We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient romance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel Omaha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Magnolia Hotel Omaha to your Saves list
Magnolia Hotel Omaha
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1615 Howard St, Omaha, NE 68102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$30 OFF BEST RATES
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Omaha
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Convenient romance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Way better than either of us expected, turned a quick getaway into a romantic getaway. Location is awesome walking distance to the amazing old market area. We drove up from Kansas City, MO planning on visiting the zoo, fantastic zoo, the hotel is very close to the zoo.when we arrived we were extremely pleased with the repurposed elegance of the old aquilla court house. Every thing was very nice, and made for an amazing getaway.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Love is in the air! We're so happy you chose to stay with us and we appreciate the kind words - we're looking forward to the next getaway -

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    295
    109
    73
    63
See reviews for
221
661
106
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I was traveling through Omaha on my way to take my daughter to college. We arrived late due to traveling all day, (9:30pm). Upon getting to our room we Called room service for a couple of sandwiches
(9:45pm). Was told RS was closed
For the night. (Their hours are until 10pm),but was informed they were closed, even after telling them my day and the reason for the trip. Needless to say, I will Never being staying there again!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the review. Your experience with room service has been noted and addressed. We hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

It was conveniently located in downtown Omaha, very near to the old warehouse district, where there are lots of opportunities for shopping and dining. Street parking is free on the weekends and easy to find all around the hotel, if you want to avoid paying for the valet parking. Our room was clean and comfortable, overlooking the interior courtyard, which was very cute, and where a wedding was held while we were there. We loved the continental breakfast and the "bedtime snack" of milk and cookies! Free wifi worked great. These little touches elevated our experience at Magnolia over similar, but not quite as good experiences with chains in other cities. The staff I encountered were all very friendly, especially the bartender and servers in the lounge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thanks for staying and thanks for typing up a review. You are now our "go-to guest" so whenever you wanna come back and see us, you go ahead and do it! The goodness will be here.

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Ma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is a charming, well equipped hotel in an excellent location in downtown Omaha. The basics all work well: Internet was consistent and easy to access; breakfast and evening reception were fantastic adds; i had reserved a queen but they upgraded me to a suite -- both rooms were terrific. It's a historic building and that gives it some quirks compared to standard hotels -- you either like that in a hotel (I do) or go for a more cookie-cutter new building (where you won't get free cookies in the evening, either). I found the staff to be gracious and friendly, they even have bikes to loan out. Terrific free shuttle service -- including the completely convenient Omaha airport make this a great selection if you're traveling to Omaha and aren't renting a car.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
YES! Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the review. We're glad to hear we're doing good so we appreciate you being a part of making us be even better. Till next time -

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Magnolia chain is typical of the new genre of trendy hotels based on re-purposed older factory or office buildings, magically transformed into lodging facilities -- often with mixed success. In Magnolia's case, the success was definitely mixed. The building's interior looks "tired" and dirty, and despite free night time cookies and a free happy hour we just couldn't get very enthused.

One reason was undoubtedly our check in experience. The hotel had given our reserved "corner king suite" away and the dim-wit desk clerk tried to pass off a queen suite with a jacuzzi as an upgrade. When I called them on the obvious bait and switch, they suddenly came up with another king suite, only it wasn't a suite, which we discovered only after schlepping our bags up to the room. When I raised hell with the manager, he produced a bi-level king suite, which by this time we accepted out of sheer fatigue. The only problem was, the suite smelled like cigarettes, was filthy, and had a bathroom reminiscent of a 1950s Howard Johnson. It had clearly been used as a meeting room overflow space. Oh, and because the college world series was in town, the tab for the room on the first night was $399... Welcome to Omaha.

We finally got the room cleaned, but the initial disappointment never quite wore off. That said, one bright spot was the restaurant and the bar and wait staff. Very professional, and the lunch and late night burger we ordered were surprisingly tasty.

Despite our unpleasant experience, most guests, busy road-warrior Millenials, probably on limited expense accounts, seem pleased. I'll admit, we're just not the Magnolia's target customers, so a nagging source of our issues was undoubtedly our preference for an environment with a few more traditional creature comforts. Like clean carpet, soft towels, unstained furniture, bathrooms where the door doesn't hit the edge of the toilet... You get the picture.

We won't be back, obviously. But if you're a thirty-something, on the road four days a week, and need a place to crash in Omaha, you might feel differently. Hey, the bartender told us that the bar scene was pretty happening most nights... Still, you might want to sleep with the lights on...

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you check in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. This review will help us to improve customer appreciation and satisfaction. Thank you for your review and offering us an opportunity to make our already great services, even better.

Regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Kansas, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My son and I had a very relaxing holiday weekend at the Magnolia Hotel Omaha. Free shuttle to downtown restaurants, complimentary milk and cookies were some of our favorite things. The hotel was beautiful and the room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Comfort, convenience, cookies. That's what we do! Thank you for staying with us and for reviewing. We hope to have you back again soon -

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This beautiful hotel helped make our stay. The two floor suite was fun and had a nice view of the courtyard. Furniture throughout the hotel was very nice. The free beer and wine hour was the perfect start to our night out and when it rained the staff happily offered an umbrella. We made it back in time for complementary cookies/milk and coffee before bed and woke to a great full buffet breakfast in the trendy looking lounge. The only downsides were slow internet and a fairly firm bed (still slept peacefully).I love this hotel and will be back again next time I'm in Omaha (or their other locations).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thanks for staying with us and thanks for taking time to write about it! We're happy you were pleased and your comments in regards to bed firmness and WiFi have been noted.
We hope to have you back again in the future -

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Hotel Omaha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Omaha

Address: 1615 Howard St, Omaha, NE 68102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Omaha
#5 Business Hotel in Omaha
#6 Family Hotel in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magnolia Hotel Omaha 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Omaha hotel offers stylish rooms & suites located near many major corporate headquarters and offices. The hotel also features meeting & event facilities and extended stay accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Omaha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Magnolia Omaha Hotel Omaha
The Magnolia Hotel Omaha
Magnolia Omaha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Hotel Omaha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.