We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only 2 star unless you get a refurbished room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castello Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Castello Village Resort to your Saves list
Castello Village Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Papatheodorou, Sissi, Crete 72400, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Sissi
Kent, UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Only 2 star unless you get a refurbished room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed a week at this hotel from 11 September 2012. We reached the hotel in the early morning, the night person on duty showed us to our room. We could not believe how poor the room was. When we booked we were lead to believe it was a 4 star and had A/C, but this first room smelled, the a/c did not work, had mold in the shower room, it had a really tired look about it, it had 2 single beds and the room was not even 2 star. We complained as soon as soon the manager came on duty. Luckily for us one of the newly refurbished rooms became available that morning and we were moved into that, which was acceptable. Otherwise our holiday would have been ruined. All the rooms only have single beds which can be pushed together to form a double bed, even then they slide all over the place. The reception staff also said that the a/c was not included was really annoying, especially at time of booking I double checked to ensure that a/c was included. I had to insist to the manager that I had paid for it and must have the a/c.The service was generally good, the restaurant staff are helpful and there is plenty of choice for vegetarians although the food is nothing special. The juices at breakfast are watered down!

Room Tip: Rooms: Gave 2 star because of the first room, if you are fortunate enough to have one of the newly r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    71
    30
    16
    10
See reviews for
59
79
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We booked the hotel as a late deal and it was really good value for money. We had to pay to upgrade the room as the studio we were given was in a dreadful position and we ended up with a large room with seperate bedroom and large balcony. The kitchen facilities are basic and we didnt use them but we had a fridge which was handy. The rooms were clean and serviced daily. The food was good and the selection was plentiful. The staff were so helpful and friendly and really made the effort to make our holiday enjoyable. The beach is a short walk away and was a small cove which was lovely. A few shops and restaurants about a minute walk away and a supermarket opposite the hotel. all in all we had a quiet relaxing holiday which is what we wanted, if you want a lively holiday I wouldnt choose Sissi as a resort.

Room Tip: do not book a studio. we paid to upgrade to a sea view apartment on arrival at the cost of 120 euros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We've selected this hotel because of description on their web-site and quite positive reviews on tripadvisor. We arrived late night and receptionist gave us a key and showed our room to us. Room was very small and was located just 10 meters from the road so every car or motorcycle produced terrible noise in the room so sleeping wasn't very peaceful. Bathroom door was also very strange. It was made of glass with significant slit between glass and door box and there was no lock in that door.
In the morning I asked for another room and they gave it to me in a couple hours. Thanks for that :). Other room was much bigger but still far from what I've seen on pictures. I've been in many four stars hotels before and all of them had much better rooms than Castello
Breakfast and dinners had plenty of different types of food and it was quite tasty but at dinner you should pay for all drinks including water, tea or juice. Sounds unfair to me counting I paid about 25 euro for dinner
Hotel web site says "There is a beautiful secluded sandy beach just a short walk (350m) from the resort." This is not true! You have to walk about 20 minutes to get to that sandy beach. There is other beach with pebbles 10 minutes away from the hotel but it is still far from comfortable beach with huge stones in water.
Almost the only thing I liked there is the hotel staff which was respectful, attentive and kind all the time of our staying

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geldrop, The Netherlands
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We've been at Castello from 31/05 till 07/06 and we had a great time. When we arrived at 9 o'clock pm, we were kindly received and we could eat something in the restaurant. The food was okay. It wasn't very special, but you can't expect that from some hotel as Castello Village. The service is good and the staff is very friendly. In particular Korina and Angelos, the barkeepers from poolbar Alexandros. We had a very good time with them. We stayed only one week, but there's a lot you can do at Crete. The only bad thing was the room. We booked a studio and that room was very old. But we enjoyed our stay at Castello very much!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We booked online and paid for halfboard. I really enjoyed my 4 days at this hotel. The food is wonderful and fresh. The wait staff is the best. I love the buffets both morning and evening. I like that I had so many healthy foods to choose from. The location is perfect with spectacular snorkeling opportunities.

The pool is nice and drinks are very reasonable in price. Our room overlooked the ocean with a large balcony. The bed was compfy and the flat screen TV had both Greek and English channels. The maid came every day to make our bed and tidy up.

The town of Sissi is very small and quiet not to mention beautiful and charming.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Well just returned from an absolutely fantastic holiday at this hotel.

We were given the best room in the hotel booked directly with them and requested that specific room. Could not fault it one bit. Air con unit in each room two large bedrooms and one large living room, small cooking area and bathroom was a nice size.

The staff were as friendly as ever and I must admit the new chef is great the food has improved ten fold not that it wasnt good before it just means you end up eating more than you normally would be warned you'l need to diet when you get home.

I really cannot fault any of the staff at the hotel from the Manager Nikos down to the Handyman Malcolm, the barstaff Kostas, Agellos, and restuarant staff Ervis and the rest of the clan are so friendly and are only too happy to help you out if you need any assistance. No mater how small dont be afraid to ask.

We attended the International night since we do the Creatian night every year we go and I must admit I really enjoyed it they had a band on who played everything from Creatian/Greek music to 70's 80's and 90's also for one couple who loved to waltz they even played the Viennese Waltz so as you can see they cater for everyone. Along with the band they had a Belly Dancer who was excellent.

There is something different entertainment wise each night at the hotel and for all you footie fans they have a big screen at the bottom bar which has most of the football on during the season.
Each year there appears to be something different at the hotel which isnt a bad thing. The only complaint my husband had was that they did not sell John Smith's Bitter but following a conversation with the Manager prior to leaving we have been assured that it was be on the menu next year.

The Animation staff were great this year and the children really enjoyed themselves with the Volleyball, Waterpolo, pool, darts etc plenty to keep them occupied. They also operate a Mini Club for the toddlers in a fully airconditioned room.

The hotel offers full internet access at the cost of 1 euro for 16 minutes.

I have uploaded pictures of the hotel and staff feel free to have a look.

I really have no fault with Sissi either it is such a nice village but each year we return there seems to be another restaurant or bar that has opened.

We tend to spend a few nights in the Jolly Roger (the English Pub next door) but this is for the Bitter more than anything. Danielle and Dave are great and the English breakies are second to none. Dont worry if you dont get up for breakfast at the hotel if your hungover Danielle will do a take out which I used regularly this year lol. They have quiz nights and live music on and its the hub of all the ex pats so plenty english to speak to.

Well I'll be back at the hotel this year for another fortnight which will be our 9th year running in this hotel really cannot fault the hotel in any way.

We booked hotel through Olympic and the flights with Jet2.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from another wonderful holiday in Sissi, Crete. We have stayed at the Castello Village Hotel in Sissi 8 times now. We love the warm and welcoming atmosphere. All the staff is always friendly and very helpful. We have stayed in a variety of rooms and have either enjoyed breathtaking sea/mountain views or overlooked the garden areas. The hotel has a pool bar called "Alexandros" which is our favourite. Angelloss and Korina are great at making sure you have a good time! The buffet restaurant offers a variety of tasty dishes and the Cretan evening for which a buffet is put on around one of the two swimming pools is not to be missed! We love coming back to Castello every year and can't wait until 2012!

Room Tip: Due to the lay out of the hotel and many stairs it may be a problem for disabled people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castello Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Village Resort

Address: Papatheodorou, Sissi, Crete 72400, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Sissi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sissi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castello Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque seaside village of Sissi, Castello Village is a bungalow-apartment complex, built around a series of pools and bars. The buildings are laid out like a village, with each studio and apartment self-contained for privacy and comfort. Constructed in a traditional Cretan style, the resort has colourful buildings, abundant gardens, sundrenched terraces, panoramic sea views, and an imposing mountain backdrop.The resort is famous for its friendly, attentive staff, who are always on hand to meet guests' needs and make sure they enjoy their stay. It is a family hotel, where your children can enjoy every minute of their holidays, in a safe environment, attended by qualified staff.With delicious food, a warm, relaxed atmosphere, and a day-and-night programme of activities and entertainment, Castello Village is the perfect destination for a relaxing family vacation or a romantic holiday.Yet the resort is only a few steps away from the centre of the lively village of Sissi, with its numerous bars, coffee shops, tavernas, restaurants, souvenir shops, and boutiques.With personal service from a modern management team and fully trained staff, guests can be assured of the highest standards of comfort, relaxation, and enjoyment at this popular holiday destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Castello Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Village Sissi
Castello Village Resort Crete/Sissi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.