurants, the ones we visited were excellent.
Sissi by day or by night has a wonderful relaxing atmosphere as does the Maritimo Beach Hotel. We are certainly booking for next year making it 3 years running at this hotel. (Can't wait).
Thanks once again to all.
Smiley faces always.
Graham & Maureen.

Room Tip: Request high balcony with pool or sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    95
    37
    12
    2
See reviews for
50
172
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Last year we had such an enjoyable and relaxing holiday that that we booked again for this year.
We were not disappointed, in fact we had an even more relaxing holiday. It's easy to see why so many people return to this hotel. The staff are so friendly and obliging. We arrived late in the evening and were given beautifully prepared salads before being shown to our room. Our room had the same fantastic view as last year, overlooking the sea. It was kept spotlessly clean all week. The food never disappointed and the restaurant staff never failed to impress. They were all friendly and attentive, particularly Athena. The hotel grounds had pathways between beautifully kept borders full of colourful plants, shrubs and trees. A credit to the gardener. The perfect start to the day was breakfast on the terrace with a sea view. During the day there are ample choices of places to go, whether it's beaches, historical sites, city shops, or walks with the obligatory taverna stop. In the evening there is an equally ample choice. There are excellent restaurants if you fancy a change from the hotel, and many bars. Our favourite bar ( and several other reviewers ) was Hemingways. Many hours were spent there listening to Alan's excellent choice of music, collected over a lifetime, whilst we drank and chatted the night away. It was always the perfect end to a perfect day. Yes, a brilliant holiday that we hope to repeat again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view with a balcony. On many you can watch the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Maritimo Beach/Maritimo Beach Hotel,Sisi,Crete (check both out on Trip Advisor=same Hotel)Stayed Sept 2012.I would certainly agree with the majority of previous reviewers on this Hotel,overall, it is very good.The Hotel is situated on a rocky foreshore,5-10 minutes walk from the lovely Villiage of Sissi.The Villiage has a small harbour,one side of which is lined with some nice restraunts.
The Hotel is one of the cleanest that I have stayed at and the staff are very friendly and welcoming,especially Katerina in the poolside bar,a lovely person.The guests are mixed nationalities,mostly British German and Eastern European.the Main Pool is saltwater,very clean and is surrounded by plentiful Sunbeds,which are very basic(Possibly these should be upgraded, Hotel ,if you read this ,please consider doing that).Guests start to place towels from about 7.30 ,which during High Season may cause a problem,though being there in early September,not so.Our room was ground floor,with terrace,free aircon,facing the Sea and except for the for the hard matress and pillows,was very good(my wife might add snoring in to the downside as well but I never heard it!)
The only real downside is the food selection and serving location.I feel improvements must be made here to be able to give this Hotel a better grading and would benefit the Hotel greatly.Inevitably the Breakfast was Continental with a token hot selection.The former being the usual Cheese,Hams,rolls,Tomatoes with cereal,toast and juice(not fresh)The latter was usually tiny (hot dog) sausages,Boiled Eggs,an omellette type of thing (best I can describe it),Baked Beans, twice and bacon bites,once with a daily Potato type of concoction and something that was covered in sugar.(Full English if you require it are available in Sissi,after 10am)
The Evening meal usually consisted of 2 types of Pasta dishes,2 or 3 meat dishes,a Vegetable dish,Soup,Salads and 2 types of pudding.(earlier this Year I stayed at a Hotel in the Cape Verde Islands,where as a comparison,there were at least 12 selections of pudding,Full Board).Possibly the small selection is related to the small hot plate self service area.IT NEEDS TO BE AT LEAST AS TWICE AS LARGE AS IT IS NOW.Though we stayed 1/2 board,the selection in the evenings was so poor,that on 6 out of 11 nights,we decided to eat out.Possibly the small selection is related to the small hot plate self service area.It needs to be ,at least,twice as large as it is now.Guests are in a Bottlekneck,as some try to serve themselves,others are trying to see what the selection is and Staff are trying to see if any more food needs to come out.Tempers can get frayed.I would also agree with another reviewer,what is the problem with tea spoons?.Most mornings,we had to beg a staff member for one.(on the final morning,she had them in the pocket of her overall)the only other option was to stir your coffee/tea with your knife or fork handle.
One other point I would mention,if you are seeking toilets in the Reception/Bar/Pool/Dining Room area,they are down a flight of stairs opposite the indoor entrance to the Dinning Room!!Signs are not available in your holiday package it seems.(For 3 days ,we went back to our room)
Overall though,this is a very good place to stay if you are visiting Crete.Except for the Pool,it does not have facilities that would appeal to young children,it is more for young couples,elderly,those wanting a chilled break etc.From our overall point of view,in our fit 60's,we would return if we survive our next 3 years of pre-planned Holidays with Family and Friends in other parts of the World.Overall ,well done Maritimo.

Room Tip: We were in room 701,bottom floor,closest to the sea.(The only downside was that on the walkway next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have been to this hotel ( also referred to as The Hotel Maritimo ) 7 times in the last three years. This time on our honeymoon. We were met by the friendly staff who had put champagne and fruit in our room which is a lovely gesture. This Hotel gets better each time we go there, and we will return next June. This is a spotlessly clean hotel and our room and bedding changed each and every day by the friendly and very efficient cleaning ladies. I can't fault this Hotel particularly George, the very lovely Angelica, and Anna and Athena in the restaurant where coffee was plentiful. The Pool bar is run by Katerina who fully understands my dislike of salad !
The Pool itself is just perfect.
I thoroughly recommend this Hotel, the gardens are well looked after and it's such a pleasure going there each year and we can't wait to return in 2013

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

just had to write and say what a fabulous stay we had at the maritimo hotel it was spotless set in lovely gardens with two pools .ouy room overlooked the sea with a private balcony ask for room 705 the best.our room was well equiped ,air conditioned and comfy beds.the food i the restaurant was excellent with a wide variety of local dishes. All the staff were very helpful and friendly especially Kristina and anna . Sissi is a small resort with its lovley small harbour and a large selection of tavernas and bars .if you are looking for a relaxing quiet holiday this is the ideal place to go,we will be returning.

Room Tip: ask for room on higher level with sea view. room 705
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Arrived very early in the morning to be greeted by a young man on reception. He was very welcoming and showed us straight to our room and offered us a cold buffet which we gladly accepted. The room we had was a sea view overlooking the main swimming pool and the balcony was shared with another couple of rooms. The decor was a little dated but the room was very clean and had everything we expected. The hotel is very clean and set in a good position, virtually on the coast line. The main pool was clean and the snack bar provided a variety of snacks and drinks. The restaurant was clean and tidy and the waiting staff were very efficient. The breakfasts were mainly of continental style (fruits, yoghurt, dough balls, pastries,etc) and there was no English style breakfast available (unless scrambled egg and sausage could be classed as English breakfast) but this was not an issue to me and I enjoyed the change. Evening meals were what I would describe as adequate. The choice was a little limited and usually consisted of a couple of meat dishes, a fish dish and a vegetarian dish. There were usually a couple of pasta dishes and a variety of cold meats and salads. Desserts were a little disappointing as I would have preffered to have had more of the local pastry dishes that are soaked in syrup rather than jellies, cakes and ice creams. All were adequate although my wife said that many of the dishes were too salty in taste for her palate. On the whole we had a very pleasant holiday and would recommend the hotel but next time I may just go Bed and Breakfast as the meals in the surrounding tavernas were invariably better in quality and taste.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I have just spent a week at the Maritimo...we never go back to where we've been... This is the exception...we WILL go back to the Maritimo... The staff were superb...so amiable...nothing was too much trouble...on any level....Spotlessly clean, we just loved it...
Katerina,Nico, too many to name...but not forget...
A 5 minute walk to town...everything you need close by....
The pools so clean....The rooms cleaned daily... truly...just a pleasure... the worst part of our holiday.....leaving our new found family... :)
See you soon Maritimo....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritimo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritimo Beach Hotel

Address: Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Sissi
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sissi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritimo Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Maritimo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritimo Beach Hotel Crete/Sissi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritimo Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.