We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Holiday, Amazing Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello Boutique Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Castello Boutique Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castello Boutique Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Agios Nikolaos, Sissi, Crete 72400, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 hotels in Sissi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Holiday, Amazing Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I have not written a review on here before, but feel compelled to do so after such an amazing holiday. Castello Boutique is a perfect romantic, relaxing and luxury hotel. It's small enough to be intimate, but large enough to have your own space. The staff are by far the hotel's greatest attribute. Rodica made sure the room allocation was perfect, Nikos was efficient and lovely, and George was a 'star' waiter. Evangelo, the hotels barman not only made the best cocktails imaginable but also kept us entertained throughout the whole stay. The food, the pool, the rooms, the decor, the spa treatments were all equally impressive - what more can I say... I would pay to go back next week if I could. As for Sissi, it's great for couples and if you like small and traditional it is ideal.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    42
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
48
192
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

After just coming back from a week spent at the Castello Boutique, I can honestly say this is one of the best hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying in.
Right from the very start, the hotel sets itself apart with great touches like a warm welcome, a glass of fresh orange juice and then a generous selection of cold meats, salad, olives and a bottle of red wine awaiting us in our room.
On the subject of our room, it was incredibly clean, with a modern decor and excellent walk-in shower. We also had an amazing terrace balcony with incredible views of the surrounding mountains, the elegant Orthodox church nearby and the blue sea horizon in the distance. It is well worth paying extra for the honeymoon or junior suites, as you get a much larger balcony for private sunbathing throughout the day, as well as the excellent added feature of the outdoor hot tub Jacuzzi!
After feeling suitably relaxed, we were also in with a treat for breakfast and dinner. We had booked half board, and every day the menu was completely different for both meals with a fantastic selection of local delicacies and dishes cooked beautifully. We particularly enjoyed the Cretan honey, Greek salad, feta cheese, Cretan olive oil - too many to list! I certainly think the food was the standout of the hotel, alongside the fantastic service of the waiters and warm, friendly service of the head waiter, George.
Nothing was ever too much trouble for any of the staff. The cleaners did an excellent job of keeping the entire hotel spotless, the barman always greeted us with a friendly smile, the lady at reception was wonderful and always remembered our earlier conversations in the week. It's little things like this that really makes this hotel extra special.
Sissi is an excellent location too. It is very sedate and peaceful, so ideal for couples, older people or those with young children. The harbour is particularly beautiful, and there are many authentic bakeries, restaurants and kebab shops to choose from.
When we sadly had to leave, we were given the friendliest of goodbyes from all of the staff, including the very professional manager, Nikos. As a result of this, we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. We can't stop raving about how great it was!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the church enjoy more sun and a more scenic view. The honeymoon suite has a superb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here for a week at the end of May. We found the hotel to be really good, equivalent to a good 4 star hotel. The staff are friendly and efficient, rooms very nice, and the service very friendly and good. The pool is a good size and when we were there, enough loungers for everyone. Sissi itself is a lovely laid back village. We opted for B & B and had lots of good meals in the village, prefering to support local businesses and go to lovely family run tavernas. There was a mess up with our room the first night, and tired and stressed as I was upon arrival, it didn't go down well, however, I can vouch for the fact that the staff are very concerned about good service and customer satisfaction. They made amends, and seemed genuinely concerned, so that's fair enough, mistakes happen. The treatments in the spa were good, I had a couple of very good massages and a nice facial there. The therapists are good, experienced and professional. Yes the church bell ring is super loud, but this was no problem, it's nice being in the village community. Breakfasts were of a good standard. A great choice for a holdiday, the people in Sissi were lovely and this is a very good hotel. We will return........

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Sissy - a small village, but very nice and cozy. Clean air and fresh food, friendly and good-natured people, as well as the beauty of the mountains and the sea struck at once.
In short, stay in the hotel we loved: in the morning we met a nice girl Mary and settled in a room before the set time. The room was waiting for a bouquet of flowers and a bottle of wine. Room left a good impression: spacious and bright, with everything you need.
 The hotel serves a good breakfast and dinner, especially pleased dishes from the chef. And for lunch you can always reach one of the many pleasant restaurants and cafes located right next to the sea.
It is worth noting friendliness and willingness of the hotel staff to resolve any issue. Especially worth mentioning Mr. Nikos, George and Mary. Thank you for the warm welcome and friendly attitude. We will remember you for a long time.
The only disadvantage - is the distance of the hotel from the sea. Had to walk 15-20 minutes to the nearest beach or lie by the pool. But it's nothing, because we knew that the hotel is on the second line. A poolside pleased with the delicious and refreshing cocktails from the bartender. And in general, do not spoil the experience of staying in a hotel.
Especially pleasant surprise approach of the staff to organize our wedding ceremony. Thank you so much for the beautiful wedding ceremony, as well as for the preparation for it. Perfect dinner after the ceremony and a great breakfast. We are very pleased that such an important and solemn moment in our lives noted in this hotel. Next year will definitely come here for the wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Costello boutique resort, it was wonderful, the hotel is beautiful and the staff are some of the friendliest I've ever met, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very nice a superior room much larger than most hotel rooms and kept spotless by the tireless housekeeping staff. We did'nt venture far as I was travelling with my 78yr old mum who had the best time she tried to persuade me she didn't drink rum, I can tell you with some degree authority after one of Angelo's shots she does!! We were made so welcome as was everyone else. I wouldn't hesitate to recammend this hotel if you want a pretty, relaxing, quiet resort with good food and good company you couldn't chose better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have just returned from the Castello Boutique Resort. We were there with my husbands parents and his sister and her husband and we all agreed that this hotel is fantastic. The staff are exceptional from management to housekeeping, they all work hard to make this place the best in Sissi, and they certainly have. We had booked a junior suite, but there are a lot of quite steep stairs leading up to the mezzanine floor, so asked if we could change rooms, Maria on the front desk sorted everything out promptly and efficiently, we ended up in the honeymoon suite which is amazing, with a jacuzzi on the deck of the large balcony looking over the gardens and pool and opposite the church. We were on half board basis and the food in the restaurant is very good, with lots to choose from. We ate out a couple of evenings and the hotel gave us lunch instead. Sissi is a wonderful small resort with loads of great tavernas which i would highly recommend. I would definately return to Sissi and definately stay at the Castello Resort.
Thanks to Mr Nikos, Theo, Ronella, Maria, Rodica, Angello and the ladies who cleaned our rooms and a very big Thank You to Gorgeous George our fantastic waiter who made it a joy to come to dinner!! You all made our holiday so special. Thank You from The Duncans, and The Neris.

Room Tip: Junior suites are beautiful but watch those steep stairs, Superior rooms (315) was great with large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Forget any less than 5 star reviews they are deluded and as for the idiot who wrote the review on the feral cats he must have been partaking of a lot of raki when he wrote that.Yes this is not a 5 star hotel by Uk standards but for a holiday hotel it's def 4+.Its a beautiful hotel,perfect for a chill out and the sort of place where nothing is too much trouble and you feel that if a problem did arise it would be sorted which seems obvious but doesn't always happen.The attention to detail is superb.Another thing that struck us is that because it is a relatively small hotel and so well run there was a good vibe amongst staff and guests.A tip try the Strawberry Daiquhiris and ice cream milk shakes you won't get better.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the church or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castello Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Boutique Resort & Spa

Address: Agios Nikolaos, Sissi, Crete 72400, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lassithi Prefecture > Sissi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sissi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sissi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sissi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello Boutique Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish high-quality design is the hallmark of this deluxe boutique resort, situated in one of the most beautiful and sought-after locations in Crete, the traditional seaside village of Sissi. Recalling a bygone era of gracious living, Castello Boutique Resort & Spa offers the personalized service and amenities required by today’s discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Castello Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Boutique Resort And Spa
Castello Boutique Hotel Sissi
Castello Boutique Resort & Spa Crete/Sissi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello Boutique Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.