We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello Boutique Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Castello Boutique Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Castello Boutique Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Papatheodorou, Sissi, Crete 72400, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Sissi
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Great hotel, friendly and professional staff, this was the best holiday I've ever had. So relaxing, nothing was too much trouble I can't recommend this hotel enough. From when we arrived at 2am and there was a plate of cheeses, cold meats and bread along with bottles of wine and water (perfect after a long day traveling) to lounging at the pool having excellent pina coladas, to the immaculately clean rooms tthese guys really look after you! The staff really were very professional and friendly and we're great at judging the level of interaction each guest wanted. As a hospitality professional myself for the last 20 year I am pretty hard to please but I couldn't find fault with Castello Boutique.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    63
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
57
254
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at this lovely hotel.
The staff was very friendly and really took care of our every need. This is a service-level not often seen.
The room and facilities are good, we had a spacious junior suite (without a private pool) which offered some privacy between us and our daughter sharing our room. The decoration in the room is good standard basic and well maintained.
The central pool is very nice and offers a nice large seating area on the lawn, something not often seen in this climate.
The hotel is is located in a nice and quiet town.
The restaurant offers excellent food and is well managed, with lovely staff remembering beyond your name, also your preferences from the evening before!
Next to all benefits also the hotel is great value for money, we never expected we would get all this for the price we payed!
Only negatives if we have to think of some could be the spa showers which where out of order, but this is really a minor issue.
Really highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Just returned from a 7 day stay at this brilliant hotel. "Boutique" often means pretentious, not here; the accommodation, staff, food and facilities are all fabulous. Add to this the beautiful little fishing port of Sissi, literally 5 minutes walk away, with some great bars and restaurants, makes for a tremendous experience.

Room Tip: 301 or 405
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

It seems impossible but true that "perfection" is the only way to describe this wonderful hotel that is run by even more wonderful people set in a perfect town in northern Crete. The hotel is clean, well-maintained, well-equipped and very comfortable. The layout of the pool area and bar with sunbeds is great. We had a room with a private pool that was idyllic. The staff are incredibly passionate and mean it seriously when they say they will do whatever it takes to make your stay as good as it can be. They redefine the word hospitality - Rodica the Front Office Manager is wonderful, kind and interacting with the guests all the time. Sitting at the bar is a must with Angelo the barman who is very entertaining and makes really good cocktails. Mr. Nikos the charming F&B Manager is always rushing around making sure that the meals (which are excellent) and the tables are prepared and the guests have whatever they need. The service is unparalleled! Christian and George are just amazing. George is the most loved by everyone with his wit and smile and loving attention to detail. And of course there are more that I can't even name. There is a spa in the hotel and a Cretan Massage on the waterbed by the lovely Giorgina is not to be missed. The town has a little marina with some restaurants and bars that are really nice for watching the sunset. It is not a noisy place but rather peaceful and this is the best way to enjoy this beautiful place. I have been several times to the island and I can say without a doubt this hotel is absolutely the best I have stayed in. For sure my next visit will be there again.

Room Tip: The room with private pool facing the east side is very nice as it has sun most of the day and a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This a very nice modern, clean comfortable hotel & for the price you can't go wrong.

Good staff who are well trained & will cheerfully cater for all your needs.

Personally not quite so keen on the resort of Sissi as it's a bit quiet for us, but if you want a nice quality hotel for a quiet week in the sun then don't hesitate to book it!

Room Tip: 214 was pretty good with a view of the sea & pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Our week at Castello Boutique and Spa was just amazing. We were so well looked after by the fantastic team of staff at the hotel - EVERYONE really goes out of their way to make you feel welcome, and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the food is prepared to a very high standard with a good menu and plenty of variety, and the decor is stylish and modern.

The Spa is immaculate and the latest treatment facilities make it well-worth investing in a massage - it's heaven!

The location is beside a charming church, a few streets back from the centre of Sissi. Although we visited in mid April and much of Sissi was preparing for the start of the season we were confident we had chosen the best hotel in Sissi. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others looking for a quiet break and a base for exploring. It's very deserving of it's 5 Star Status. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My 5 day experience was nothing short of a great day to day adventure. I highly recommend this hotel because of the excellent 5 star service, good food and wonderful atmosphere. Anglo, the bartender was a delight and entertaining. Niko, the manager of the restaurant was also very helpful in getting me what I wanted. All the staff were wonderful! My room and bathroom were cleaned every day. I found the location of this hotel to be just fine for me because I rented a car up the street from Dimitris.
Don't hesitate to stay here; you will be glad you did!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castello Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Boutique Resort & Spa

Address: Papatheodorou, Sissi, Crete 72400, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Sissi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sissi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sissi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sissi
#1 Spa Hotel in Sissi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello Boutique Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish high-quality design is the hallmark of this deluxe boutique resort, situated in one of the most beautiful and sought-after locations in Crete, the traditional seaside village of Sissi. Recalling a bygone era of gracious living, Castello Boutique Resort & Spa offers the personalized service and amenities required by today's discriminating traveler. Since 2015 Castello Boutique Resort and Spa became adult only hotel and have entered the SLH family- Small Luxury Hotels of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Castello Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Boutique Hotel Sissi
Castello Boutique Resort And Spa
Castello Boutique Resort & Spa Crete/Sissi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello Boutique Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.