We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a sweet tribute to a remarkable people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mormon Pioneer Cemetery

Mormon Pioneer Cemetery
3215 State St, Omaha, NE 68112
402 453 9372
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 53 Attractions in Omaha
Type: Cemeteries, Historic Sites, Monuments/ Statues, Cultural
Attraction details
Aiea, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“What a sweet tribute to a remarkable people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This cemetery is a humbling reminder of a people who were driven to search for a place to live in religious freedom. The LDS temple and visitor center that surround this site are very well taken care of and enjoyable to walk around and visit. Such a nice little refuge in a not so nice part of town.

The plaques and statues are a heartbreaking reminder of the struggles of these people. Men, women and children were all buried here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, KY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spiritual Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Visiting this cemetery and the visitors center, across the street, was a wonderful addition to our summer adventure. This was one of 2 historic Latter-day Saint sights we visited this summer and it was both educational and spiritual. To sit and ponder what these pioneers endured, is humbling.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very Unique Cemetery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

A unique look at history with a sobering view of what life and death must have been like back then...But a very nice memorial to those who suffered during that time period. Very peaceful area with unique headstones and statues.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutledge, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Interesting - but non-Mormons beware...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The museum across from the cemetery is fascinating. Filled with interesting exhibits, maps, dioramas, memorabilia and even a hand-cart, it helped me fill in some of the gaps of my own Mormon roots.

However, if you are not of the LDS faith, or are not interested in becoming Mormon, be aware that this museum is run primarily as a missionary and faith-sharing vehicle. The tour begins with a very highly-produced and aimed-at-your-heartstrings short film.

Tour guides are Mormon missionaries, and make no mistake - their goal is for you to agree to learn more about the LDS church. You WILL become one of their highly-scrutinized statistics.
When we visited our guide was a "sister" missionary (young women, if they are unmarried by the time they turn 21, are allowed, although not encouraged, to go on an 18-month mission). Each guide repeatedly shares her "testimony" of their beliefs. In my opinion this often gets in the way to actually seeing all of the exhibits - we were not allowed to just wander through the museum.

I'm not saying that the museum is not a worthwhile stop - it has something of interest for all ages - but the proselytizing is pretty heavy handed. Do not sign your name and address anywhere unless you want future missionaries following up and knocking on your door. But after all, it is their museum - just understand what you're getting into!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We didn't come to town for this but we got directions from the desk at our hotel (Holiday Inn Express, Cherry Hills). It is a nice place to visit and learn about some history.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mormon Pioneer Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mormon Pioneer Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.