We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected...Fire arlam went off over & over” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel Omaha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Magnolia Hotel Omaha to your Saves list
Magnolia Hotel Omaha
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1615 Howard St, Omaha, NE 68102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $20 on select meals
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in Omaha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grand Island, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not what we expected...Fire arlam went off over & over”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We rented a suite and were disappointed, the pictures on the website are deceptive. And around 12:30am the fire alarm went off. All guests were asked to wait outside so they could make sure it was a glitch and not a fire. Fine I appreciate that. However, it continued to go off about every 10-15 minutes for the next 2.5 hours. When I asked for some compensation I was told that things like that are out of their hands therefore they felt no need to compensate us further than reimbursement of our valet parking! We will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't spend extra, just get the regular room. And don't open the bottle of water in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Janet E,

Thank you for staying with us, for taking the time to review, and for bearing with us during that alarming night. We appreciate all our guests patience as we worked to correct the system, as the safety of our guests is important. Thank you again for staying.

Regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    313
    116
    74
    64
See reviews for
235
701
112
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The location near the Orpheum Theater and Old Market makes this renovated apartment building the best boutique hotel in Omaha or the Plains! The staff were helpful to every guest, as demonstrated in the wedding held here during our stay (we didn't even attend it -- we saw them running the show!) Breakfast was fabulous and they were prepared for the weekend rush with plenty of coffee and rolls and fruit in separate stations so one would not have to stand in a long line to get a quick nibble. The lemon ice water and cucumber ice water was available as soon as guests walked into the lobby from the hot Omaha streets. We missed the complimentary drinks from 5:30 to 6:30pm because our loft suite was so enjoyable and comfortable. We couldn't bring ourselves to leave!

Room Tip: The loft suites are like apartments with full, if not spacious, kitchens, including ovens and dishwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Hey Sharon L,

What a great review! The water and service and all of the things you enjoyed, will be here when you come back - we hope it's soon. Till then,

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My nephew was married at the Magnolia, and all was wonderful. A very nice experience. Rachel behind the desk was very accommodating, the bartenders were very efficient, the potatoes and veggies served at the reception were very good. (The beef could be more tender.)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Hey Paul M,

We love being a part of those wonderful occasions! Your comment in regards to tenderness of beef has been noted. We hope to have you back as a guest again soon -

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant, Nebraska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Clean hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Within walking distance of the Orpheum Theater and Old Market. Offer valet service for parking. Breakfast buffet was not hot when we got there, but we got there near the end so earlier probably would have been better. Good selection. Have stayed there numerous times and most certainly will again. Did not use the pool or spa (not sure there is one although I assume there is) but couldn't change the rating.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Hey Karon H,

Thanks for staying with us again! And thanks for reviewing. We do not have a pool or spa, but our 24hour fitness facility is always open and awesome. Your comments in regards to food temperature have been noted and we appreciate your business. We hope to see you again soon -

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Nebraska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Wanted to experience staying in this historic location while in town to see Wicked at the Orpheum - It is less than a block away! Nice walk to the Old Market for appetizers before the show. Every member of the staff we engaged with was friendly, professional and went out of their way to be helpful. Really enjoyed the iced cucumber water and free evening reception and breakfast. Valet parking was very handy but had no need for our car during our stay - unlike another review, It was an extra charge for us. Room was nicely appointed, quiet and beds were so comfy. Highly recommend this hotel for it's charm, convenience and great staff.

Room Tip: Outlet in our room was behind the towels - not intuitively obvious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Hey Debby3388,

Thanks for staying and thanks for reviewing! We're so glad that everything was up to snuff - we hope to have you back soon - till then,

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Very nice Hotel! They have clean rooms, good locations, valet parking, great staff. They have a nice hot breakfast, Cookies and milk at night. Free Beer and Wine in the evening for Happy Hour. I was also able to purchase a nice steak dinner as part of my package. Friendly and helpful staff. Great stay all the way around.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Hey CarrieAmsbary,

Great stay, great review! We appreciate the feedback and hope to have you back soon -

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Older hotel but beautiful. we stayed in the presidential suite which was amazing. our friends had a normal suite which was just about average. maybe really pricey for what you got. The staff was wonderful The enchilada soup was the best soup I have had to date. Beautiful hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Hey noscreenname60885,

That enchilada soup! We're so happy that we raised the bar in so many areas, and hope to have you back soon.

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Hotel Omaha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Omaha

Address: 1615 Howard St, Omaha, NE 68102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Omaha
#4 Family Hotel in Omaha
#5 Business Hotel in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magnolia Hotel Omaha 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Omaha hotel offers stylish rooms & suites located near many major corporate headquarters and offices. The hotel also features meeting & event facilities and extended stay accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Omaha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Magnolia Omaha Hotel Omaha
The Magnolia Hotel Omaha
Magnolia Omaha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Hotel Omaha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.