We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was once beautiful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mia Hara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mia Hara to your Saves list
Mia Hara
Sissi | Lassithi, Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Sissi
birmingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Was once beautiful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

As a child I went to Mia Hara several times and it was fantastic. Beautiful area, lovely staff, Nik and his wife Liz and her nephew Alex. However, after visiting for several years frequently we stopped visiting, Liz sadly passed away and after that the hotel changed. Nik lost interest in his customers and it seems as though he has given up.

Very sad to hear it still has not been rectified in the last 5 years.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    0
    1
    7
See reviews for
7
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Following my earlier stay this year, i went back to Sisi in Crete and split my stay between my two favourite Hotels.

Mia Hara was perfect and tranquil as usual, no sound of traffic, just the trickle of the waterfall between the child`s pool and the main pool. Nick was as usual the perfect host and as helpful as ever suggesting new and interesting places to visit around the island.

This visit was in July and the Apartments were very quiet and perfect. It is worth visiting just for the sunset from the balcony alone!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

I have stayed at the Mia Hara a number of times.

The hotel is out of the main village of Sissi, about a 15 minute walk. We tend to use the beach of the hotel next door, Kalamera Kriti, as it is man made and sandy, unlike the gravelly beaches in the actual village.

What brings us back to the Mia Hara is how peaceful it is. The grounds are beautifully cared for and have wonderful flowers and lemon trees around a grass lawn, which is around the pool. very rare to find this sort of vegetation at a Greek Hotel. The room we used had a huge balcony at the back overlooking the mountain behind, and a smaller balcony at the front which,because of the Mia Hara`s position gives a view over the sea and a wonderful view of the sunset. Our room had one large main bedroom and another large room containing the Kitchen area with essential self catering facilities,two single beds, which look like they can also be used as couches if not being used. The apartment was clean and spacious and as anyone who has stayed in a Greek hotel knows, they are generally very basic, white walls, bed, drawers,wardrobe. We had some great touches in our room, for example a goat skin on one wall, and some beautiful pictures.

The hotel was not very busy when we were there, but this was perfect as we could just lay by the pool on the standard plastic sunbeds, with only the sound of the water trickling out of the child`s pool down a waterfall into the main pool...no screaming children, no noisy roads, no music, just peace

The building itself looks great with the terracotta roof tiles, and I think these really make it stand out from the normal square flat roofed Greek apartment buildings you normally find.

If I was to be picky the door frames and window frames could have done with staining again but other than that the hotel was lovely.

Nick greeted us on arrival, and showed us to our room, he could not do enough for us and even gave us lifts into the village, an absolutely lovely man, he really made us feel welcome, especially as he pretty much runs the hotel single handed.

The Mia Hara is a lovely place, especially if you want to rest and relax. If you want a holiday with drinking games and loud entertainment and discos or want a tv in your room with all the mod cons of a Spanish hotel this is definitely NOT the place for you.........or the village for you, but if you want a proper Greek Holiday, to lay in the sun, in the quiet, and have a nice walk into the village/sit on your balcony to have a nice glass of wine and watch a stunning sunset, this is the place for you.

We will definitely be going again this year

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Don't go !! Awful place. Really is. Very tired and dilapidated - thought is was closed down when we first arrived. Don’t know where the three stars are issued but someone has got it very wrong. Seems as though is was ok in the 70s but is in serious need of TOTAL refurbishment. Needs a complete overhaul. No 'usual' facilities on site, not even food/snacks available. 'Reception' was permanently closed off and had old, dated furniture stacked therein. Pool is large and seemed clean but had numerous tiles missing from the walls and overflows which left sharp edges when holding onto sides when in water etc. Pool filter spent most of the time on the poolside rather than in the water !! Poolside furniture was old, tatty and broken. Room wasn't prepared fully on arrival. Previous occupants' leftover food in fridge as well as their underwear left in bedroom drawers - obviously not thoroughly 'serviced' by cleaning staff. Plugholes in floor of wetroom/bathroom were clogged with hair and other unknowns which stopped water draining properly - had to clean it myself to enable proper usage. Kitchen area had old and less than minimal cutlery and crockery, some of which was plastic camping type. Also had to fully clean all equipment before we could use it as all were dirty and seemed to have a film of grease on. We specifically asked for a non-smoking room but interior was dingy and nicotine coated - not pleasant.We had three grown-up children staying in other accommodation in nearby Malia for full two weeks we were here. During holiday one had a 21st birthday and one had an 18th. As would be expected, they visited during daytime and sat with us by pool and in room. Owner very aggressive and demanded they should leave as they were not allowed on site, couldn't use the facilities (toilets etc !!!) and had no right to use showers or any electricity for hair driers etc. Apparently we were breaking international law by allowing our daughters to be there and celebrate with us. We needed to point out that bare wires on bedside lights and no batteries in internal smoke alarms was probably more akin to breaking international law. His belligerent manner totally spoiled a holiday that could have been salvaged to a certain extent. A very ignorant man who needs some lessons in manners and 'customer-awareness'. This holiday was supposed to help my wife relax and recuperate from cancer treatment and associated treatments. Nothing further from the truth. Wouldn't go back, wouldn't recommend in any way, shape or form. Our experience here has been the worst ever in many years of travelling and holidaying. DON'T GO. YOU'LL BE SORRY IF YOU DO !!!!!

Accommodation is a good two to three miles out of Sissi and has absolutely no facilities nor shop essentials on site. Unless you hire a vehicle, you're stuck in the middle of nowhere with no recourse for shopping, other than a very debilitating walk in high temperatures!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We arrived at the Mia Hara at 6 o'clock in the morning - no-one was about, it was very quiet & everything was locked. Eventually, wandering around, we found our way into the site and sat by the pool wondering what to do. Eventually we started knocking on doors, and Nick, the owner, appeared. He provided our key and suggested we catch up on our sleep before the day began.

We woke to a beautiful Cretan day and begin to explore.

The site is quiet, and as the brochure says has 'a friendly and relaxing atmosphere and is set in attractive, tastefully landscaped grounds with terraced walkways, lawns, mature and colourful gardens with two swimming pools'. The gardens are very well kept – lush & full of flowering plants; the pool is clean; some tiles are missing but the pool area is tidy and sunbeds & parasols are readily available;

The negative, and rather sad aspect to the site is that there is a large bbq area & pizza oven which is never used; there is a bar by the pool bar which again is never used; the changing rooms are closed; The 'Sunset Restaurant', which has a fine view to the west, right over the bay into the setting sun is closed. The site has a lot of facilities which are no longer used.

Let’s be clear. The website says:
* Reception (offering a comprehensive range of services)
Actually, apart from the desk, there is very little in ‘reception'. Certainly no people.
* T.V. (with satellite T.V.)
It may be there, but it is not used
* Lounge bar and pool bar (serving daytime snacks)
It’s there, but it does not serve any food (Nick says there is no demand). Nick is pleasant and approachable (he has a splendid black Labrador who roams around the site making friends), and he will provide drinks if you go and find him to ask - typically water at 1€ for 50 cl, beer, coffee at 6€for a weak two cup cafetiere, or 2 cokes and a small carafe of wine 15€. All ridiculously expensive but then you are poolside and 25 minutes from the next shop.
* Restaurant with tables overlooking the swimming pools or with a panoramic view of the coastline and Sisi village
It’s there, but it is closed.
* Mini-market including books, newspapers, magazines and postcards
Again it’s there, but there is very little to buy & no-one in the shop. Nick runs the site on his own apart from a couple of cleaning & gardening staff
* Covered outdoor area with pool table and football table. Also available are backgammon, dominoes, chess, playing cards, etc.
Yes!
* Children's play area with swings, seesaws and slide.
Yes!
* Cretan evenings, barbecues, quiz nights and pool competitions are held on a regular basis.
Remember, ‘regular’ does not mean ‘frequent’. Halley’s Comet is ‘regular’.

Accommodation is typically basic but generally OK. Strangely, I was first in Greece some 25 years ago and the accommodation was much the same – how times change. The apartment was cleaned once during our 1 week stay, which was fine. Kitchenette poorly equipped; no sharp knives; old, small fridge, very old kettle; maybe I shouldn’t complain - some apartments had no kettle.

We had two balconies, looking over the gardens and plenty of space for 3. Typical plastic furniture of the cheap garden centre variety. You had to pay an additional fee for the air conditioning (at 8€/day) and for the safety deposit box (at 15€/week).

Let’s go outside.

There are few people at this end of Sisi – you are not far from either Malia or Agios Nikolaos, but the only sounds you will hear in the evening are the cicadas. There may be plenty of bars and the odd club in Sisi town but you won’t hear them or anything else at the Mia Hara.

The Mia Hara is about 1km from town – a 25 minute walk along a hilly unlit road or coastal path - not for the unfit. Taxis from town are fixed price at 6€. Sisi is a typical Cretan small town, packed with bars and restaurants of varying quality. We enjoyed Hemingway's bar, the Aura restaurant and the quayside restaurant. The harbour is well known and very picturesque. There are several supermarkets dotted around the town.

3 beaches are accessible from Mia Hara. Avlaki is a pebble beach, directly open to sea, no facilities at all. Avlaki is about 300 m from Mia Hara. Boufos is a pebble/sand beach, open to sea, with a bar. This has drinks at town prices, is good value and serves sandwiches & hot dogs. This is about 500 m from Mia Hara, again along the hilly road into town.

When we were there, mid August, the wind blowing off the sea was churning up a fair swell. Getting into the water was a bit hazardous.

The main sandy beach is less obvious. The large Kalimera Kriti holiday village occupies a large coastal area adjacent to the Mia Hara. Whilst the beach is public, access through the holiday village is prevented by a security guard. The solution to this is to approach the Kalimera Kriti beach over the rocks from Avlaki (about 10 mins from the Mia Hara) or (as advised by Nick) around the perimeter of the Kalimera Kriti village along a dirt road (again about 10 mins from the Mia Hara).

The Kalimera Kriti is a complex of several beaches, one of which is sheltered behind a cob and provides a large sandy area up to about 6 feet deep, perfect for swimming. Other areas are exposed to the sea, are more rocky and provide some snorkelling.

The message here is this.

Don’t go to the Mia Hara expecting the facilities that are described, they are not there. You get basic, clean accommodation in a very quiet part of Crete. I found Nick easy to get along with - others didn't.

Don’t go, expecting to find a sandy beach 300 m from your doorstep. The beaches are a mixed bag and a bit of a walk.

Don’t go, expecting to find bars, restaurants and shops next door. Town is a good walk away and there is NOTHING available locally, especially after hours. Don’t arrive after a long trip expecting to be fed.

Expect to walk; take some food and water with you when you arrive and a few good books, and you can have an enjoyable break in peace and quiet.

And if Nick Terzakis ever reads this – you’ve built a lovely place – provide your guests with a few basics – water, bread, fruit when they arrive; tell them where all the best places are; maybe even run a car or MPV into town each day, so that they can get some provisions, and maybe your guests will come back for a second visit more often.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Mia hara totally lacks the personal touch. No one welcomes you on arrival, infact you can't even use the front entrance as it is always locked! The owner simply does not care how you feel and makes no effort to make your stay a pleasant one. Although the grouds are pretty, there are no facilities at all! Not the pool side restaurant as promised, or the snack bar, or the BBQ or the shop. The sunbeds have cracks, there are loose tiles around the pool and parasoles with rips in. The nearest supermarket is a hilly 25min walk, as is the beach. The village of Sissi is absolutely lovely, so definately go and visit, but trust me...do not stay at Mia Hara!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Gardens well maintained and pool area spotless .A very relaxed area, unfortunately, buildings are in bad need of repair and paint. 1.3km from Sisi harbour, up and down hills 22 min walk. Two beaches on the way. Restaurant, snack bar and bar not opened. Weekly bbq non existant. Supermarket - a shelf of footballs and 6 large bottles of water. Towels changed once and apartment never cleaned, had to empty our own rubbish. The Mia Hara website needs badly updated! The owner Nick a very nice person if approached with caution. Drinks are available at an extortionate price if you waken the owner at his house! Be prepared to be lonely. Taxi 6 euro to resort.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mia Hara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mia Hara

Address: Sissi | Lassithi, Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Sissi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Sissi
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Mia Hara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mia Hara Crete/Sissi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mia Hara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.