We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hemingway.......a fab bar................. sunsets to die for.............................” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hemingway

The Hemingway
Main St, Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 things to do in Sissi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“hemingway.......a fab bar................. sunsets to die for.............................”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

this is the same bar as the Hemingway bar, fab music as always, on a Sunday late afternoon listening to a band called crisis (they are a brill trio from England) with a glass of wine in hand and great company, what more do you want? OK another sunset can be arranged. this has to be top of anyone's list to go and just see for yourselves.


enjoy.............................. we certainly did, Alan & Irene even remembered it was our honeymoon.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    6
    1
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Laid Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We visited here quite often during our week long stay in sissi and i can`t praise it enough,both the landlord and landlady (Alan and Irene) were not only fantastic hosts but also a great source of local knowledge ect.Although every time we visited we had a great and relaxing time the highlight for us was sunday early evening when the band Crisis played.......fantastic!
Great views,excellent music,competitive prices,good company what more could you want?
all i can add is we will return !
whiskas

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great music, homelike atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spent here most of our evenings in Crete and we felt like home, surrounded by friends in a warm atmosphere.

The music was absolutely great, beginning from the 50’s and moving on to present days, the bar having also one of the best views from all the locals in Sissi.

Not to mention the friendly owners, who welcomed us every evening with a smile and a various list of cocktails. The guests were almost entirely British, and the owners always joined the discussions with a glass of wine or a joke. We noticed that after 10 o’clock all the others bars were empty and were quietly closing, but here was always full until late at night.

Thank you for a wonderful time and we will definitely pay a visit to Hemingway at every visit in Crete for a banana juice or a cocktail, for the music and for the friendly owners.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

After seeing many recommendations for this bar I was thoroughly disappointed and didn't stay! The landlord/lady were not at all interested in getting off their backsides to welcome us.
The view is nice from here but it's the same view from a number of other better establishments.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We spent many a night in this great bar. The owners were really attentive which made this bar unique and personable. We watched an amazing band on a Sunday afternoon as we took in the view of the harbour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hemingway also viewed

Sissi, Lasithi Prefecture
Sissi, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Sissi, Lasithi Prefecture
Lasithi Prefecture, Crete
 

Been to The Hemingway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hemingway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.