We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Good Points... But There Are Problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Hotel Omaha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Magnolia Hotel Omaha to your Saves list
Magnolia Hotel Omaha
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1615 Howard St, Omaha, NE 68102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$30 OFF BEST RATES
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Omaha
Kansas City
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Some Good Points... But There Are Problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Unfortunately, the good points about this place have little to do with the hotel itself.
It is very close to the Old Market... and the Old Market is a great place. The location is ideal if you are doing business in downtown Omaha, and there is a convenient airport shuttle.

Check In
The check in area looks like a bank teller window in a cramped entry way. I know they are tring to maintain the historical integrity of the design, but the check in "window" is inches from the front door. It is not welcoming.

Rooms
The rooms are very nicely done in a modern chic design. The decor is very nice. This was a high point. The bathrooms were nice, but water pressure was very poor in the shower and the toilet could barely flush.

Overall Property
I can forgive a lot if there is historical charm, but there were a lot of scratches on the wood doors etc. The courtyard looked abandoned, and desolate. This place could be a showpiece but it was just left to look at with not activity there. The elevators were very slow.

The breakfast buffet was okay but they make you eat it in a windowless room with plain white convention tablecloths thrown over fold up round tables. Very odd. All of these windows and scenery available on the property and they make you eat in a dreary room with no decor. The coffee was excellent... however.

The Restaurant Bar
This is the best part of the place. The decor is very, very cool, the space is nice with outdoor seating. John the bartender was fantastic. They also have a free drink happy hour, nice televisions and VERY cool music. They need to let the look and feel of that space linger into the breakfast area.

Internet
It is Free... But was very slow in peak periods.

Value
Way too pricey for the experience you get. This would have been more tolerable with a price fitting the quality of the place.

Room Tip: Ask for lowest floor. Elevators are slow and there are few picturesque views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    295
    109
    73
    63
See reviews for
222
661
106
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011 via mobile

I was expecting more from the Magnolia. I had two major concerns. When I got to my room I went in the bathroom. The toilet seat was up so I lowered it to find a hair from the nether regions and a smudge of feces on the toilet seat. This led me to be skeptical of the room's overall cleanliness. One of my bedsheets had a tear in it: not a huge deal, but not acceptable for a hotel of this class. This further led me to question housekeeping's attention to detail.

The bed was not particularly comfortable and the shower was prone to not having enough hot water at prime morning time. Breakfast was nothing special and the shuttle did not meet our needs.

The staff was nice and the hotel is in a really neat, quaint building. Walking distance to lots of great restaurants, etc.

The Magnolia should be a great place to stay, but it needs some work to be worth its price point. For now, there are plenty of better choices in Omaha.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I was very impressed with The Magnolia in Omaha. The hotel retains much of its circa 1920s charm but with all the modern amenities - Internet access, exercise room and an on-site lounge/restaurant. Breakfast is included and so is cookies and milk in the evening. Every staff person I came across, no matter what his or her job, was friendly and helpful. The hotel also is located only a few blocks from The Old Market, which offers a variety of quirky shops and excellent dining. It also worked quite well for the conference I was attending, although we were a small group, and it may not work for a large group.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Courtyard. It embodies the hotel's character, and even though it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I stayed here for a business trip and felt very comfortable alone in this hotel. The service was top-notch and the room was clean and comfortable. Normally I wear something on my feet constantly in hotel rooms, but this hotel was bare foot material! Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from Howard St. for a little more quiet. It wasn't a problem after 10 p.m. bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed at the Magnolia for my niece's wedding. The accomodations were teriffic. The valet parking was wonderful and they even shuttled us to the wedding reception and back to the hotel later. This is a beautiful hotel and I would be happy to stay there again. I would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to stay close to the Old Market or who is going to be going to the Orpheum for an evening event.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

My girlfriends and I came in town for a concert and loved that our hotel was just blocks away from the Old Market area. The staff was friendly and the valet (Joel) went above and beyond to get us to our concert and pick us up. The room was clean and welcoming and we LOVED that there was not extra charge for internet. Our air conditioner had a little problem and they fixed it right away. We were sad to miss the happy hour/cookies/breakfast, but because we had an event to go to and slept in, we missed all three! Will have to come back again to experience those. Would recommend this little gem over a chain any day!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the back courtyard that was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Nebraska, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I have been a frequent guest at the Magnolia and have loved every night spent there. The staff is hospitable and ready to serve. We love that the building was restored as we are tired of the franchise hotels. It is more than a hotel, it is an experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Hotel Omaha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Omaha

Address: 1615 Howard St, Omaha, NE 68102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Omaha
#4 Business Hotel in Omaha
#5 Family Hotel in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magnolia Hotel Omaha 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Omaha hotel offers stylish rooms & suites located near many major corporate headquarters and offices. The hotel also features meeting & event facilities and extended stay accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Omaha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Magnolia Omaha Hotel Omaha
The Magnolia Hotel Omaha
Magnolia Omaha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Hotel Omaha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.