We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Meal Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Firebirds Wood Fired Grill

Firebirds Wood Fired Grill
17415 Chicago St., Village Pointe, Omaha, NE
+1 402-359-1340
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 1,113 Restaurants in Omaha
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Firebirds is a collection of polished casual restaurants offering a refined atmosphere, top-notch service and upscale dining at a modest price. We are known for our authentic, wood-fired entrees infused with bold flavors, fresh herbs & spices. Our restaurants feature a selection of aged steaks hand-cut in the restaurant, fresh seafood, chicken & ribs seared over local hickory, oak or pecan wood.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Meal Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I ate here for our anniversary and didn't know what to expect. We have typically gone to more upscale steak houses, but wanted to give Firebirds a try. We had a reservation and were quickly seated despite an hour wait. The waitress was awesome and made the experience that much better. The steaks were the most tender and flavorful selections I have ever tasted. The dessert and sides were also great! I think everything is reasonably priced since the food will not disappoint! If you want a great steak come to Firebirds!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    32
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Top pic..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great atmosphere and have never had a bad meal, the only drawback is when taking kids. The menu for them isn't the best, good place to go on a date I guess!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“great Happy Hour - otherwise pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I eat here every time I'm in Omaha for business. The food is really good, but pricey. We always try to hit the Happy Hour in the Firebar. They have several good appetizers and great drink specials. We have always had pretty good service, but nothing that I would consider a Wow! Since we usually go early we haven't ever had to wait.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
“Is the fish the real thing?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Ordered salmon for my salad and I really suspect that it was not salmon at all or very low quality of fish. Did not stand up to competition.
The quality of this restaurant has gone down since we first started eating there.
Customer beware!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Little rough around the edges on New Year's Eve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Typically, Firebirds is one of our favorites for Happy Hour!! Very good drink and food specials. We have also eaten dinner and lunch a dozen or more times, and the food has always been excellent. We have had numerous items from salads and soups to prime rib and lobster. The food has never disappointed us!

The service has been hit and miss though. Most of the servers have been pleasant enough; however, there are a couple of managers and a bartender who have seemed as if they aren't always thrilled to be there. Hard to explain, but it is as if it is a chore to serve their customers, and sometimes lacking a smile that would go a long ways.

Last night we ate there with some friends for New Years Eve. We had reservations, and were eating VERY early to avoid the masses of people. My husband and I arrived early to pop in for a quick Happy Hour drink first. We found out they weren't having Happy Hour. BUMMER! And, we watched lots of people besides us inquire and were disappointed. Yes, it was New Year's Eve, but it seemed odd since they are incredibly busy on Friday nights, yet they manage just fine. We also figured if nothing else have one or two "feature" items, so people don't feel let down.

Anyway, we had our drink and went into the dining room for dinner. Our food again was excellent, but it took an incredibly long time to get out to us. We weren't in a big hurry, but if we had been, it would have been a different story. By the time we left, the restaurant was almost full, and hopefully, they were able to catch up.

Although last night was not a top ten for us, we will return. We love Firebirds food, and their Happy Hour. Maybe if everyone working there smiled and seemed to enjoy their job a bit more, I will give them five stars next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firebirds Wood Fired Grill also viewed

 

Been to Firebirds Wood Fired Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firebirds Wood Fired Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.