We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely property, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Deco XV

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Deco XV to your Saves list
Hotel Deco XV
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1504 Harney Street, Omaha, NE 68102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #37 of 74 Hotels in Omaha
Mason, Mi
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A lovely property, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I chose this hotel randomly, based on TripAdvisor reviews & a truly discounted rate on Travelocity. Hotel Deco is a beautifully appointed historic hotel. My room was amazing, comfortable, spacious, and very quiet. The multi-jet shower was a welcome feature after having driven halfway across the state, and the hotel's location just at the edge of Omaha's Oldtown was convenient for walking to restuarants and shops. And the room service was divine. I've attached a picture of the room service meal I ordered the first night I arrived -- it was one of the most delicious salads I've ever had and the stuffed figs alone were well worth my stay at the hotel!
This place has gotten some negative reviews on TripAdvisor (noise, service, etc.) but I had none of those problems at all. All the staff were quite attentive and the service was fast & well-done. I'll go back again with my husband when we visit Omaha later in the year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side that faces away from the popular nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    45
    21
    20
    18
See reviews for
13
60
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Le Mars, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our room was across the street from a bar that had people partying outside until after 2:45 a.m. It was as if they were in the next room and was horrible! We have never stayed in a hotel this bad for noise. Then when we went to get our car in the morning the valet told us that one of the tires of our car had a puncture and was flat. We have a new vehicle and when we drove to the hotel and had them park it, there was no problem with the tires. They have valet parking and we don't know where they park the cars and could this have happened somewhere remotely where they put our car?

Room Tip: Never stay in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Phenomenal service from Michael, Victroia, Leah, Tyrone, Jim, Patrick, and the rest of the team. In addition, before we had even figured out we had left a phone charger they called and let us know they would mail it to our home. They are all so friendly and helpful. Plus, I hear that Leah is a great Zumba instructor! Absolutely loved the 6 jet shower and unique decor. Walking distance to Old Market shops and resturants.

Room Tip: 4th floor was a little loud...ask to be on a higher level if you don't want to hear late night p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I had a one night stay here last night- the staff was friendly and accommodating - We first had a room on the 5th floor and the street noise was quite loud- and since I'm a light sleeper, I called and asked for a fan- they moved us to the 10th floor instead and it seemed much quieter. Before we went out, we stopped a The Zin room for a drink within the hotel. Nice bar and I had a great cucumber mixed drink. Next we went to dinner and the hotel shuttle took us to the restaurant and picked us up later from a bar. It's a 24 hour courtesy shuttle for downtown- pretty awesome! But when we came back to sleep - I got woken up quite a few times from the train, a couple of ambulances, and the bar down below- drunken people at 2:30 in the morning happily talking very loudly and yelling. It's amazing you could hear it all so clearly on the 10th floor! The windows appear to be original - I'm not sure- but they seem old and single-paned. Although I can see why they kept them- it's not for a light sleeper. They could benefit from some double-paned new ones that block out much more of the street noise. So, even though the room is clean, the bed comfortable, and the interior of the hotel is relatively quiet - it was a rough night. The next morning made up a little for the lack of sleep with a fantastic shower! There is a great large shower head on top, six mini body ones on a vertical panel, and then a hand-held mini shower head - but the handheld made a loud squeaky sound so we didn't use that one - but not necessary with all the other options- pretty nice. Since the staff and the room and the amenities were fantastic, I wish I could give it 5 stars, but the whole point of a hotel for me in the end is a good night's sleep - and I didn't get that with all the street noise. This is Omaha, not New York- it should not be that loud- and other Omaha hotels are not that loud with the street noise. If they replaced the windows - 5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Entire staff from valet to front desk to drivers to restaurant staff are engaging,friendly, and helpful.
Rooms are very large and beautifully decorated. Wood floors, beautiful area rugs, draperies, bedding etc. Bathroom and shower were outstanding. The bed and pillows were awesome.There were six large windows in our suite that we could open a small ways for fresh air.
The restaurant Zin Room had delicious food and an exceptional staff. Our waiter Selena was new but made great suggestions, was friendly, and we felt we were her only table even though we saw her taking care of an entire section. Have a side of smokey mac and cheese and the onion rings. Great. The hotel offers transportation throughout the Old Market and I heard some guests going to the casinos. This is offered 24 hours. Both of our drivers were friendly, prompt, and knowledgeable.
We returned from an event around 11 pm and the desk said the lobby bar was getting ready to close. However, Faith offered to stay open and made a new drink for us that she had created with pineapple vodka.She did not rush us and made friendly conversation.
We were upgraded to a suite due to our membership in I Prefer. Living area was great with comfortable chairs, wet bar, desk, etc.
We ordered room service for breakfast. It arrived in about 15 minutes. The omelet was tasty with lots of ham. If you even remotely like oatmeal you have to try the banana bread oatmeal. Oatmeal with maple syrup ,brown sugar, and bananas.The size of the dish is astounding. Clearly enough for 4 people. It is fabulous.
This is a hidden treasure for people in Omaha wanting a special night away from home or travelers. We peeked in on a couple or regular rooms with 2 queen beds and they were huge.
The staff at this hotel is over the top. That combined with the beautiful spacious rooms, great food,and transportation makes it a winner for us. We will be back.

Room Tip: sign up for I prefer and you will get a free upgrade if available, early check in and late check out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Let me preface this by saying that as someone who stays in different hotel every night for work, I have very rarely run across one that stands out from the rest the way this one did. I almost never write reviews for places my company pays for.
Though the building may be old, the rooms are anything but. The feel of the hotel is very upscale, without the snootieness you get from certain other higher class chain hotels. The staff is very friendly and helpful, from the valet to the housekeeping personnel who always took the time to say hello and ask me how my stay was going. They were very modest when I asked about their workout facility, saying that it was “okay.” However, when I investigated for myself it was more than adequate, with cardio equipment and free weights. The only thing that it lacked in my opinion was a pull-up bar of some sort. Despite having their own facilities, they also have an agreement with the local, and convenient, YMCA. It is a short 4 blocks away, but they will take you there and pick you up (in case you are just feeling to lazy to walk to your workout). They also have a free shuttle too and from the airport that is 24 hours and on demand (meaning it does not keep a set schedule).
Now the rooms. They are very upscale and modern as well as large and open, although I am told every room is different. Mine had a large comfortable chair for lounging and a smallish desk, however it served it's purpose. I also had a flat screen TV and a small refrigerator. Keeping with the modern theme the floors were hard wood, which was very nice as I could see that they were clean and I did not feel I had to walk around in my sandals. (Anyone who has stayed in a hotel with carpet will understand that the bottoms of your feet get very dirty on carpeted hotel floors when you don't wear shoes.) They also provide a couple pairs of bedroom shoes in the dresser for those late night trips to the ice machine. Very comfortable beds with firm but soft pillows, if that makes sense.
That brings me to the bathroom. Mine was a bit on the small side with a single vanity. Still very modern, however, with high end fixtures and cabinetry. On the toilet it was a little awkward to reach the tissue that was almost behind me, but that was easy enough to take off and put on the counter within easy reach. But the piece-de-resistance of the bathroom was definitely the shower. It made up for the very few short comings of the rest of the bathroom. It had 6 body jets, a hand shower, and an overhead shower that was plenty tall for my 6'4” frame to fit under (this is an issue at some hotels). Apparently they do have these in every room. I probably spent about 25 to 30 min in the shower just playing with all the different options.
I did not go to the hotel restaurant or bars, so I can't speak about them. However they did offer us a buy one get one free coupon at check in for one of the bars.
For a hotel that is convenient to downtown and the airport it does not seem that you can go wrong here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

As a native of Nebraska, I was delighted to discover this alternative to the Hilton. While the Hilton technically has more amenities (pool, restaurant, etc.), the Hotel Deco XV offers much more luxury. The rooms are larger and better appointed than at the Hilton (the bathrooms have the fanciest shower system ever designed) and the entire hotel is masterfully decorated. The bar area looks like it belongs in New York or LA. Even the airport pickup car is a Mercedes Benz. The staff is also highly attentive. One of my friends tried to tip the bellman and he refused saying "this is part of my job." Although the Hilton is closer to the convention center, it's much better to stay at the Hotel Deco XV and be closer to the restaurant and bars of the Old Market.

Room Tip: Pay the small amount of additional money for a suite, they're larger than most big city apartmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Deco XV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deco XV

Address: 1504 Harney Street, Omaha, NE 68102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 74 Hotels in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Deco XV 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Deco XV is Omaha’s only 4 Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel in the greater metropolitan area. Designed to serve the most discriminating guests, the Hotel Deco XV provides elegant and exquisite accommodations and exceptional, personalized service. The Hotel has been completely renovated and furnished in a sleek, neoclassical style reminiscent of its art deco design. Rooms feature extraordinary furnishings, surface flooring, and amenities to ensure the highest standard of guest comfort and satisfaction. G Complimentary indoor valet parking is just part of the “Extraordinary” service. The expert Concierge staff will assist with dining reservations, travel, and provide tips on Omaha arts and entertainment offerings. The Fitness Center is complete with sauna, whirlpool, and massage services. The Hotel’s Zin Room Restaurant is Omaha’s newest fine dining experience with an extensive wine list that offers many varieties and vintages by the glass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Deco XV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Deco XV, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.