We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms and lobby.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7270 Cedar Street, Omaha, NE 68124   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advance Purchase Rate
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Omaha
iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms and lobby.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Pro's:
Good service, friendly.
Big, bright rooms.
Good value for the money.
Easy access to a lot of things.

Cons:
Very small bathroom.
They only give 2 bath towels (we had a group of 5)
Should have morning free breakfast. (It looks free and has the quality of free, but is not)

I really enjoyed this hotel. We booked it mid week at 98 dollars with a AAA discount. They try and space guests out if they can to avoid noise complaints, which is a great idea. The inside is beautiful. The pool is too small for the size of hotel, but is warm and I liked the seats by the waterfall. The hot tub did not work. The rooms are great, the only hotel I have seen with french doors into the room. The beds are small (doubles not queens) but comfortable. You have a full size fridge with a countertop and sink which is handy. It is unique that you have a shared balcony on the back side of the room. Some top rated steak places around the hotel, Dover's and Anthony's. Easy access to the zoo and ballpark. Would go back there to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    133
    101
    68
    26
See reviews for
178
46
25
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

This hotel was a great value BUT: The pictures make it look far nicer than it is. It is very warm in the hotel and we could not get the room cool enough either. The first morning my son was looking for his daughters toy and put his hand under the couch, all he came up with was dog feces. We covered it with a paper towel and told the girls at the front desk on our way out to the zoo about it and they assured us it would be taken care of. When we came back later than evening, the paper towel was gone but the dog feces remained. This time the manager was at the front desk and he came up himself and cleaned it up. The point is the girls at the front desk did not pay any attention to us. They should have made sure housekeeping cleaned it up. They offer a nice little kitchenette in your room, but it was just full of empty cabinets. We had to go down to the restaurant and borrow bowls and spoons for the kids to have cereal. The cookies upon arrivial were WONDERFUL, the pillows and mattresses were great also. The open balcony where anyone could be right outside your room was very weird. The bathroom was very tiny, door opened into the tolilet. The shampoo and amenities were great. We paid $119 plus taxes a night which wasn't bad for sleeping 6 people. I doubt I would choose it again. It needs some cleaning and updating.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

We celebrated a college graduation with family (total of four rooms booked). It was very spacious. Loved having the large front room with door separating bedroom so we could visit with relatives without suitcases laying around. Pool area and water was warm and comfortable. Atmosphere is beautiful and cookies are delicious!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Stayed here two nights on a busy weekend...we pre-paid and upon arrival learned that they still had rooms available for both nights for $100 less than we paid and they wouldn't meet their current price for us.

In the morning we ate breakfast at the paltry buffet and ate on banquet room tables that had no table cloths....thinking it was a free breakfast (cause who'd pay for what it was..) only to get charged for it.

The whole facility looks really dated and kind of early 80's. But the renovation has at least made the rooms contemporary and pleasant enough the small fitness room is nice.

Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJokela, Director of Sales at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha, responded to this review, May 5, 2009
We are very sorry to hear you were not pleased with your stay at our hotel. We have addressed your concerns regarding breakfast with our food and beverage department. Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree and please contact me directly to book for next years meeting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

I have stayed at this property three separate times for business, and I have always enjoyed the experience. The rooms are all suites and generally very nice, although some are 'updated' and others are older. The updated rooms have flat panel TVs, newer refrigerator and microwave, and are generally nicer and cleaner. The older rooms are still nice, but seem a little dated if you see an updated room.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. I had trouble with my heater working so I called the front desk. There was a maintenance person at my room within 10 minutes. The heater couldn't be fixed so I was moved to another room and given vouchers for a free breakfast.

The location is located near the geographical center of Omaha, near Bergan Mercy Hospital and a few other big businesses (Blue Cross/Blue Shield, First Data). It would make a convenient location for travelers too.

One other thing I found nice was the quality of the free bathroom supplies. They give you all Neutrogena products. In addition to the shampoo/conditioner, they also include a tube of facial moisturizer and facial cleanser. Not a big deal, but I thought it was nice.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

I actually tagged along on a trip with my cousins and their kids. We got comfortably slept six people. The kids loved the pool area. It was big enough that the kids could splash and other adults weren't annoyed by them, because they could stay at the other end. Overall the hotel is very nice. Possibly my only concern would be the access everyone else has to your hotel from the outside balcony. I suppose as long as you keep it locked it should be ok. Also I think the breakfast buffet is highly overpriced, which is why I passed it up.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

We paid $79 a night for a weekend stay by prepaying. This hotel was most definitely worth the money we paid. It was clean and comfortable.
All of the hotel rooms had glass paned patio doors that open onto a beautiful atrium. Two glass domes in the ceiling provide plenty of natural light and all of the vegetation (even if most of it was fake) really made you feel like you were in a spanish villa somewhere tropical. My mother remarked that it reminded her of New Orleans French Quarter.
The front door to the room was (as mentioned above) a planed glass patio door with floor-to-ceiling windows on either side. Drapes closed across the windows and doors for privacy. The front door opens into the living room portion of the suite where there was a large desk, office chair, ample floor lamps, convertible sofa bed, arm chair, end tables, coffee tables and television. Kitchenette included granite countertops, sink, ample cabinet space, microwave and full-sized refrigerator. Wolfgang Puck coffee machine made single sized servings of coffee and tea. The patio door to the hotel room is not air tight and there was about two inches of space under the door. This made it so that if you were sitting in your living area, you could hear guests outside in the atrium or in the hallway if they were being loud.
The bed linens were soooo comfortable. The mattress was dreamlike, as were the feather duvet and pillows. However, I feel that the "King" sized bed was much smaller than other "King" beds I've slept in. The bedroom also had floor to ceiling windows that opened up to a balcony, but it wasn't a private balcony but connected to all of the hotel rooms through a outside walkway. All of the windows in the room were nice, but made it so that you pretty much always had to keep your blinds drawn to make sure that someone couldn't see in. The television sets in both the bedroom and living room are older models and there was only one universal remote for the two.
Bathroom toiletries were Neutrogena brand and in addition to the standard shampoo, conditioner, lotion and bar soap - there was also foaming face wash and daily moisturizer with SPF 45. Water pressure in the shower was sub-par. Bathroom countertop was corrian. Our bathroom had a few ceiling tiles with water stains.
The workout room was really great. Although small, it was never busy. Tons of great equipment: 2 full sets of free weights; two ellipticals, a treadmill and biking machine each with their own individual television screen. They also had mats, medicine balls, and bouncy balls for floor exercises. Really great, new, clean equipment.
Although internet is not free, the business center had two computers which were pretty much always unavailable. Free and unlimited printing as well as office supplies (paper clips, scissors, fax machine, staplers, etc.) for your use.
Pool was also really nice. It was small, and definitely not suitable for swimming laps but had a waterfall and was generally attractive. Spa was also pretty large. The entire hotel was overrun with children and their inconsiderate parents while I was there, and the pool was no exception. However, the staff really made an effort to keep the children in check. The pool is open until 12am but it is supposed to be adult time from 10pm-12am. An employee actually came at 10pm to kick out the children. On another occasion, children were playing barefoot and in their swimsuits in the atrium, and the employees stepped in to break up the beach party. I have not stayed many places where the management actually stepped in to put customers in line - much appreciated!
Also, you can get the famous Double Tree cookies whenever you want - the are kept behind the front desk in a warming drawer and all you have to do is ask.
The hotel was in a good location with lots of chain restaurants nearby (not so much within walking distance though). This hotel was a GREAT value. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha

Address: 7270 Cedar Street, Omaha, NE 68124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha featuring all-suite rooms, with separate living and sleeping rooms, complimentary wireless internet and parking, a complimentary 5-mile radius shuttle, contemporary fitness center with indoor pool and whirlpool spa, and fantastic dining options at our Cedar Street Grille and Canterbury Pub. We are located just minutes from Downtown Omaha, right off I-80/I-680, with convenient access to all of Omaha's top destinations such as; Aksarben Village, Stinson Park, Ralston Arena, Fun Plex, Westroads Mall, Regency Court, One Pacific Place, Village Pointe, Boystown, Nebraska Furniture Mart, Omaha Community Playhouse, University of Nebraska Omaha, College of St. Mary's, Bellevue University, Creighton University, TD Ameritrade Park, CenturyLink Center, Omaha's Children's Museum, Holland Performing Arts Center, Joslyn Art Museum, Durham Western Heritage Museum,Lauritzen Botanical Gardens, the Henry Doorly Zoo, and Omaha's Old Market district. We are also minutes from the nearby medical district: University of Nebraska Medical Center, Alegent Creighton University Medical Center, Bergan Mercy Medical Center, Children's Hospital, Methodist Hospital, Immanuel Hospital and the Lied Transplant Center. We look forward to having you as our guest so stop on in and we will have a world famous warm DoubleTree Cookie waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hilton Hotels, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Omaha Hotel Omaha
Doubletree Hotel Omaha
Doubletree Omaha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.