We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fresh, tasty and reasonably priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mike's Place

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mike's Place
Sissi, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 32 Restaurants in Sissi
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bristol
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very fresh, tasty and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Mike's is definitely worth the visit. Recommended by a Greek friend of ours, we had to try it and were glad we did.

Always try the day's special, the vegetable dishes were very traditional Greek dishes and very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    29
    10
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
“An authentic Greek taverna, with good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Although it might sound like one of those establishments aiming to cater for British visitors wanting a full English breakfast and chips with every meal Mike's place is probably one of the most authentic Greek restaurants in the centre of Sissi and is named for the owner Michael Lerapititis. It's also very badly marketed despite having some aging signage up in the centre of town. These variously describe it has having an 'ecological' menu without saying what that means or as being '...far from the enjoyment', a phrase hardly likely to draw potential diners. This is possibly reinforced for those who do find the small alleyway leading up to it, close to and on the opposite side of the road to Maxim's as you head towards the small beach, because the menu says very little. In fact it consists of lists, apparently printed on a home computer and adorned with a simple design, giving a very uninformative name for the dish and a price, repeated in several languages and bound in what look like simple holiday photo albums. They are quite quaint but it means you have to ask what a great many things are to be able to make an informed choice and even then it felt a little uncertain when we ordered. Making it even more difficult the gentleman who took our order on each visit doesn't have enough English to follow a question fully (bearing in mind that he bothered to learn English while our Greek extends to asking for the bill) but added on each occasion that the vegetables used change daily, that the meat of the day is pork for €8.50 and that there is freshly caught fish today at €14 for a kilo, without being able to say more than 'It's white fish' when asked what kind.


So why did we go back several times when there are so many alternatives appearing higher up the list on Trip Advisor? Well this is where people may be missing out if they choose to judge this particular book by its cover. To start with it's small with around 5 tables on the edge of the small terrace under the tree that overhangs them and about 6 more under the covered section a little further back so it feels more personal and friendly than having to sit in one of the larger restaurants where you can feel a bit unimportant for want of a better word. Here we felt like guests rather than customers and the friendliness of our hosts complemented this. On my first visit I started by feeling less than impressed by the fact that my starter, of vegetable soup, never arrived but then felt rather grateful when we each received our complementary starter - nowhere mentioned - consisting of several small pieces of bruschetta topped with a fine tomato puree, a piece of locally baked bread, some tsatziki with a few olives and some feta cheese. All in all this was really tasty and enough to make me think that had the soup arrived I wouldn't have been able to finish my main dish. We visited twice for an evening meal and once for a light lunch and received this starter each time.


Our first evening meal was really good and I chose the spinach pies with little clear idea of what I would receive. I have included a photo of this dish - after I had already eaten one of the five pies it came with! The pastry was thin and very crisp with a lightly spiced spinach filling that was lovely, while on a separate plate was a very generous selection of vegetables that were incredibly flavoursome and with deliciously sweet potatoes. All of these are apparently fresh and grown on the family's own farm which is what they meant by an 'ecological menu' and probably accounts for the great quality. We both agreed this was one of the meals we had on Crete.


Our second evening visit wasn't quite so good. It was busier and later and although the vegetables were just as lovely the portion size had almost halved making us wonder whether supplies were being eked out at the end of a good day's business. By this stage we had begun to grasp that most dishes on the menu simply name the main item, being served with a separate plate of vegetables that can differ each day depending on what was harvested from farm and garden. Still not completely clear on what I was going to get though I decided to try the 1 kilo fresh fish for €14, the most expensive item here. A smaller plate of vegetables arrived about 15 minutes later with a second bearing a full fish, known here as Sargo. This is something to bear in mind if you find the sight of the tail, fins and head, complete with sightless milky eyes off putting. It's not at all unusual in Greece but some fish, like salmon, sole and swordfish often come prepared as fillets. The kilo weight also includes all those parts you are going to leave behind so although undoubtedly fresh and full of flavour if you are hungry after an enjoyable day you can be left feeling like a desert will be needed to top up.


All in all the food here is easily as good as any you will find in Sissi and the restaurant has a distinctly authentic feel to it. The best tables are those clustered under the trees near the entrance except in poor weather when it makes sense to eat under shelter. We looked at reviews of the restaurants here before leaving and don't remember seeing much to recommend Mike's Place as it definitely want on our list of places to visit but this is a shame because it's all worth trying and, having been back to it more than once during our stay we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Well cooked traditional Cretan food. One of the best free starters we had, followed by huge main courses. Go here when you're really hungry, you won't be disappointed! Recommended for hungry youngsters on a tight budget.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Small, but very welcoming. Food brilliantly prepared and cooked.Good selection on the menu and wonderful free starters of lovely bread, fetter cheese and tomatoe which was just superb.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“excellant meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This restaurant is set back off the main road into town so is easy to miss, but well worth hunting for as we had an amazing meal here, the host was very friendly and the price reasonable

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike's Place also viewed

Sissi, Lassithi Prefecture
Sissi, Lassithi Prefecture
 
Sissi, Lassithi Prefecture
Sissi, Lassithi Prefecture
 

Been to Mike's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mike's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.