We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dump, Dump, Dump with misleading photo on website” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3321 South 72nd St., Omaha, NE 68124 (Formerly Omaha Tropics Resort and Convention Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #41 of 74 Hotels in Omaha
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Dump, Dump, Dump with misleading photo on website”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed in the "Tower" for 2 nights. Booked a King and were placed in a corner alcove with a noisy ice machine, so we requested to move and were placed in (it seemed) a partially furnished, ne'er maintained queen. The heater cover was broken off & was so noisy (sounded like a little drummer boy was stuck inside). Chose to turn off the heat -- only had a thin poly quilt, no extra blanket, no bedpread. SPARTAN. check out the photo of the city's smallest bathroom. Perhaps open the curtain to find bird poop splattered window below a nesting hole they'd carved from the wall. Care to read at night? Too bad ... no lamp for the bed or the couch. Worried about privacy? Well only part of the security latch exists ... and no hook on the robe hook in bathroom.

Could not wait to get out of there. The staff did not seem interested. When we called the front desk the first time, got VOICE MAIL !! It was a busy weekend in town, so our options to move were restricted.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina V, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with me. Your comments, good or bad, are a great tool to see where we are succeeding or where improvements need to be made. My sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay with us. Coming off a new renovation, a lot of changes at once can cause some chaos, but I can assure you that our new management team is making all efforts to improve our service and efficiency. We are still in the process of updating our rooms and making sure that rooms are thoroughly inspected and broken items are fixed immediately. I do apologize you felt unsafe with the safety latch broken, but please know that our guest room doors are equipped with deadbolt lock for extra security. If you could please contact me directly at kristina.voelker@ramadaplazaomaha.com, I would like to have your room number so I may have all repairs done immediately. Thank you again for bringing this feedback to our attention. We cannot improve unless we know where we are lacking. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    398
    321
    210
    131
See reviews for
991
48
18
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel seriously lacks natural daylight. The very large central bar area has no windows either, just a waterfall so you get to listen to that all night, which you might or might not like....
I had booked a suite and although my room was a reasonable size with a kitchenette, sofa and table it was still very disappointing; there was no natural daylight and only very poor and dim lighting - not even a bedside lamp or switch I could reach from the bed!
My room had two doors to two different corridors plus another door to a connecting room (not used) and so being right in the middle of everything there was frequent noise and it certainly didn't feel cosy at all.

The bathroom didn't have any kind of shelf to put my toiletries and shaver on and the cleaner had balanced the shampoos etc on a towel rail while the tissues were perched on top of the hair dryer. This would be a very simple fix that would make the bathroom so much easier to use The bathroom extractor fan was also running the whole time which was irritating.

Oddly it wasn't possible to get a bottle of water from the bar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina V, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with me. Your comments, good or bad, are a great tool to see where we are succeeding or where improvements need to be made. My sincerest apologies you were not very comfortable during your stay. I will be happy to pass your feedback along to our Executive Housekeeper and Chief Engineer for correction in some of the little inconveniences. Coming off a new renovation, we are most definitely still working in getting all the pieces of the puzzle together. We most certainly do appreciate all your feedback! Please feel free to contact me directly at kristina.voelker@ramadaplazaomaha.com if you would like to share any further details with me. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Rarely wod I leave a bad review as it has to be pretty bad for me to take the time. In this case I'm writing in hopes someone from Ramada reads this or better yet the poor service improves!

The waterpark here is good. Clean, easy for kids and adults, has a bar and food. Good entertainment for sure. The rooms are clean. No complaints.

The checkin process was a pain. I tried to check in at 1pm and get adjoining rooms and the best she had were 2 rooms across the hall. I said that was fine and she said if I waited until 4pm to check in there would be adjoining rooms available. So I did, came back at 4pm and we ended up in rooms 3 doors apart. Not an ounce of care that we had all the kids in tow...etc, and when I TD her what I'd been TD about returning at 4pm she said she'd never heard of that.

Castaways...whoever was the bartender the evening of May 4th, you need a customer service lesson. I bring my 2 boys with me, order a beer, they order waters and pop. He doesn't say anything but "they can't be I here." What? It's a restaurant. What he meant was they can't sit at the bar. I get that but we have to order from the bar because you never leave it. He then repeats it toward my boys. To which I reply, we heard you, we just want drinks and we'll sit in a booth. Still doesn't register until I literally say, I know the law, we're not sitting here we're just ordering so put the drinks in glasses and we'll go find a booth. That was 9:30pm. 10 minutes later he comes over and asks if I want another beer because its last call. 2 minutes after that a group of 4 adults walks in and orders, no problem.

I could go on, but it's people like this guy that will take our business elsewhere. I travel 500K miles, 160 nights /year for business. I will specifically avoid a Ramada for this reason alone. So nice work whoever was working Castaways Bar on May 4th. Rudeness and poor manners never fly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina V, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with me. Your comments, good or bad, are a great tool to see where we are succeeding or where improvements need to be made. My sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. I will personally make sure that the agent who checked you in is spoken to and re-trained. This should never have happened and I am deeply sorry for the inconveniences this caused you. I will also be happy to pass your feedback along to our Food & Beverage Director for the issues in the Castways Restaurant. Coming off a new renovation, a lot of changes at once can cause some chaos, but I can assure you that our new management team is making all efforts to improve our service and efficiency. Please feel free to contact me directly at kristina.voelker@ramadaplazaomaha.com if you would like to share any further details with me. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center

Address: 3321 South 72nd St., Omaha, NE 68124 (Formerly Omaha Tropics Resort and Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 74 Hotels in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check in to the newly remodeled Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center. After some major renovations, including totally refurbished guestrooms and public areas, plus the additions of Bluestem Lounge and Brewed Awakenings coffee shop, there's something for everyone. Our brand new restaurant, The Claim House, offers fine food and drink in a casual atmosphere. We have over 80,000 square feet of flexible meeting space suited for every type of event. With free WiFi, plenty of free parking, and outstanding guest service, whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, you’re sure to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center & Coco Key Water Omaha
Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel And Convention Center & Coco Key Water Resort
Holiday Inn Omaha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.