We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Million Dollar Quartet was Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omaha Performing Arts

Omaha Performing Arts
1200 Douglas Street, Omaha, NE 68102
402-345-0606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 53 Attractions in Omaha
Type: Concerts, Operas, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Omaha Performing Arts is dedicated to enriching the lives of the citizens of Omaha and surrounding communities through the presentation of the finest local, national and international artistic performances. We are committed to: the stewardship and management of the Orpheum Theater and the Holland Performing Arts Center; the presentation of a variety of the finest performing arts events; and education and community involvement programs to support, enhance and expand appreciation for the arts.
Indianola, Iowa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Million Dollar Quartet was Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had great seats, right in the center, 3 rows back in the orchestra section. Wasn't expecting a story, but the songs were skillfully woven into the narrative. Grade A performance by the cast, especially Jerry Lee Lewis and Carl Perkins.
Orpheum Theater is a great venue, with spectacular décor, and very attentive and friendly customer service.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    10
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Theater!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Saw the musical production of "Buddy the Elf". Wonderful show, never a dull moment. The Orpheum is a beautiful place to just simply visit. I am sure there is much history to be learned there! I wonder how many famous names have played the Omaha Orpheum??

The only complaint I would have is the seating. I am quite sure there is not a bad seat in the house for viewing the stage. But.......the seats, which must be the original, are very, very small, very close together, with no leg room in front of you. I am not a large person and I was cramped from sitting in an awkward way. If you don't know the person sitting either side of you before the program, you certainly will by the final curtain!

That being said, we would go back again. This place is a gem. Be sure to look up in the center of ceiling at the chandelier!! We have been to the Fox Theater in St. Louis and the Orpheum is every bit as sharp in elegance!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Contest Scam”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Not happy with Omaha Performing Arts. They recently held a 'Buddy Elf' Ugly Christmas sweater contest. 2 Entrees clobbered everyone but neither won because they had 'irregular' vote totals. So they decided to give the free tickets to the 3 place finish. No explanation, no interviews, very unprofessional. What a scam!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Holland Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Beautiful venue small enough for a somewhat intimate experience, but large enough to draw major artists. Love Zinc downstairs, but ushers were everywhere. Their constant presence was a little overwhelming and distracting. Overall, you should experience the center- acoustics are amazing and the simplicity of design does not distract from the performance.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plattte
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Opheum theater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The theater is magnificent!! You are even allowed to take pictures when you get in the lobby. Cold drinks are for sale there and the Celtic Women Concert we saw was so awesome!!! We stayed at the Magnolia Hotel which was within walking distance of the theater.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omaha Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to Omaha Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omaha Performing Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.