We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zoo & waterpark stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3321 South 72nd St., Omaha, NE 68124 (Formerly Omaha Tropics Resort and Convention Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #41 of 74 Hotels in Omaha
Grand Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Zoo & waterpark stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very nice room. No problems. Would recommend hotel. Omaha Ramada. Zoo & CoCo Keys package. Will return to this location. Remodeling was still going on but didn't inconvenience us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff F, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
I was pleased to hear you enjoyed all that we had to offer here at the Ramada Plaza!! Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to share your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Omaha area on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    397
    321
    210
    131
See reviews for
988
48
18
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TOPEKA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My ONLY complaint is: we were awakened to a very loud continuous banging noise around 7:00 - 7:30 AM the morning of check-out. We reported it to the front desk and they said they would send someone up but no one ever came. We called again and still no one came. Then housekeeping banged on the door at 8:30 AM and just wanted to know when we were going to check out. Other than these two things, the hotel is absolutely wonderful. It is beautiful and clean and we loved the water resort. The restaurant staff was great. David served us both mornings and he was delightful! The food was delicious. I will definately come back sometime in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff F, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
I was very pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and our waterpark. (which is now included in all of our room rates as of October 1st) I am at a loss for the banging noise you have mentioned. My apologies for the noise and housekeeping knocking on your door, this will be addressed. I will personally thank David for the outstanding service he provided to you during your visit. We are glad you chose to stay with us and look forward to your next visit to the Omaha area! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOPEKA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. My only complaint was the morning of our 2nd night I heard what sounded like a basketball being bounced above our room from 720a until 930a. At st I thought it was a kid but there is no way any parent would let their kid do this for this long nor would a kid continue without getting bored. I think they were fixing something or doing construction but 720a is too early to start if you want your guests happy. Also the hot tub was broke and it would of been nice to use after walking all day at the zoo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff F, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with the exception of the noise and hot tub issues. I am at a loss for what the noise could have been. I will certainly have my maintenance department look into what it could have been. Thank you for your stay and giving us your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OMAHA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was for the Miss Amazing Pageant and the service in every way was the best ever.

We liked the rooms the best, since it has everything you need and it was very clean and comfortable.

Liked the least, the prices at the restaurant , The kids meals are reasonable, but, it would be nice to give seniors or others who cannot handle a large meal more choices like the kids meals with the same low prices.


  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff F, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay. I hope you enjoyed the pagent, I stopped in a few times during the event and it looked like a good time was had by all that attended. We look forward to hosting this event in the future and having you as a guest again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

the hotel was nice - but not for the price. if you look around the same area (72nd and grover) you can get the same kind of room for less money

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff F, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and giving us your feedback. I am sorry you felt the price was too high. We do offer discounts on many online channels during certain periods. Feel free to call me direct for you next visit to Omaha and I will assure you the best possible rate for your stay. Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We purchased the Deal Garden deal, (a great deal) for September 20th and 21st.
We drove about 80 miles to get here, and when we arrived , checked into our room, the room was very clean and nice, we did wait for the water park to open, only to be told it was down for the next 2 days and we were so disappointed, but the hotel management, made it right for us, they gave us those 2 nights free and invited us to come back on our reservations, our trip there was not a total waste , the management and front desk were very nice and told us of places we could go for fun, and we did. We ate breakfast and lunch at the Castaway, and the staff there were very, very nice and the service was great . We cant wait to go back and enjoy 2 days at the Waterpark. Thank you Ramada for your kindness. April Malone

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff F, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for responding to your trip to Omaha, we are glad you chose to stay with us. Operating a waterpark comes with many challenges, most hotels have a single pool, we have over 15 different attractions in the park, once one has an issue, we have to close them all for the safety of our guests....it is all working properly again. We look forward to your return and seeing your children enjoy all we have to offer in the park. Again, Thank you for the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I've stayed here several times, starting several years ago when it was a Holiday Inn to just getting home several hours ago.
I much preferred the place as a Holiday Inn. The large pool separate from the waterpark and an indoor playground were great amenities for families with young kids.
On our trip this weekend, I made our reservations less than 24 hours before arrival. When we arrived at the waterpark, we found out the baby pool and the hot tub were closed, yet nothing was mentioned to me when I made the reservation. These are 2 of the 3 things we enjoyed, so we were basically overpaying to use a lazy river. You'd think if about 1/3 of the waterpark were closed, it would be mentioned before making reservations.
Staff at the front desk were cheerful and friendly. Waterpark lifeguards seem more on the job to socialize and look as unpleasant to guests as possible. Smiles seem rare.
Don't go unless there is a discount offered. We purchased through Deal Garden, and that's the only time we will go. $25 per person for a small waterpark is ridiculous. Absolutely ridiculous. Key ages for the park would be 5-8, I think.
Hotel under construction still - don't be fooled by the "Visit our completely renovated hotel!" garbage you see on the hotel's main webpage. If you wanted to use the fitness room, you need to walk to the hotel next door.
Our one bright spot came in the Castaway's restaurant. We enjoyed our breakfasts that came with the Deal Garden package. David was great - he played hide & seek with the kids when they finished eating, and when we visited the second morning, our son asked him if they could play again! Keep him around!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff F, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for the comments and feedback, you have some very good points to help us improve in our communication when mechanical problems occur. My sincere apologies for the problems with the waterpark. I was glad to see the staff was was a bright point in your trip. We strive for great guest satisfaction, your comments will help us drive the needle further. Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center

Address: 3321 South 72nd St., Omaha, NE 68124 (Formerly Omaha Tropics Resort and Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 74 Hotels in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check in to the newly remodeled Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center. After some major renovations, including totally refurbished guestrooms and public areas, plus the additions of Bluestem Lounge and Brewed Awakenings coffee shop, there's something for everyone. Our brand new restaurant, The Claim House, offers fine food and drink in a casual atmosphere. We have over 80,000 square feet of flexible meeting space suited for every type of event. With free WiFi, plenty of free parking, and outstanding guest service, whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, you’re sure to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center & Coco Key Water Omaha
Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel And Convention Center & Coco Key Water Resort
Holiday Inn Omaha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Omaha Hotel & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.