We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - very noisy though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Firebirds Wood Fired Grill

Firebirds Wood Fired Grill
17415 Chicago St., Village Pointe, Omaha, NE
+1 402-359-1340
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 1,115 Restaurants in Omaha
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Firebirds is a collection of polished casual restaurants offering a refined atmosphere, top-notch service and upscale dining at a modest price. We are known for our authentic, wood-fired entrees infused with bold flavors, fresh herbs & spices. Our restaurants feature a selection of aged steaks hand-cut in the restaurant, fresh seafood, chicken & ribs seared over local hickory, oak or pecan wood.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
475 helpful votes 475 helpful votes
“Good food - very noisy though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We visited here on a Friday evening and although it was very busy we had no wait for a table and our service was prompt.

We opted for Sesame encrusted Salmon and meatloaf as our entrees (no appetizers). Both were flavorful and the parmesan mashed potatoes were excellent. The portions were of a good size and we enjoyed a house Merlot each rather than a dessert.

The only downside was that the restaurant was incredibly noisy so conversation was limited.

maybe it would be less loud at lunch? I would certainly try it out again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    32
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great birthday dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

6 of us went there for a birthday celebration with reservation at 6 PM. It was a Monday evening with lots of guests but not crowded. The service was excellent and the food was great. The grill is open and the fragrance is awesome. The blue cheese filet with mushrooms was done to order and covered with melted blue cheese. Not much to look at but awesome flavor. I will have this again. Two ordered kabobs and said they were wonderful. One ordered coconut shrimp with spicey green beans and mashed potatoes. It came on a large platter, enough for 2 meals. We started with lobster spinach queso with chips and chicken quesadilla. Both had a lot of flavor. The queso was so good one person said she could drink it, and they were scraping the bowl to the last drop. We were so full we shared key lime pie and cheesecake which came out with a candle in each. Awesome, friendly service. Didn't notice a noise level other reviews mentioned, but we were having a party (without alcohol). Ran into other friends here. My second time to eat here and will go again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

A nice place to have a glass of wine and an appetizer. The main entrees are delicious too and especially the house salad. Nice atmosphere and close to many attractions.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My fiance and I were given a gift card for them so thought we'd try it out. We had sodas and he had a Steak sandwich, wich is literally a steak on a bun. Very good flavor and you can switch out the fries for any of their sides. I had the Cilantro grilled chicken breast and it was amazing. It's on top of some kind of sauce that looks heavy but was very light and flavorful. Mine came with parmesean mashed potatoes that were amazing and we ordered a side salad to split, wich was huge! We also ordered their 7 layer chocolate cake. It was great but would've been better if it was not so cold. Once I got the leftover home it was much softer and richer. We ended up with 6.50 left on a $50 card. So 43.50 for two entrees, 2 drinks, a side salad (extra cost) and dessert. Not bad considering it's in Village Pointe. Kinda spendy area. I will definently go back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood Los Angeles County, California
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Food was quite good, service was very prompt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We would have to agree with some of the previous comments....perhaps Firebird's is not the quietest place for a meal, but the food was good (well prepared, quite tasteful, actually, and better than expected) and the service was very prompt and pleasant. This location is in a shopping center, next to Mimi's and the cinemas. It is worth noting that we actually wanted to eat at the Kona Grill (same shopping center, close to Bed Bath and Beyond and Best Buy) but after waiting around for ten minutes to be seated (and being ignored by dozens of staff members scurrying around), we gave up and tried Johnny's Italian Steakhouse, where no one seemed to be interested in our business either (a lot fewer customers than at the Kona Grill), so we got back in our car and drove to the other end of Village Pointe, where Firebird's was quite happy to seat us. Firebird's is not very visible from the main entrance to the shopping center, you have to work to find it as the location is quite hidden and it is possible to visit the center and never even see Firebird's (or Mimi's, which is behind Firebird's). The shopping center adjoins I-80 on the south side and there is a major interchange, making access easy if you are passing through Omaha or coming from some other part of the market. This is the far western part of Omaha, not at all close to the downtown area or the entertainment venues. The shopping center has a nice collection of mostly "lifestyle" oriented retailers.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firebirds Wood Fired Grill also viewed

 

Been to Firebirds Wood Fired Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firebirds Wood Fired Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.