We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again...Pitiful and Ridiculous” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7270 Cedar Street, Omaha, NE 68124   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advance Purchase Rate
Ranked #26 of 74 Hotels in Omaha
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Never Again...Pitiful and Ridiculous”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Where do I start...
The front desk staff were unimpressive to say it nicely. I didn't feel they had any kind of customer service mentality. The check in process was painful, from confusion on when my room would be ready to having to run my credit card twice because it didn't 'take' the first time (this was told to me after I already put everything away).. just very inefficient. Next, the five mile radius shuttle as advertised on the website is actually only 4.5 miles (the told me the website was wrong and they haven't corrected it) and therefore they were unable to drop me off at the 5 mile mark as I needed, so... I had to take a cab two and from my meetings. The room...I don't know what they mean by 'recently renovated.' The room was still old, dingy, and the air conditioner didn't work. (I kept it running the whole night and it didn't get below 70 degrees). The bed was horrible...too soft and my husband and I kept migrating to the middle. Not to mention there was a tear in my sheet. I don't know many people whom keep sheets on their bed with holes in them...but I don't expect holes in my sheets in a hotel like this. When I asked the front desk to speak to a manager, she refused and pointed at a group of people having a meeting in the lobby... this was the manager's meeting. I guess she wasn't allowed to interrupt it for a customer service issue. bottom line... this was a terrible hotel and I hope no one else experiences what I did.

Room Tip: Do not get a room above the front entrance. The windows are paper thin and you can hear every conve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and taking time to fill out the review. We value your feedback.

We are starting the process for a new great renovation here at the hotel and we hope that you join us again in the near future and see the exciting changes happening here!

Please feel free to contact me at anytime if you need anything!

Michael Kosalka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    155
    109
    71
    29
See reviews for
194
50
25
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverton, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is showing it's age, but is kept clean. The suite set-up is nice for a family. The rate we paid was over-priced for the location and the age of this hotel. It isn't near any of the baseball events we were attending.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and taking time to fill out the review. We value your feedback.

We are starting the process for a new great renovation here at the hotel and we hope that you join us again in the near future and see the exciting changes happening here!

Please feel free to contact me at anytime if you need anything!

Michael Kosalka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel was overwhelmed by 100 guests checking out during the College World Series, which is in Omaha every year and this hotel looked 50 years old. They could not get rooms ready when promised nor give a time on when they would be ready. We were late to CWS due to this. Also, ESPN, which had the games playing, did not work in most of the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and taking time to fill out the review. We value your feedback.

We are starting the process for a new great renovation here at the hotel and we hope that you join us again in the near future and see the exciting changes happening here!

Please feel free to contact me at anytime if you need anything!

Michael Kosalka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very adult unfriendly! They have a security guard walking nonstop watching you like you've done something wrong. They have a huge lounge area that is empty at night because you can't sit in it unless you buy all your drinks and food from them so no one goes down, so if you have a group you all have to hang out in a room. The bar is tiny. Spent too much money not to be able to leave your room!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and taking time to fill out the review. We value your feedback.

We are starting the process for a new great renovation here at the hotel and we hope that you join us again in the near future and see the exciting changes happening here!

Please feel free to contact me at anytime if you need anything!

Michael Kosalka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Being a business traveler, I stayed at this hotel for last couple of months. Twice during these months, I had 15 nights stay at a stretch due to work. I have to say, the customer service was really great- warm, welcoming, accommodating any special requests and providing the famous Doubletree cookies daily (free during your stay) and whenever I wanted more!!:-)

The only negative about the first stay back in May was that the first room I checked in to, had mold on the rear wall. I just happened to draw the curtains and saw the disgusting wall. Of course, I reported it immediately and the front office staff was very apologetic and made every effort for me to be comfortable and shifted me to a room of my liking and preference. They even let me check few rooms and let me pick a room. I had even emailed the pictures of the wall to one of the front desk staffs so they could necessary actions to fix it which I believe they took care of the next day or so I was told. I never went back to that room! All the same, all the other rooms I checked were good and finally the one I stayed in for these past two months, provided for an extremely comfortable stay. And of course, I loved the French door look, which again is a personal liking.

Overall, entire staff was courteous and friendly- in the restaurant, front desk, housekeeping- all.

If I was to go back to Omaha, I would definitely go back to that hotel again without hesitation!!

Room Tip: Rooms with a small kitchenette (full long counter) are more spacious and include a full size refrige...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and taking time to fill out the review. We value your feedback.

We are starting the process for a new great renovation here at the hotel and we hope that you join us again in the near future and see the exciting changes happening here!

Please feel free to contact me at anytime if you need anything!

Michael Kosalka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Drove 10 hours to Omaha and asked to Check in early. We were told to come back because "Guaranteed" check in was at 3 pm. Went back at 3 pm and we were told that room would not be ready and that it was "not really" a guaranteed check in time. I checked every 20 minutes with my family and luggage sitting in the lobby. Staff seemed bothered and became rude when I asked if they had an estimate as to when room would be ready. As we got past 4 pm I told staff that we had to be somewhere and asked if we could put our luggage somewhere and checkin later that night. She rudely said that the only place they could hold our luggage was in a back office. She went on to tell us that we had to stack it out of their way because they needed to work back there. They seemed upset at us for requesting an accommodation caused by their lack of preparation. *** After a 3 day stay, we were packing and trying to leave by a 12 pm checkout time, when a hotel employee comes to our room twice to tell us we have to be out by 12 pm. We felt that they were kicking us out after they couldn't even get our room ready when they were supposed to. Other than Josh (the Hotel engineer), the Hotel staff seemed bothered and overworked. They are in the wrong business. I was extremely disappointed by the Doubletree experience. I know this type of review will rarely cause any change, but I needed to let people know.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makaela W, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I am unhappy to read your feedback and certainly apologize for the inadequate customer service you experienced during you stay with us . I can assure you that what you experienced is not our typical service provided or the standard we hold our staff to, and your comments did not fall on deaf ears. I am however please to hear that Josh in our engineering department was able to offer you wonderful customer service during your stay. I would love the opportunity to make this right, as I can not see your profile here I do ask that you please contact me at my direct extension 402-255-9145 and it would be my pleasure to turn around this poor experience to the best of my ability.

Sincerely,

Makaela Wiens
Front Office Manager
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha, NE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I really wanted to like this hotel - The front desk staff was welcoming and the open lobby inviting, it's too bad that ends when you open your suite door. When we entered our room we quickly noticed that the smoke alarm was hanging by its wires from the ceiling and there were cobwebs in the corners by the curtains. While it's nice to have the extra room with two rooms we struggled to maintainn a comfortable temperature in the room with the very noisy air conditioner. The bedroom was chilly, while the living room never reached a comfortable temperature. The bathrooms are also very small with the tiles in the shower being stained and the finishing coming off the tub. We had planned to stay for breakfast the next morning, but after seeing the staff not cleaning tables and the line of people waiting for tables we decided that it would be too long of an ordeal and checked out. While renovations on this property have been attempted, it just hasn't been enough to keep up with the age of the property. While the stay wasn't horrible, it wasn't up to what I'd expect from a Hilton property. Would I stay again? Possibly, but only if it was at the right price and other properties were booked.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha

Address: 7270 Cedar Street, Omaha, NE 68124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha featuring all-suite rooms, with separate living and sleeping rooms, complimentary wireless internet and parking, a complimentary 5-mile radius shuttle, contemporary fitness center with indoor pool and whirlpool spa, and fantastic dining options at our Cedar Street Grille and Canterbury Pub. We are located just minutes from Downtown Omaha, right off I-80/I-680, with convenient access to all of Omaha's top destinations such as; Aksarben Village, Stinson Park, Ralston Arena, Fun Plex, Westroads Mall, Regency Court, One Pacific Place, Village Pointe, Boystown, Nebraska Furniture Mart, Omaha Community Playhouse, University of Nebraska Omaha, College of St. Mary's, Bellevue University, Creighton University, TD Ameritrade Park, CenturyLink Center, Omaha's Children's Museum, Holland Performing Arts Center, Joslyn Art Museum, Durham Western Heritage Museum,Lauritzen Botanical Gardens, the Henry Doorly Zoo, and Omaha's Old Market district. We are also minutes from the nearby medical district: University of Nebraska Medical Center, Alegent Creighton University Medical Center, Bergan Mercy Medical Center, Children's Hospital, Methodist Hospital, Immanuel Hospital and the Lied Transplant Center. We look forward to having you as our guest so stop on in and we will have a world famous warm DoubleTree Cookie waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Omaha Hotel Omaha
Doubletree Hotel Omaha
Doubletree Omaha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Omaha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.