We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and great value for location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Omaha Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Omaha Downtown to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Omaha Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Nicholas Street, Omaha, NE 68102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #32 of 74 Hotels in Omaha
Arlington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good and great value for location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I traveled here 3 times in the last two months. Shuttle van is timely. I have NO complaints except for the last ten minutes of my stay. I was given a late checkout of 12:30 pm which was agreeable. However at 12:22 pm housekeeping knocked on my door. I was packed and dressed to leave and just finishing tidying up. When I opened the door mgmt was there with another guest. Mgmt asked if I had a 12:30 checkout and I said yes. What annoyed me was the fact that another guest was with her as if to hurry me to leave. I thought that was atypical of service for that hotel. As I was leaving wouldn't you know that guest was in the lobby waiting for the room I was in. I believe it could've been handled differently is all. How much do I travel? Diamond with Hilton, gold with Marriott.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OMAFD, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Omaha Downtown, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at the Faifield Inn & Suites Omaha Downtown. We truly value your feedback and comments like yours enable us to improve the quality of our product and services on a daily basis. I’m disappointed to learn that your departure experience was handled in this manner. We always look to accommodate our guest late departure needs. I apologize for the inconvenience and will make a point to address these issues and how they should be handled in the future with our staff.

We look forward to our next opportunity to properly serve you so that we can create a positive Fairfield Inn & Suites Omaha Downtown experience for you.

Yours in hospitality,

Vernetta B. Kosalka, MOL
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    41
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
41
18
12
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Can't say enough good things about the staff and their excellent shuttle service to the airport and downtown area during a 4 night stay. A cancelled flight meant we had to ask for a late checkout, which was granted and they stored our luggage. Easy walk to the various downtown event venues. Breakfast was limited but I never went hungry. The king suite room was large and clean. Nice sized bathroom. My only issue with the hotel was the bed comfort: it was lumpy and sagged in the middle. We mentioned this to the staff at the end of the visit, and they stated they would see to it. We stay in Marriotts all the time and overall I found this new property very similar to the Springhill Suites. But if Marriott is differentiating their hotel lines by the quality of the mattresses, then I will avoid the Fairfields in the future. It just isn't worth a few dollars for a bad night's sleep.

Room Tip: Try to get on the front of the hotel rather than the back. The train goes right beside the back roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OMAFD, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Omaha Downtown, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Omaha Downtown. We truly value your feedback and comments like yours enable us to improve the quality of our product and services on a daily basis. We do apologize for the discomfort you experienced with the mattress in your guest room. We always look to provided a restful night's sleep for our guest. I will make a point to address this issue. Will you please email your contact information so we may properly inspect the mattress in question and address this situation, vkosalka@fhginc.com?

We look forward to our next opportunity to properly serve you so that we can create a positive Fairfield Inn & Suites Omaha Downtown experience for you and all our guest.

Yours in hospitality,

Vernetta B. Kosalka, MOL
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I travel to Omaha, NE on a regular basis, and due to a large city wide event, found myself at the Fairfield Inn, located in downtown Omaha for the first time. Initially, I was disappointed with the lack of restaurant options, poor sleeping quality and rooms. There is one sports bar within walking distance - the food is as you might expect, cheap prices, but low quality. The hotel is located right next to a busy street - and you hear police cars all through the night. Finally, the lobby has undergone renovation, but the rooms remain in 90's style decor. The second night I endured an incident I will never forget... I had a fellow colleague pick me up for dinner (at 6:30pm)- on our way out of the parking lot, an intoxicated man was banging on the car window asking for money. At 8:30pm, when I returned to the hotel, the entire building was on "lock down" and you were required to use your key card to enter the lobby. I would not recommend this location to anyone, nor will I ever stay there personally again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OMAFD, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Omaha Downtown, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of your January stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Omaha Downtown. We truly value your feedback and comments like yours enable us to improve the quality of our product and services on a daily basis. I’m disappointed to learn that you were inconvenied by a pan handler and not made aware of the restaurant offerings near our property.

We take the safety and security of our guest seriously. On a nightly basis we lock our main entrance at 11pm and if needed we do lock the main doors earlier again if there is a safety concern that we are addressing. In addition we do have security cameras that are monitored and a Night Manager that addresses any safety concerns. We do wish we would have known at the time when you were approached in the parking lot as we would have handled this situation immediately.

Additionally, we do have some great restaurants within walking distance to our hotel: The Old Mattress Factory, Goodnight's Pizza, and The Union Pizzeria Bar and Grill and Blatt Beer and Table. Also as you mentioned, we are happy to shuttle guests to restaurants within a 3 mile radius of Fairfield as well. Sorry to hear we did not direct you to any locations within walking distance on your recent stay with us.

This is great feedback for our hotel team and we will be sure to share your comments with them. Thank you again for your time in completing a review from your stay with us! We hope you will give our property another chance. I would personally like to offer you a complimentary upgrade we hope to see you back again soon!

Yours in hospitality,

Vernetta B. Kosalka, MOL
Assistant General Manager
vkosalka@fhginc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were back in the heartland for a wedding and the shuttle serve is outstanding. They will pick you up from the airport (just remember to call) as well as anywhere in the metro within a few miles of the hotel. I was told that they will also take you to and from the zoo. They allowed us a very late check out as well as use of the facilities after we had checked out that morning to change for the wedding.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OMAFD, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Omaha Downtown, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your January stay at Fairfield Inn and Suites Omaha Downtown and for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay! We appreciate guest feedback!

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall. We appreciate your comments on the great service you received and the location of the hotel. We do have some great restaurants within walking distance to our hotel: The Old Mattress Factory, Goodnight's Pizza, and The Union Pizzeria Bar and Grill and Blatt Beer and Table. Also as you mentioned, we are happy to shuttle guests to restaurants within a 3 mile radius (also the Zoo & Airport) of Faifield as well.

Thank you again for your time in completing a review from your stay with us! We hope to see you back again soon!

Yours in hospitality,

Vernetta B. Kosalka, MOL
Assistant General Manager
vkosalka@fhginc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great welcoming staff and efficient front desk. Rooms are satisfactory and clean. Breakfast about average. Common areas good. Night we were there a youth convention was in town. Thought maybe the hotel would be noisy. Staff assured us they were in control. And they kept their promise.
It is a little out of the way but the shuttle was convenient and safe.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OMAFD, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Omaha Downtown, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us! We appreciate your positive comments.

Our Front Office Team will be excited that you commented on how EXCELLENT they are. We will be sure to share your comments with them.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Yours in hospitality,

Vernetta B. Kosalka, MOL
Assistant General Manager
vkosalka@fhginc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here the first weekend in November for an event at the Century Link Center. The hotel is within close proximity of there, as well as very convenient to the Old Market area, the entire downtown, Creighton University, the Airport, and the major freeways. There are a few dining and shopping options within walking distance....numerous others within a five or ten minute drive, including the Old Market.

The hotel itself is a newer property, well maintained, with clean, comfortable rooms with everything in good working order, great beds, and a good, efficiently run breakfast area, with a good variety of choices. (Worth noting that even though the hotel was full, there was never a problem with breakfast items running out)

Which brings me to this hotel's greatest asset. The staff. Competent, friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. We had a few special needs during our stay (among other things, my wife was a bit hobbled by a broken arm) . None of our needs or requests were extreme, But all of our little "odds and ends" were handled promptly and cheerfully. The staff and management alike treated us like they were glad to have us and glad to help.

I'm a 33-year business traveler, and lifetime platinum member with Marriott, so I know and appreciate hotels that "have their act together". This is definitely one of the better ones. And a really good value, to boot. I heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OMAFD, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Omaha Downtown, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us! We appreciate your positive comments. I’m so glad that you enjoyed your overall EXPERIENCE in Omaha and our hotel location made everything accessible to you! We've been here since 2008 and guests continue to be impressed by our services and amenities! Our Front Office Team will be excited that you commented on how EXCELLENT they are. We will be sure to share your comments with them.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Yours in hospitality,

Vernetta B. Kosalka, MOL
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe City, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were in Omaha the last weekend in September for the Ak-Sar-Ben Livestock Show and Rodeo. It was our first trip so wanted to stay relatively close the Century Link. The Fairfield Inn fit the bill as far as proximity and was good value for the money but knowing we will be back each year for this show I booked somewhere else next year. I'm looking for perfection and this wasn't it.
They did give us a bonus while staying. We had booked a suite since we have more than 2 kids and need the extra space. They had overbooked suites I guess and gave us 2 adjoining rooms for the same price. The kids were thrilled.
Our reasons for staying somewhere else boil down to..We were a little disappointed in the pool. It was really small and that is always a major thing with the kids. Breakfast in the morning was your basic fair. My husband follows a low carb diet so he was left pretty hungry. He peeled the biscuit off his Bob Evans breakfast sandwich and called it good. And the one big disatisfier I had was the coffee. It was definitely worth the walk to the coffee shop at the hotel in front of the Fairfield the next morning. Guess I could add that the beds are really not comfy either.
If you are just wanting a nice clean room and not picky about the little things this is a good choice. We don't get to go a lot so I'm looking for perfection.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OMAFD, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Omaha Downtown, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us! We've had some staffing changes and wanted to reach back to last year’s reviewers. We appreciate your positive comments overall.

I’m so glad that you enjoyed your overall EXPERIENCE in Omaha and our hotel location made everything accessible to you! As of April 1, 2013 were rolling out a New Complimentary Hot Breakfast featuring Scrambled Eggs, Jimmy Dean Breakfast proteins (sausage patties and turkey sausage), Biscuits & Gravy, Belgian Waffles, pre-cut whole fruit, breads, cereals, hard boiled eggs and yogurt options..and more!

We feature our Bold Beginnings Hot Coffee but that Scooter Coffeehouse is still next door!

Our Front Office Team will be excited that you commented on how EXCELLENT they are. We will be sure to share your comments with them. We look forward to seeing you back again soon for this year's Rodeo Show!

Yours in hospitality,

Vernetta B. Kosalka, MOL
Assistant General Manager
vkosalka@fhginc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Omaha Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Omaha Downtown

Address: 1501 Nicholas Street, Omaha, NE 68102
Location: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 74 Hotels in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Omaha Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in our spacious double-bed suite. Enjoy two, 42" LCD TV's in each room, sofa-bed sleeper, complimentary WiFi and complimentary breakfast in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Omaha Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Omaha Downtown Hotel Omaha
Fairfield Inn And Suites Omaha Downtown
Fairfield Inn Omaha
Omaha Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Omaha Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.