We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understaffed and apathetic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aksarben Suites Omaha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Aksarben Suites Omaha to your Saves list
Aksarben Suites Omaha
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7270 Cedar Street, Omaha, NE 68124 (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Omaha)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 76 Hotels in Omaha
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Understaffed and apathetic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Honestly I was surprised that Hilton put their name on this property. The lobby looks nice but our rooms looked to be only about half renovated. The lock on the back patio door in the bedroom was sketchy at best. There was no fan in the bathroom and stains on the ceiling. Our (terrible) in-room coffee was never replaced the entire time we were there. Mini fridge door wouldn't stay closed. The TV remotes were very nearly useless and if we wanted to use the TV in the living room at all we had to use the manual controls on the TV itself. Bags of trash and piles of dirty towels sat in the hallway all day. Room service plates sat outside rooms uncollected the the whole time.

Then there was the service. We tried to order room service but it turns out that half the menu isn't available. We ended up getting takeout from the restaurant next door but when we called the front desk for some silverware I finally caved and had to go to the front desk after 20 minutes of waiting. They sent me to the restaurant (with attitude) but after watching the hostess chat it up with the line cook for 5 minutes while I stood at the hostess stand (a reoccurring theme for the week that I noticed by observing from the upper balcony) I finally got back to my room with the silverware 10 minutes later. I ended up having to wash the plates and silverware before we used them because they were filthy with water spots and dried food. Our used plates and silverware sat outside our door for two full days before they were collected, even after I watched housekeeping pass them several times.

Others in our party had troubles getting anything at all from the front desk (pillows, blankets, coffee, cups, etc.). The front desk staff was either outright rude or completely apathetic. One lady refused to call anyone to replace one family member's coffee machine cups or leave her post at the front. Said family member was forced to go to the restaurant and steal away with a cup that was too big for the machine (because of course there was no one around to ask in the restaurant). Front desk staff was also unable to answer questions about how much the restaurant cost, what the age cutoff was for kids' prices, or whether or not breakfast was included with the price of the room. Someone finally mentioned the breakfast was $13.95, but I can't imagine someone spending $14 for barely more than a continental breakfast.

If you choose to use the pool you better be sure to grab a towel early, because those aren't going to replaced any time during the day.

I'm not sure there was an ice machine anywhere in the building because I gave up the search after wandering around for 5 minutes. No signs or maps anywhere. I did see a sign for guest laundry on our floor but it pointed to a dead end.

For the amount of money we spent here we would have been happier and better off staying at a Motel 6 or our favorite La Quinta.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Aksarben Suites Omaha, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
I am disheartened to read your feedback and certainly apologize for what you experienced while staying with us. I can assure you that what you experienced is not the norm for our hotel and would enjoy the opportunity to make this right. As I cannot see your profile here, I would kindly ask that you reach out to me so I can make this right and hope you will give me the opportunity to do so. My contact is david.henderson2@hilton.com or my direct line is 402-255-9156 and I look forward to speaking with you.

David Henderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    166
    117
    72
    35
See reviews for
207
52
26
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Room was spacious and clean. Very appealing lobby. Breakfast was fresh with many options and very good. I was not expecting such a roomy hotel. The staff was very friendly as well. Stayed here enroute to Colorado. Have family in Omaha that I wanted to visit and really didn't expect much from this hotel so I am very pleased with overall experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Aksarben Suites Omaha, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
I am delighted to read that we exceeded your expectations and thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I look forward to sharing your comments with the staff and hope that you will stay with us again the next time you visit your family in Omaha. Again, thank you for staying with us and for your wonderful comments.

David Henderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in this Hotel March 2013. The Lobby is AMAZING with all the greenery. Our 2 room suite was very clean and comfy. We ate a delicious meal at the restaurant. The kids really enjoyed swimming in the pool. All the staff were courteous and friendly and we hope to stay in the hotel again! The only thing I didn't enjoy (although not a real problem), was that the elevators were quite small.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Aksarben Suites Omaha, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments and the five star rating! I will share your comments with the team and we look forward to you staying with us again.

David Henderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood River, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel before and had a great experience so we booked it again. We arrived at the Omaha airport after midnight. By the time we got our luggage and left, we were exhausted. A night at the Double Tree was just what we needed. The shower was clean, the towels were big and soft; and the bed was just as comfortable as ever. This is one of the cleanest, nicest hotels we have every stayed at. The suite makes traveling with kids much easier as well. The staff is always friendly and willing to do whatever they can to make our stay enjoyable! I just can't say enough good things about the DoubleTree. . . . we will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Aksarben Suites Omaha, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review and I look forward to sharing your comments with the team. I am glad that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to your return.

David Henderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

During our recent Saturday evening stay, our 2-room suite was clean and the hotel staff members were very courteous and helpful. Travelers should be aware, however, that the suites in this six-story hotel all face a large, central lobby that is attractive but very noisy.

When we mentioned we had small kids and were looking for a quiet room to get to bed early, the front desk kindly switched us to a side of the hotel that would be further from the wedding reception going on that evening. The French-style hotel room doors, however, are made of glass and have a sizable gap at bottom that made sleeping very difficult on the sofabed in the entry-room / living room area in spite of being further from the action. Our suite had a large counter with cabinets, sink, and full-size refrigerator but no dishes or silverware. The main bedroom in the rear of the suite has a door that well-insulates this room from the din of the lobby area, so if your party numbers 4 or less, the difficulties we faced on a Saturday night when the hotel was filled with wedding guests may not apply to you. Another peculiarity of this hotel: rather than having separate, private balconies for each suite, the rear bedrooms have sliding glass doors that open to a wraparound exterior walkway that allows guests to walk the perimeter of the entire floor, including all the guestrooms on that floor.

Room Tip: Call first to see whether there are any weddings or large group gatherings booked for the same time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Aksarben Suites Omaha, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for completing a review on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your mention of our courteous and helpful staff members and look forward to sharing those comments with them. I do apologize about the noise from the wedding reception and we have taken steps to control the noise level for future events. Again, thank you for staying with us and I hope that you will choose our hotel again the next time you are in the Omaha area.

David Henderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesburg, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here, and I will say this was a great experience. The lobby was beautiful and the staff was very courteous. We were checked in very promptly. The suites were beautiful. The bedroom area is in the back of the suite which eliminated any noise that might wake you from the people in the lobby area. The bed was a large king size with a comfy pillow top mattress. If I am in the Omaha area again this would be my first choice for a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Aksarben Suites Omaha, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I also thank you for the kind words about the staff and our beautiful suites. We look forward to exceeding your expectations once again on your next visit to Omaha.

David Henderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My fiance and I recently stayed here with our 4 children on a weekend mini vacation. We all had such a great time. The staff are very helpful and super nice and the cookies were a great bonus at check-in! It was very crowded when we went but, we all still had a great time. We had a small issue with some kids knocking on our door trying to bother our kids but, I find this was a parenting problem...not a hotel problem! It was nice having the 2 rooms so the kids could watch what they wanted and felt like they had their own space and away from mom and dad. It was nice having a lot of restaurants and things to do right down the street. This will be my 1st choice of places to stay next time I am in town! Thanks for a great getaway for my family!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Aksarben Suites Omaha, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor and for the kind words about the staff. I am glad that our two room suites worked perfectly for your family and we look forward to your return on your next mini vacation.

David Henderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aksarben Suites Omaha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aksarben Suites Omaha

Address: 7270 Cedar Street, Omaha, NE 68124 (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Omaha)
Location: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Omaha
#20 Business Hotel in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aksarben Suites Omaha 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Aksarben Suites Omaha featuring all-suite rooms, with separate living and sleeping rooms, complimentary wireless internet and parking, a complimentary 5-mile radius shuttle, contemporary fitness center with indoor pool and whirlpool spa. We are located just minutes from Downtown Omaha, right off I-80/I-680, with convenient access to all of Omaha's top destinations such as; Aksarben Village, Stinson Park, Ralston Arena, Fun Plex, Westroads Mall, Regency Court, One Pacific Place, Village Pointe, Boystown, Nebraska Furniture Mart, Omaha Community Playhouse, University of Nebraska Omaha, College of St. Mary's, Bellevue University, Creighton University, TD Ameritrade Park, CenturyLink Center, Omaha's Children's Museum, Holland Performing Arts Center, Joslyn Art Museum, Durham Western Heritage Museum,Lauritzen Botanical Gardens, the Henry Doorly Zoo, and Omaha's Old Market district. We are also minutes from the nearby medical district: University of Nebraska Medical Center, Alegent Creighton University Medical Center, Bergan Mercy Medical Center, Children's Hospital, Methodist Hospital, Immanuel Hospital and the Lied Transplant Center. We look forward to having you as our guest so stop on in and we will have a world famous warm DoubleTree Cookie waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Groupon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aksarben Suites Omaha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Omaha Hotel Omaha
Doubletree Hotel Omaha
Doubletree Omaha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aksarben Suites Omaha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.